Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Closing times due to public holidays: December 23rd to 26th and 31st 2017
Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa’s exhibition centers on a new series of sculptures. Created during his residency in Berlin in 2016-17, the series was first shown at the CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux and is now presented in the context of a site-specific installation titled The Green Ray, the artist’s first solo exhibition in Berlin.
Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa works primarily with the mediums of performance, sculpture, drawing and video. Incorporating a wide variety of themes such as architecture, folklore, or botany, he creates forms or images with his works that reference the colonial history of Latin America and its far-reaching consequences to the present day. For his renowned performance, A Brief History of Architecture in Guatemala, from 2010, (Breve Historia de la Arquitectura en Guatemala) the artist had performers in minimalist, cardboard model costumes representing three characteristic architectural styles—a Mayan temple, a colonial-era church, and the modernist Bank of Guatemala—come together to produce a destructive mess.
Ramírez-Figueroa’s sculptural work is created in parallel with and often intersects his performances. Working with color and lighting effects to stage his Styrofoam sculptures, he creates suggestive theatrical landscapes humorously reminiscent of a science-fiction or makeshift stage-design aesthetic. Evoked at the same time are themes such as expulsion, identity, or Guatemala’s colonial legacy.
In bringing together organic forms and figures in the exhibition, Ramírez-Figueroa draws a relationship between the ecological and social consequences of agricultural monopolies today and the botanical and zoological taxonomy of the Swedish natural scientist of the Enlightenment, Carl von Linné. Among other things, Linné scientifically and systematically classified the findings of several European botanical expeditions to colonial Latin America. He corresponded extensively, for example, with Spanish botanist José Mutis, who for years studied the flora and fauna of South America.
Accordingly, the sculptures in the exhibition suggest botanical references that can also be read politically—in terms of Central America’s colonial and economic history. Recognizable are the leaves of the vanilla orchid, cacao fruits and beans, banana trees, coconuts, and exotic indoor plants such as the Monstera deliciosa. Other floral forms are reminiscent of ancient plants chiseled in stone. The low durability value of the easy-to-cut polystyrene underscores the backdrop-like character of Ramírez-Figueroas’s sculptures. They are painted various shades of white with epoxy resin infused with pigments and fiberglass powder. A green grid extending across the entire floor of the exhibition space and a green and cold-white lighting set the stage for a closer examination of the individual sculptural elements, which seemingly defy classification and an obvious narrative.
Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (born 1978 in Guatemala City, raised in Vancouver, Canada, lives and works in Guatemala City and Berlin) participated in the main exhibition of the 57th Venice Biennale in 2017 with the installation The Third Lung (2017) and in 2016 with the work Heart of the Scarecrow in the 32nd Sao Paulo Biennial. The same work is currently being exhibited in the group show A Universal History of Infamy at LACMA in Los Angeles. In 2017, Ramírez-Figueroa presented performances at the Guggenheim Museum in New York as well as the Vienna Festival, and had solo exhibitions at the CAPC Bordeaux and Kunsthalle Lisbon. He also received the Mies van der Rohe fellowship from Kunstmuseen Krefeld.

In collaboration with CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux and supported by the Embassy of Canada, Berlin.

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Vom 23. bis 26.12.17 sowie am 31.12.17 ist die Galerie geschlossen
Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa arbeitet vorwiegend mit den Medien Performance, Skulptur, Zeichnung und Video. Mit seinen Werken schafft er Formen oder Bilder, welche die Kolonialgeschichte Lateinamerikas und ihre weitreichenden Folgen bis in die heutige Zeit anhand verschiedenster Themen wie Architektur, Folklore oder Botanik aufrufen. In seiner berühmten Performance „A Brief History of Architecture in Guatemala“, 2010 („Breve Historia de la Arquitectura en Guatemala“, 2010), lässt er drei charakteristische Architekturtypen – einen Stufentempel der Maya, eine Kirche aus der Kolonialzeit und den modernistischen Bau der Bank von Guatemala – von Performern in minimalistischen, Pappmodell-Kostümen darstellen und in ein zerstörerisches Durcheinander geraten.
Ramírez-Figueroas bildhauerisches Werk entsteht parallel zu und in häufiger Überschneidung mit seinen Performances. Unter Verwendung von Farb- und Lichteffekten inszeniert er mit seinen Skulpturen aus Styropor andeutungsweise theatrale Landschaften, die humorvoll an eine Science-Fiction- oder provisorische Bühnenbild-Ästhetik erinnern. Gleichzeitig klingen darin Themen wie Vertreibung, Identität oder das koloniale Erbe Guatemalas an.
Im Zentrum von Naufus Ramírez-Figueroas Ausstellung in der daadgalerie steht eine neue Skulpturenserie, die während seines Gastaufenthaltes in Berlin 2016/17 entstanden ist, zunächst im CAPC Musée d'Art Contemporain in Bordeaux ausgestellt wurde und nun, in seiner ersten Einzelausstellung in Berlin, im Rahmen einer ortsspezifischen Installation unter dem Titel „The Green Ray“ präsentiert wird.
Über die in der Ausstellung versammelten organischen Formen und Figuren bezieht Ramírez-Figueroa die heutigen ökologischen und sozialen Folgen landwirtschaftlicher Monopole auf die botanische und zoologische Taxonomie des schwedischen Naturwissenschaftlers der Aufklärung, Carl von Linné. Unter anderem verarbeitete Linné wissenschaftlich-systematisch die Erkenntnisse einiger europäischer botanischer Expeditionen ins koloniale Lateinamerika. Umfangreich korrespondierte er zum Beispiel mit dem spanischen Botaniker José Mutis, der über Jahre die Flora und Fauna Südamerikas erforschte.
So weisen die Skulpturen der Ausstellung botanische Referenzen auf, die auch politisch – im Sinne einer Kolonial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte Zentralamerikas - gelesen werden können. Zu erkennen sind Blätter der Vanille-Orchidee, Kakaofrüchte und -bohnen, Bananenstauden, Kokosnüsse und exotische Zimmerpflanzen wie die Monstera deliciosa. Andere florale Formen erinnern an in Stein gemeißelte Urzeitgewächse. Der leicht zu schneidende Kunststoff Styropor hat einen vergleichsweise geringen Haltbarkeitswert, was den kulissenhaften Charakter der Skulpturen Ramírez-Figueroas unterstreicht. Bemalt sind sie mit einem mit Pigmenten und Fiberglas-Pulver angereicherten Epoxidharz in Weißtönen. Ein grünes Raster, das sich über den gesamten Boden des Ausstellungsraums erstreckt, und eine grüne und kalt-weiße Beleuchtung bilden die Bühne für eine genauere Betrachtung der einzelnen skulpturalen Elemente, die sich einer Klassifizierung und einer eindeutigen Narration zu verweigern scheinen.


Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (geb. 1978 in Guatemala City, aufgewachsen in Vancouver, Kanada, lebt und arbeitet in Guatemala City und in Berlin) war 2016 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD. 2017 nahm mit der Installation „The Third Lung“ (2017) an der Hauptausstellung der 57. Venedig Biennale teil und 2016 mit der Arbeit „Heart of the Scarecrow“ an der 32. Sao Paulo Biennale. Dieselbe Arbeit wird zur ZPeit im Rahmen der Gruppenausstellung „A Universal History of Infamy“ im LACMA in Los Angeles ausgestellt. 2017 gab Ramírez-Figueroa Performances im Guggenheim Museum in New York und bei den Wiener Festwochen, hatte Einzelausstellungen im CAPC Bordeaux und in der Kunsthalle Lissabon. Außerdem erhielt er das Mies van der Rohe Stipendium der Kunstmuseen Krefeld.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux und mit Unterstützung der Botschaft von Kanada.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK