Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The daadgalerie presents two new projects by Mexican artist Teresa Margolles, created during her stay in Berlin. In her work, Margolles thematizes the organized drug war in her homeland and its associated violence and impacts on Mexican society. She works assiduously against the anonymization of death and the disappearing of bodies by ruthlessly confronting her audience with the traces of what people have left behind.

Produced is a minimalist intervention: a cloth used to wipe up the blood of an individual murdered on the street becomes a symbol for narratives laced with violence. Latin American migrants who Margolles met in Berlin have each embroidered a line in the cloth and then tell their own stories of migration. Ubiquitous in Latin American indigenous cultures, the tradition of embroidery serves here—formally reduced to an abstract line, but each with its own “handwriting”—as a preparatory, meditative process for ensuing narratives.

In addition to the installation of the fabric and the stories woven into it, the exhibition includes a wall installation of hand-made clay tiles, created with material extracted from the Rio Bravo and formed in the border town of Ciudad Juárez, both settings of traumatic experiences of escape.

The opening of the exhibition takes place as part of the Langen Nacht der Ideen 2018 organized by the Federal Foreign Office.

Free Admission.

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Die daadgalerie präsentiert zwei neue Projekte der mexikanischen Künstlerin Teresa Margolles, die während ihres Aufenthaltes in Berlin entstanden sind. In ihren Arbeiten thematisiert Margolles den organisierten Drogenkrieg in ihrer Heimat, sowie die damit verbundene Gewalt und deren Auswirkungen auf die mexikanische Gesellschaft. Beharrlich arbeitet sie gegen die Anonymisierung des Todes und das Verschwinden von Körpern an, indem sie ihr Publikum schonungslos mit dem konfrontiert, was von den Menschen übrigbleibt.

So entsteht eine minimalistische Intervention: ein Tuch, mit dem das Blut einer auf der Straße Ermordeten aufgewischt wurde, wird zum Symbol für von Gewalt geprägte Narrative. Lateinamerikanische Migranten, denen Margolles in Berlin begegnet ist, haben jeweils eine Linie in das Tuch gestickt und anschließend ihre eigene Migrationsgeschichte erzählt. Die in den indigenen Kulturen Lateinamerikas sehr präsente Tradition des Stickens wird hier – formal reduziert auf eine abstrakte Linie, doch mit jeweils eigener „Handschrift“ - zu einem vorbereitenden, meditativen Prozess für die darauffolgenden Erzählungen.
Neben der Installation des Stoffes und der in ihn verwebten Geschichten umfasst die Ausstellung eine Wandinstallation aus handgeformten Tonfliesen, deren Material im Rio Bravo gewonnen und in der Grenzstadt Ciudad Juárez, beides Schauplätze traumatischer Fluchterfahrungen, weiterverarbeitet wurde.

Die Ausstellungseröffnung ist Teil der Veranstaltung: "Lange Nacht der Ideen" die vom Auswärtigen Amt initiiert und organisiert ist.

Der Eintritt ist frei.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK