Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Exhibition opening Aquaria

Jeffrey Yang: An Aquarium

Douglas Henderson: The Sea Is A Big Green Lens
7–10pm Exhibition opening
With works by Sam Auinger & Bruce Odland,
Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Peter Cusack,
Edith Dekyndt, Aurélien Froment,
Douglas Henderson, Liz Magor, Allan Sekula,
Shimabuku, and Jeffrey Yang

This group show at the daadgalerie includes works by Sam Auinger & Bruce Odland, Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Peter Cusack, Edith Dekyndt, Aurelien Froment, Douglas Henderson, Liz Magor, Allan Sekula, Shimabuku, and Jeffrey Yang. The focus here is on underwater life forms, ecosystem conditions, and the economic exploitation of the world’s oceans. Outstanding artificial habitats are accompanied by scientific observations and phenomenological contemplation.

8pm
Jeffrey Yang: “An Aquarium”
Reading in English and German
With Beatrice Faßbender and Ricardo Domeneck

Douglas Henderson: “The Sea Is A Big Green Lens”
8-channel electroacoustic composition
(2014, 20 min)

For the opening of “Aquaria,” Jeffrey Yang will read from his poetry collection “An Aquarium.” His underwater world is populated in the era of climate change with both natural and man-made species: from abalone fish to zooxanthellae algae, to Google (“a sea of consciousness”) and the US (“a small fish with a false head”). Jeffrey Yang has been a guest in Berlin since June 2017. Wang’s translator Beatrice Fassbender reads from her German translation. Literary scholar Ricardo Domeneck moderates.
Sound artist Douglas Henderson takes up the marine theme. What does the world sound like from the perspective of a message in a bottle? Paul Celan’s poem “White Noise” serves as a point of departure for Douglas Henderson’s electroacoustic composition “The Sea Is A Big Green Lens,” performed live during the opening.

Photo ©Aurelien Froment

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Ausstellungseröffnung Aquaria

Jeffrey Yang: An Aquarium

Douglas Henderson: The Sea Is A Big Green Lens
19–22h Ausstellungseröffnung
Mit Arbeiten von Sam Auinger & Bruce Odland,
Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Peter Cusack,
Edith Dekyndt, Aurélien Froment,
Douglas Henderson, Liz Magor, Allan Sekula,
Shimabuku und Jeffrey Yang

Die Gruppenschau in der daadgalerie umfasst Arbeiten von Sam Auinger & Bruce Odland, Agnieszka Brzeżańska, Peter Cusack, Edith Dekyndt, Aurélien Froment, Douglas Henderson, Liz Magor, Allan Sekula, Shimabuku und Jeffrey Yang. Ihr Augenmerk gilt den Lebewesen unter Wasser ebenso wie dem Zustand der Ökosysteme und der ökonomischen Ausbeutung der Weltmeere. Modellhafte Inszenierungen in artifiziellem Habitat gehen einher mit wissenschaftlichen Beobachtungen und phänomenologischer Kontemplation.


20h
Jeffrey Yang: „An Aquarium“
Lesung auf Englisch und Deutsch
mit Beatrice Faßbender und Ricardo Domeneck

Douglas Henderson: „The Sea Is A Big Green Lens“
8-kanalige elektroakustische Komposition
(2014, 20 min)

Zur Eröffnung von "Aquaria" liest Jeffrey Yangs Gedichtband „Ein Aquarium“. In Zeiten des Klimawandels ist seine Unterwasserwelt bevölkert mit natürlichen wie menschengemachten Spezies: vom Abalone-Fisch bis zur Zooxanthelle-Alge über Google ("ein Bewusstseinsmeer") und die USA ("ein kleiner Fisch mit falschem Kopf"). Jeffrey Yang ist seit Juni 2017 in Berlin zu Gast. Die deutschen Übertragungen liest Wangs Übersetzerin Beatrice Fassbender. Es moderiert der Literaturwissenschaftler Ricardo Domeneck.
Der Klangkünstler Douglas Henderson greift das marine Leitmotiv auf. Wie ist die Welt aus der Perspektive einer Flaschenpost zu hören? Ausgehend von Paul Celans Gedicht "Weißgeräusche" hat Douglas Henderson die elektroakustische Komposition "The Sea Is A Big Green Lens" entwickelt, die zur Eröffnung in einer Live-Aufführung zu erfahren ist.

Foto ©Aurelien Froment


Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK