Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
With the exhibition at daadgalerie, his first presentation in Berlin, Ibrahim Mahama directs his attention to the material traces of history and confronts the ostensible linearity of historical narrative accounts with a complex ensemble of historical sources and geopolitical backgrounds.
Documents from parliamentary debates, photographs from the Ghanaian railway archive, school notebooks and public-school textbooks, and annual reports from the Bank of Ghana are temporarily presented in a subjectively compiled archive inside well-worn classroom cabinets. Still in use only recently, the cabinets were traded out by Mahama for newly constructed ones.
Exhibition visitors are allowed to freely access the archive material; provided lists assist in selecting and viewing documents.

The second and most extensive part of the exhibition is an installation uniting materials from varying backgrounds and geographical contexts- “the surviving witnesses of twentieth century failures.” Here, hospital stretchers found in a scrap metal yard in Athens used for transporting wounded soldiers during the Second World War, and which later served as movie props, are presented alongside counterparts of these stretchers made specifically for the exhibition. For these, wooden handles produced by a turnery in the Ore Mountains were patinated and stretched with old household textiles from fish smokehouses located along the west coast of Africa. Blackened by years of use, the material fabric is infused with an intense odor and extends the sensibility of the objects.

The trauma of the war experience inscribed in the material of the historical stretchers is also suggested by the dates integrated into the title: 1918-1945. As in previous works, Mahama expands the production dates of his work, here 2015-2018, into a larger temporal context, incorporating reference dates of relevant content and objects. The time before and after Ghana’s independence (1957), as well as its historical and present-day global networks, raw materials, trade routes, or the development of the railway network, are addressed in the exhibition. Remnants of German and British railway cars, for instance, used in both world wars to transport manganese for steel and weapons production, are also integrated in the installation.
Mahama is interested in objects and materials at the end of the use chain - the exhausted relics of once-functional objects that he transforms and transports into new contexts. This “cross-section of the carcass of history” unites a multitude of collective and individual experiences of diverse social groups.



Ibrahim Mahama (b. 1987 in Tamale, Ghana, lives and works in Tamale, Kumasi und Accra) is well-known to wider audiences through the work he presented at the 2015 Venice Biennale (the covering of a long outdoor corridor in the Arsenale complex), as well as his two contributions to documenta 14 - an enormous floor covering made of jute sacks in Syntagma square in Athens and the blanketing of the Torwache building in Kassel. He has been a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program since May 2017. In early 2018, he developed the work On Monumental Silences for Extra City in Antwerp. He is currently represented with a large-scale installation in the former Valletta (Malta) fish market as part of the Dal-Bahar Madwarna exhibition in conjunction with Valletta 2018, European Capital of Culture 2018. At the beginning of May his exhibition Coal Market opens at Schloß Strünkede in Herne.

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Mit der Ausstellung in der daadgalerie, seiner ersten Präsentation in Berlin, lenkt Ibrahim Mahama den Blick auf die materiellen Spuren der Geschichte, und konfrontiert die vermeintliche Linearität der Geschichtsschreibung mit einem komplexen Ensemble an historischen Quellen und geopolitischen Hintergründen.
Dokumente parlamentarischer Debatten, Fotografien aus dem Archiv der ghanaischen Eisenbahn, Schulhefte und Lehrbücher aus öffentlichen Schulen sowie Geschäftsberichte der Bank of Ghana werden temporär in einem subjektiv zusammengestellten Archiv in stark abgenutzten Schulschränken präsentiert, die noch vor kurzem in Gebrauch waren und von Mahama im Tausch gegen neu gebaute Schränke erworben wurden.
Den Ausstellungsbesuchern wird ein aktiver Zugang zum Archivmaterial ermöglicht; über ausliegende Listen können Dokumente ausgewählt und eingesehen werden.

Der zweite und umfangreichste Teil der Ausstellung ist eine Installation, die Materialien unterschiedlicher Herkunft und aus verschiedenen geographischen Kontexten – „die überlebenden Zeugen der Zusammenbrüche des 20. Jahrhunderts“–
zusammengebringt: auf einem Schrottplatz in Athen gefundene Krankenbahren, mit denen verwundete Soldaten im Zweiten Weltkrieg transportiert wurden und die später als Filmrequisiten dienten, treffen auf eigens für die Ausstellung hergestellte Pendants dieser Bahren. In einer Drechslerei im Erzgebirge produzierte Holzgriffe wurden hierfür patiniert und mit gebrauchten Heimtextilien bespannt, die an der afrikanischen Westküste in der Fischräucherei Verwendung fanden und die durch jahrelangen Gebrauch geschwärzt und von einem intensiven Geruch durchdrungen sind, der die Wahrnehmung der Objekte um das Olfaktorische erweitert.

Das im Material der historischen Bahren eingeschriebene Trauma der Kriegserfahrung wird auch durch die in den Titel integrierten Jahreszahlen, 1918-1945 angedeutet. Wie schon in früheren Arbeiten, erweitert Mahama die Produktionsdaten seiner Arbeit, hier 2015-2018, zu einem größeren zeitlichen Zusammenhang, in den Referenzdaten relevanter Inhalte und Objekte einfließen. Die Zeit vor und nach der Unabhängigkeit Ghanas (1957) sowie dessen historische und aktuelle globale Vernetzungen, über Rohstoffe, Handelswege oder den Ausbau des Eisenbahnnetzes, werden in der Ausstellung thematisiert. So sind beispielsweise auch Überreste deutscher und britischer Eisenbahnwaggons, die in beiden Weltkriegen für den Mangantransport zur Stahl- und Waffenproduktion eingesetzt wurden,
in der Installation verarbeitet.
Mahama interessieren Gegenstände und Materialien am Ende der Nutzungskette, die erschöpften Relikte ehemals funktionaler Objekte, die er transformiert und in neue Kontexte überführt. Dieser „Querschnitt durch das Gerippe der Geschichte“ vereint eine Vielzahl von kollektiven und individuellen Erfahrungen unterschiedlicher Gesellschaftsgruppen.



Ibrahim Mahama (*1987 in Tamale, Ghana, lebt und arbeitet in Tamale, Kumasi und Accra) ist einem breiteren Publikum vor allem durch seine Arbeit auf der Venedig-Biennale von 2015 (die Verhüllung eines langen Außenkorridors auf dem Arsenale-Gelände), als auch durch seine beiden Beiträge für die documenta 14 – ein riesiger Teppich aus Jutesäcken auf dem Syntagma-Platz in Athen und die Verhüllung der Torwachenhäuser in Kassel bekannt. Seit Mai 2017 ist er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Anfang 2018 entwickelte er die Arbeit On Monumental Silences für Extra City in Antwerpen. Derzeit ist er mit einer großen Installation im ehemaligen Fischmarkt von Valletta (Malta) im Rahmen der Ausstellung Dal-Bahar Madwarna anläßlich von Valletta 2018, Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2018 vertreten. Anfang Mai eröffnet seine Ausstellung Coal Market im Schloß Strünkede in Herne.

Fotos: Jens Ziehe, Ibrahim Mahama


Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK