Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The starting point for the audiovisual installations and performances of Lawrence Abu Hamdan is the investigation of auditory consciousness and memory, focused primarily on highly political contexts. In addition to his artistic work, Abu Hamdan often collaborates as a sound expert with Forensic Architecture, a Goldsmiths College, University of London-based independent research agency that uncovers human rights abuses using creative scientific and technical methods and which was nominated for the Turner Prize this year. In his own artistic work, which also incorporates aspects of his Forensic Architecture research, Abu Hamdan presents abstract scenarios that analyze the acoustic properties—the reverberations of state, structural, or industrial violence—of surveillance mechanisms or propaganda. Various media and methods are employed, including performative lectures, sound and video installations, video essays, sculptures, or the visualization of scientific data in the form of drawings or graphs.

Walls and partitions increasingly determine the complex reality of our lives in an era of transparent society and simultaneous isolation and the demarcation of borders. Abu Hamdan deals with these themes from an acoustic perspective in the new video essay Walled Unwalled (2018), which was shot inside the former sound-recording studios of the GDR broadcasting network at Funkhaus Berlin in Nalepastr. The moveable walls and various material surfaces of the historical sound-effects studio form the ideal setting for Abu Hamdan’s essayistic analysis of sound absorption and reflection and the ability of walls and partitions to transmit sounds using various political case studies: referenced is the case of Danny Lee Kyllo vs. the United States, the murder trial of Oscar Pistorius in South Africa, and Abu Hamdan’s investigation into the Syrian Prison Saydnaya, as well as the role of the American broadcaster Radio Free Europe, which was directed at listeners on the other side of Iron Curtain from Munich during the Cold War.

Walled Unwalled primarily features the artist himself, standing behind a microphone inside the sound studio and reading a text in the manner of a performative lecture. His lecture is filmed from the outside, through the large windows of the three, formerly ultramodern sound-effects studios, interconnected by movable walls and doors, in which “any kind of acoustic space could be produced” (Abu Hamdan). In the background, the sound-absorbing wall elements of the studios are moved around, doors are opened, and rooms are walked through. The film and sound samples played during the lecture are projected onto the windows of the studio. This demonstrating and testing of the acoustic properties of the walls, their insulating and reflective function, and the layering of the images on the windows are taken up again in the presentation of the video at the daadgalerie. Here, the video image is projected from inside the gallery’s storage space as a rear projection onto a glass pane installed in the wall that connects the exhibition and storage spaces like a window. As a projection surface, the glass is translucent so that the video image, visible parts of the storage space, and the light of the projector and the reflection of the street façade are superimposed on it.

The simple intervention in the exhibition space—a reference to the institution-critical art of the 1970s and 1990s—demonstrates how Abu Hamdan’s approach combines politics, research, and activism with a strong sense of form in an intriguing way.



One of Abu Hamdan’s best-known works, created in collaboration with Forensic Architecture, was the investigation of the circumstances surrounding the 2014 shooting of two youths by Israeli soldiers in the West Bank. Using a detailed analysis of the recordings of the shots fired, the official Israeli version of the crime was refuted. In his exhibition Earshot (2016, Portikus, Frankfurt), Abu Hamdan again dealt with the incident in the form of a video and a photo installation, using methods of visualizing sound.

In 2016, Amnesty International commissioned Forensic Architecture, working in collaboration with Abu Hamdan, to reconstruct and analyze operations inside a Syrian prison for political prisoners of the Assad regime. According to Amnesty, more than 13,000 people have been murdered at the Saydnaya military prison north of Damascus since protests began in Syria in 2011. These processes came to light only as a result of Amnesty International’s involvement. Forensic Architecture and Abu Hamdan interviewed former prisoners and utilized techniques from architecture including 3D modeling or echo profiling. The results of the investigation were submitted to the German Public Prosecutor’s Office in 2017.

With the sound installation Saydnaya (the missing 19db) (2017), Abu Hamdan presented in a darkened room at the 13th Sharjah Biennial in 2017 the findings acquired from the acoustic analysis of the prison, based on the auditory memories of witnesses who ultimately provided evidence that mass-scale executions had taken place in Saydnaya. Individual observations of the artist, excerpts from witness testimonies, and sound samples from various contexts are combined to form an impressive audio piece, which, beyond the forensic evidence, works to create awareness of the auditory perception of the world. The honing of auditory senses and their often neglected potential is just as important a theme as the fallibility of and the leeway for interpreting auditory perceptions. Abu Hamdan’s work on the Saydnaya project is currently being presented at the Chisenhale Gallery in London.

Lawrence Abu Hamdan (*1985 in Amman, Jordan) lives and works in Beirut, Lebanon. In 2017 he was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program. Recent solo-shows include: „Lawrence Abu Hamdan: Hammer Projects“, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, „Earwitness Theatre“, Chisenhale Gallery, London, „Walled Unwalled“, Tate Tanks, Tate Modern (in October) (2018). Recent Awards: Abraaj Group Art Prize, Baloise Art Prize (2018).

Fotos: Jens Ziehe

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Ausgangspunkt der audiovisuellen Installationen und Performances von Lawrence Abu Hamdan ist die Erforschung des auditiven Bewusstseins und Gedächtnisses, meist am Beispiel von hochpolitischen Zusammenhängen. Parallel zu seiner künstlerischen Arbeit arbeitet Abu Hamdan häufig als Klangexperte mit dem am Goldsmiths College, University of London, angesiedelten unabhängigen Institut Forensic Architecture zusammen, das Menschenrechtsverletzungen mit kreativen wissenschaftlichen und technischen Methoden aufdeckt und in diesem Jahr für den Turner Preis nominiert wurde. In seinem eigenen künstlerischen Werk, in das auch Aspekte seiner Forschung für Forensic Architecture Eingang finden, präsentiert Abu Hamdan abstrakte Szenarien, welche die akustischen Eigenschaften, den Widerhall staatlicher, struktureller oder industrieller Gewalt, von Überwachungsmechanismen oder Propaganda analysieren. Dabei kommen verschiedene Medien und Verfahren zum Einsatz, wie Lecture-Performances, Klang- und Videoinstallationen, Skulpturen oder die Visualisierung wissenschaftlicher Daten in Form von Zeichnungen oder Graphen.

Mauern und Wände bestimmen in Zeiten von Transparenzgesellschaft und gleichzeitiger Vereinzelung und Grenzziehung zunehmend unsere komplexe Lebensrealität. Mit diesen Themen beschäftigt sich Abu Hamdan aus akustischer Perspektive in dem neuen, in Berlin entstandenen Video-Essay „Walled Unwalled“ (2018), das in ehemaligen Tonstudios des Rundfunks der DDR im Funkhaus Berlin in der Nalepastraße gedreht wurde. Die beweglichen Wände und unterschiedlichen Oberflächenmaterialien der historischen Klangeffektstudios bilden das perfekte Setting für Abu Hamdans essayistische Analyse der Schallabsorption und -reflexion und der (Schall-) Durchlässigkeit von Wänden und Mauern anhand verschiedener politischer Fallbeispiele: Der Fall Danny Lee Kyllo gegen die Vereinigten Staaten, der Mordprozess gegen Oscar Pistorius in Südafrika und Abu Hamdans Recherche-Ergebnisse zum Fall des syrischen Gefängnisses Saydnaya werden erwähnt, ebenso wie die Rolle des amerikanische Senders Radio Free Europe, der sich im Kalten Krieg von München aus an die Hörer jenseits des Eisernen Vorhangs richtete.

„Walled Unwalled“ zeigt überwiegend den Künstler selbst, der hinter einem Mikrophon des Klangstudios steht und in der Art einer Lecture-Performance einen Text vorträgt. Gefilmt wird sein Vortrag von außen, durch die großen Fensterscheiben der drei durch bewegliche Wände und Türen miteinander verbundenen, einst hochmodernen Klangeffektstudios, in denen sich „jegliche Art von akustischem Raum herstellen ließ“ (Abu Hamdan). Im Hintergrund werden die klangabsorbierenden Wandelemente der Studios bewegt, Türen geöffnet und Räume durchschritten. Die im Vortrag eingespielten Film- und Tonbeispiele werden auf die Fensterscheiben der Studios projiziert. Dieses Aufzeigen und Austesten der akustischen Eigenschaften von Wänden, ihrer isolierenden und reflektierenden Funktion und die Schichtung der Bildebenen auf den Fensterscheiben wird in der Präsentationsweise des Videos in der daadgalerie nochmals aufgegriffen. Hier wird das Videobild aus dem Lager der Galerie per Rückprojektion auf eine in die Wand eingebaute Glasscheibe projiziert, die wie ein Fenster Ausstellungsraum und Lager verbindet. Als Projektionsfläche ist die Glasscheibe transluzid, so dass sich auf ihr das Videobild, sichtbare Teile des Lagers und das Licht des Projektors sowie die Reflektion der Straßenfassade überlagern.

Die simple Intervention in den Ausstellungsraum - eine Referenz an die institutionskritische Kunst der 1970er bzw. 1990er Jahren – zeigt, wie sich in Abu Hamdans essayistischem Ansatz auf spannende Weise Politik, Forschung und Aktivismus mit einem starken Formbewusstsein verbinden.

Eine der bekanntesten Arbeiten Abu Hamdans in Zusammenarbeit mit Forsensic Architecture war die Untersuchung der Umstände einer Erschießung zweier Jugendlicher in der Westbank durch israelische Soldaten 2014. Mithilfe einer detaillierten Analyse von Aufnahmen der Schussgeräusche konnte die offizielle israelische Version des Verbrechens widerlegt werden. In seiner Ausstellung „Earshot“ (2016, Portikus, Frankfurt) beschäftigte sich Abu Hamdan erneut mit dem Vorfall in Form eines Videos und einer Foto-Installation, für die er Methoden der Visualisierung von Klang verwendete.

Im Auftrag von Amnesty International hat Forensic Architecture 2016 in Zusammenarbeit mit Abu Hamdan eine Rekonstruktion und Analyse der Abläufe in einem syrischen Gefängnis für politische Gefangene des Assad Regimes angefertigt. In dem Militärgefängnis Saidnaya nördlich von Damaskus wurden laut Amnesty seit Beginn der Proteste in Syrien 2011 über 13.000 Menschen ermordet. Bekannt wurden diese Vorgänge erst durch das Engagement von Amnesty International. Forensic Architecture und Abu Hamdan befragten ehemalige Gefangene und verwendeten aus der Architektur stammende technische Verfahren wie 3D-Modeling oder Echo Profiling. Die Ergebnisse der Untersuchung wurden 2017 an die deutsche Staatsanwaltschaft übergeben.

Mit der Sound-Installation „Saydnaya (the missing 19db)“ (2017) präsentierte Abu Hamdan im Rahmen der 13. Sharjah Biennale 2017 in einem abgedunkelten Raum die aus der akustischen Analyse des Gefängnisses gewonnenen Erkenntnisse, basierend auf der auditiven Erinnerung der Zeugen, die letztlich die Beweise dafür liefern, dass in Saidnaya massenhaft Exekutionen stattgefunden haben. Eigene Ausführungen des Künstlers, Ausschnitte aus Zeugenaussagen und Tonbeispiele aus verschiedenen Kontexten verbinden sich zu einem eindrücklichen Hörstück, das jenseits der forensischen Beweisführung an einer Bewusstseinsschaffung für die auditive Wahrnehmung der Welt arbeitet. Die Schärfung der auditiven Sinne und ihr oft vernachlässigtes Potential ist ebenso Thema wie die Fehlbarkeit und der Interpretationsspielraum der auditiven Wahrnehmung. Abu Hamdans Arbeiten zum Saidnaya Projekt werden zurzeit in der Chisenhale Gallery in London präsentiert.

Lawrence Abu Hamdan (geb. 1985 in Amman, Jordanien) lebt und arbeitet in Beirut, Libanon. 2017 war er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Jüngste Einzelausstellungen: „Lawrence Abu Hamdan: Hammer Projects“, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, „Earwitness Theatre“, Chisenhale Gallery, London, „Walled Unwalled“, Tate Tanks, Tate Modern (findet im Oktober statt) (2018). Jüngste Auszeichnungen: Abraaj Group Art Prize und Baloise Art Prize (2018).

Fotos: Jens Ziehe

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK