Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Sung Hwan Kim’s video Love Before Bond, created together with musician David Michael DiGregorio aka dogr and presented in the central pavilion of the Giardini, can be described as one of the highlights of the recently concluded 57th Venice Biennale. In his first solo exhibition in Berlin, Kim will present this work along with other works as part of an extensive installation specially developed for the daadgalerie.
Anxieties and depression, the malaise and anger felt by today’s teenagers as well as racism, everyday forms of prejudice, lack of media representation and social inclusion, are the themes of Love Before Bond that resonate in scenic sequences featuring young protagonists.
The oppressive atmosphere of the various stage-like interiors is accompanied by a poetic narration that takes up passages from essays by African American writer and civil rights activist James Baldwin. Kim often chooses a literary work as a point of departure for developing a work that allows him to engage with a particular artistic language, with time periods, and socio-political issues. Kim’s own artistic approach is poetic, associative, and rhythmically musical, full of allusive gestures and recurring themes that only hint at varying modes of reading.
In Love Before Bond, quotes from Baldwin and other writers, such as William Shakespeare or Joseph Conrad, quoted by Baldwin in his novel Another Country (1962), as well as text passages spoken in Arabic, give linguistic form to the young protagonists’ teenage anxiety, and—against the backdrop of Baldwin’s descriptions of the emotional impacts of racism and the experience of living as a homosexual in American society of the 1950s and 60s—an historical horizon.
But the teen performers are also actual representatives of a younger generation (all were born in 2000) who worked on the scenes with the artist during a workshop. Among them was Samori Coates, the son of Ta-Nehisi Coates, author of Between the World and Me (2015), an analysis of racial conflict in America in the form of a letter from the author to his fifteen-year-old son. Another performer is the artist’s own niece. Her genuine frustration, when as a teenager maturing into a Korean American woman she struggled to develop a sense of identity within a history of marginalization, was an important inspiration for the film. In Love Before Bond, her character is related to themes from the history of suppression of the African-American community.
Love before Bond comes across like a science fiction-esque love story about people who have yet to meet. Again in reference to Baldwin, Kim works with the “potential of narratives to uncover or obscure the connections between the individual and the historical context.”
The short scenes of the film pick up on various themes present in Baldwin, which are still applicable to the daily experiences of African-American youth, such as, for example, the proverbial “deprived of shoe-laces and belt” in prison—which Baldwin described as one of the most demoralizing experiences of his life—or the caution and attitude that African-Americans should demonstrate when out in public in order not to run the risk of being arrested or potentially shot.
These themes are implicitly contrasted with the history and current situation of Korean immigrants in the US. In conversation, Kim goes from mentioning a series of initial immigration laws and bans that specifically target Asian immigrants, to the L.A. riots of 1992, to the current status of Asian population groups. The L.A. riots stemming from the Rodney King trial are seen here as a (negative) defining moment for African-American and Korean communities in the US, where the fate of both minorities symptomatically overlapped.
Beyond these connections, Love Before Bond operates in its own universe, created from gestures and a collage-like image design, a play with perspective, light, the layering of different materials and surfaces, movement and sound, which is continued beyond the projected image in the design of the exhibition space. Like an expanded space of the film, it reflects on the forms and gestures of Kim’s film and other works. A recurrent motif is a specific type of column from the Pleasure Pavilion (1962) located in the garden of Philip Johnson’s Glass House. Kim, who studied architecture, uses this form that appears in the context of Love Before Bond to in a way stage a formal encounter between Baldwin and Johnson, New York contemporaries who in his view represent artistic and political antipodes, which would never have actually taken place in reality.
The title of the exhibition, And who has not dreamed of violence, is a quote from James Baldwin’s 1961 essay “Alas, Poor Richard.” Part of the exhibition title is also the quote translated into Sudanese Arabic, a dialect of Arabic one of the teenagers speaks in Love Before Bond. His theater project 피나는 노력으로 한 (A Woman Whose Head Came Out Before Her Name), created in 2015 during his one-year stay in Berlin, attests to Sung Hwan Kim’s interest in translation processes and linguistic experimentation. Premiered the same year in Gwangju, South Korea, the theater piece—which combines performance, live music, lighting, and live video transmission set within a complex stage design featuring various architectural elements such as stairs or doors—is a thematic and conceptual precursor to Love Before Bond. Part of the exhibition at the daadgalerie is a sketchbook—presented on a reduced-sized version of an element from the stage design—that provides insight into the working process of the piece. The work takes as its point of departure the poetry collection Prosa del otoño en Gerona by Roberto Bolaño, but not Bolaño’s original poems in Spanish, rather Kim’s translations or condensing of the works into English. The process of working on the translations also spawned a series of drawings that were, in turn, converted into gestures and movements. A bird struck by lightning, one of themes that reappear in the exhibition in drawings and collages on paper and in a wall drawing, is loosely inspired by a Bolaño novella.
Arranged at different angles on the stage of 피나는 노력으로 한 (A Woman...) is a set of door frames, which multiple performers constantly passed through from different directions. This image is emblematic of Kim’s work, whose complex logic develops in a process-oriented fashion. Appropriately, the Korean title of the work referred to in English as “A Woman Whose Head Came Out Before Her Name” is translated as “trying until you bleed.”

Sung Hwan Kim (b. 1975 in Seoul) lives and works in New York. Recent Solo-Exhibitions include: CCA Gallery Kitakyushu, Japan, (2016); Life of Always a Mirror, Art Sonje Center, Seoul, Korea (2014); East Tank, The Tanks at Tate Modern, London (2012); Recent group shows and performances include: “Viva Arte Viva”, Central Pavilion, 57th Venice Biennale; Woman Whose Head Came Out Before Her Name, Asian Culture Center, Gwangju, South Korea (2015); Musée de la danse, in collaboration with Boriz Charmatz, Tate Modern, London (2015). Sung Hwan Kim was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2015.

Free entry

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Eröffnung: 26. Januar 2018, 19-21h
Das im zentralen Pavillon in den Giardini präsentierte Video »Love Before Bond« von Sung Hwan Kim (in Kooperation mit dem Musiker David Michael DiGregorio alias dogr) darf als eines der Highlights der just vergangenen 57. Kunstbiennale in Venedig bezeichnet werden.
In seiner ersten Einzelausstellung in Berlin zeigt Kim diese Arbeit neben weiteren Werken im Rahmen einer neuen, für die daadgalerie entwickelten, raumgreifenden Installation.

Ängste und Depression, das Unbehagen und die Wut heutiger Teenager sowie Rassismus, Vorurteile im Alltag, fehlende mediale Repräsentation und gesellschaftliche Teilhabe, sind Themen von „Love Before Bond“, die in szenischen Sequenzen mit jugendlichen Protagonisten anklingen.

Die beklemmende Atmosphäre der verschiedenen bühnenhaften Interieurs wird begleitet von einer poetischen Narration, die Passagen aus Essays des afroamerikanischen Schriftstellers und Bürgerrechtsaktivisten James Baldwin aufgreift.
Häufig wählt Kim ein literarisches Werk als Ausgangspunkt für die Entwicklung einer Arbeit, dass ihm die Auseinandersetzung mit einer bestimmten künstlerischen Sprache, mit Zeitperioden und gesellschaftspolitischen Fragen ermöglicht. Dabei ist Sungs eigene künstlerische Vorgehensweise poetisch, assoziativ und rhythmisch-musikalisch, voller anspielungsreicher Gesten und wiederkehrender Motive, die verschiedene Lesarten nur anklingen lassen.

In „Love Before Bond“ geben Zitate Baldwins und anderer Autoren, wie William Shakespeare oder Joseph Conrad, die Baldwin in seinem Roman „Another Country“ (1962) zitierte sowie teils auf Arabisch gesprochene Textpassagen, der Teenage-Angst der jugendlichen Protagonistinnen eine Sprache und - vor dem Hintergrund von Baldwins Beschreibungen der emotionalen Auswirkungen von Rassismus und gelebter Homosexualität in der amerikanischen Gesellschaft der 1950er und 60er Jahre - einen historischen Horizont.
Die Darsteller sind jedoch auch reale Vertreter einer jüngeren Generation (sie alle wurden im Jahr 2000 geboren), die im Rahmen eines Workshops die Szenen mit dem Künstler erarbeitet haben. Darunter auch Samori Coates, der Sohn des Schriftstellers Ta-Nehisi Coates, dessen vieldiskutiertes Buch „Between the World and Me“ (2015) eine Analyse des amerikanischen Rassenkonflikts in Form eines Briefs des Autors an seinen 15-jährigen Sohn liefert. Eine weitere Performerin ist die Nichte des Künstlers, die als Teenager und als heranwachsende amerikanisch-koreanische Frau ein Identifikationsmoment in einer Geschichte der Marginalisierung suchte. Ihre reale Frustration war eine wichtige Inspiration für den Film. In „Love Before Bond“ wird ihre Figur mit Motiven der Geschichte der Unterdrückung der afroamerikanischen Community in Zusammenhang gebracht.

So wirkt „Love Before Bond“ wie eine Science-Fiction-hafte Liebesgeschichte von Menschen, die sich noch nicht begegnet sind. Auch wieder in Anlehnung an Baldwin, arbeitet Kim mit dem „Potential von Erzählungen, die Verbindungen zwischen Individuum und historischem Kontext aufzudecken oder zu verdecken“.

Dabei greift der Film in den kurzen Szenen verschiedene Motive aus Baldwins Texten auf, die auch heute noch zur alltäglichen Erfahrung afroamerikanischer Jugendlicher gehören dürften, wie z.B. das sprichwörtliche „der Schnürsenkel und des Gürtels beraubt werden“ (deprived of shoe-laces and belt) im Gefängnis –Baldwin zufolge eine der demoralisierendsten Erfahrungen seines Lebens– oder die Vorsicht und Haltung, die ein Afroamerikaner in der Öffentlichkeit zur Schau stellen sollte, um nicht Gefahr zu laufen, verhaftet oder womöglich erschossen zu werden.

Diese Motive werden implizit der Geschichte und der heutigen Situation koreanischer Einwanderer in den USA gegenübergestellt. Im Gespräch spannt Kim einen Bogen von den ersten Einwanderungsgesetzen und Einwanderungsverboten speziell für asiatische Immigranten über die L.A. Riots von 1992 zum heutigen Status der asiatischen Bevölkerungsgruppen. Die L.A. Riots infolge des Rodney King Prozesses gelten hier als ein (negatives) Schlüsselerlebnis für die afroamerikanische wie auch für die koreanische Gemeinschaft in den USA, in dem sich die Schicksale beider Minderheiten symptomatisch überschnitten.

Jenseits dieser Zusammenhänge operiert „Love Before Bond“ in einem eigenen Universum, geschaffen aus Gesten und collagenhafter Bildgestaltung, einem Spiel mit Perspektive, Licht, Schichtung von verschiedenen Materialien und Oberflächen, Bewegung und Klang, dass sich jenseits des projizierten Bildes in der Gestaltung des Ausstellungsraums fortsetzt. Wie ein erweiterter Filmraum reflektiert dieser Formen und Gesten des Films und anderer Arbeiten von Kim. Ein wiederkehrendes Motiv ist eine spezifische Säulenform aus dem „Pleasure Pavillon“ (1962) im Garten von Philip Johnsons „Glass House“. Kim, der selbst Architektur studierte, inszeniert über diese im Kontext von „Love Before Bond“ auftauchende Säulenform quasi eine formale Begegnung der aus seiner Sicht künstlerisch und politisch antipodischen New Yorker Zeitgenossen Baldwin und Johnson, die in der Realität niemals stattgefunden hätte.

Das der Ausstellung ihren Titel gebende Zitat „And who has not dreamed of violence“ stammt aus James Baldwins Essay »Alas, Poor Richard« von 1961. Teil des Ausstellungstitels ist auch die Übersetzung des Zitats ins Sudan-Arabische, ein Dialekt des Arabischen, den einer der Jugendlichen in „Love Before Bond“ spricht. Von Sung Hwan Kims Interesse an Übersetzungsprozessen und am Sprachexperiment zeugt auch sein 2015 während seines einjährigen Berlin Aufenthalts entstandenes Theaterprojekt „피나는 노력으로 한 (A Woman Whose Head Came Out Before Her Name)“. Das im selben Jahr in Gwangju, Korea, erstmals aufgeführte Theaterstück, das Performance, Live-Musik, Licht und Live-Filmübertragung in ein vielschichtiges Bühnenbild mit verschiedenen Architekturelementen wie Treppen oder Türen einband, ist motivisch und konzeptuell ein Vorläufer von „Love Before Bond“. Teil der Ausstellung in der daadgalerie ist ein Skizzenbuch - präsentiert auf einer verkleinerten Variante eines Bühnenelements -, das Einblick in den Werkprozess des Stücks gibt, das u.a. die Gedichtsammlung „Prosa del otoño en Gerona“ von Roberto Bolaño zum Ausgangspunkt nimmt. Jedoch nicht die spanischen Originalgedichte von Bolaño sondern Kims Übersetzung bzw. Umdichtung ins Englische. Aus der Beschäftigung mit den Übersetzungen entstanden Zeichnungen, die wiederum in Gesten und Bewegungen umgesetzt wurden. Auch das Motiv eines vom Blitz getroffenen Vogels, das in Zeichnungen und Collagen und in einer Wandzeichnung in der Ausstellung auftaucht, bezieht sich entfernt auf eine Novelle Bolaños.

Auf der Bühne von “피나는 노력으로 한 (A Woman...)“ befand sich u.a. eine Ansammlung von Türrahmen, die perspektivisch unterschiedlich ausgerichtet waren und permanent von mehreren Performern aus verschiedenen Richtungen durchschritten wurden. Dieses Bild steht bezeichnend für Kims Arbeiten, deren vielschichtige Logik sich prozesshaft erschließt. Passenderweise lässt sich der koreanische Titel des im englischen „A Woman Whose Head Came Out Before Her Name“ genannten Stücks mit „Trying until you bleed“ übersetzen.

Sung Hwan Kim (*1975 in Seoul), lebt in New York. Jüngere Einzelausstellungen: CCA Gallery Kitakyushu, Japan, (2016); Life of Always a Mirror, Art Sonje Center, Seoul, Korea (2014); East Tank, The Tanks at Tate Modern, London (2012); Jüngere Gruppenausstellungen und Performances: “Viva Arte Viva”, Central Pavilion, 57th Venice Biennale; Woman Whose Head Came Out Before Her Name, Asian Culture Center, Gwangju, Südkorea (2015). 2015 war Sung Hwan Kim Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Eintritt frei

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK