Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Opening, Friday February 3, 7 – 9 pm

Sunday February 5, 5 pm
Wendelien van Oldenborgh in conversation with Nataša Ilić and Charl Landvreugd,
daadgalerie studio (in English)
Wendelien van Oldenborgh’s extensively researched film projects take specific situations—historical or otherwise—as departure points in order to reveal social conditions through focusing on relations and gestures in the public sphere. The cinematic format is used as a methodology for production and as the basic language for various forms of presentation. An important stage in the work is the active and often public film shoot, in which participants co-create the script in an event of live performance and exchange.

With the exhibition .As for the Future. daadgalerie and Wendelien van Oldenborgh present two film projects based on encounters initiated by the artist between activists and public personalities from different generations and social backgrounds. The two-part film installation, Prologue: Squat/ Anti-Squat (2016), which will premiere at daadgalerie, is a filmic exploration of the Tripolis office complex in Amsterdam (1990-94), a late design by Dutch architect Aldo van Eyck, which is still largely vacant today. Van Oldenborgh invited protagonists from different activist groups to meet in this setting for an informal dialogue about housing concepts and social belonging, parts of which are presented in the film. Aside from architecture, the conversation focuses on living spaces and the history and current practice of squatting and some of its lesser-known aspects. Some of the subjects discussed include the actions of squatters of Dutch-Caribbean origin in the 1970s, as well as recent occupations by migrants with no official status.

Prologue: Squat / Anti-Squat (2016) is part of the project van Oldenborgh developed for the Dutch Pavilion at the Venice Biennial 2017. It was produced in cooperation with Al Ma’mal Foundation for Contemporary Art, Jerusalem Show VIII: Frontier Imaginaries, the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and the Mondriaan Fund.

For Bete & Deise (2012), the second film installation in the exhibition, van Oldenborgh initiated an encounter between two women in an unfinished building in Rio de Janeiro. The telenovela actress Bete Mendes and the Baile Funk singer Deise Tigrona are, in their own way and as part of their own generation, two prominent public voices in Brazil. They describe their lives and their public roles and, in the process, allow contradictions to come to the surface.

The exhibition’s title, .As for the future., comes from Brazilian writer Clarice Lispecto, an important reference for van Oldenborgh. It is one of many possible titles for her novel The Hour of the Star (1977), an experiment in writing that examines powerlessness from two perspectives: that of the narrator and of the novel’s main character he describes.

Print

Hours
Mo - So 12:00 - 19:00 Uhr
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Eröffnung, Freitag, 3.2., 19-21 h

Sonntag, 5. Februar, 17 h
Wendelien van Oldenborgh im Gespräch mit Nataša Ilić und Charl Landvreugd,
daadgalerie Studio (in englischer Sprache)
In ihren aufwendig recherchierten Filmprojekten nimmt Wendelien van Oldenborgh historische oder aktuelle gesellschaftliche Situationen als Ausgangspunkt für die Untersuchung von Beziehungen oder Gesten der öffentlichen Sphäre, um so ihre sozialen Bedingungen offenzulegen. Dabei dient das Filmformat als Produktionsmethode und Basissprache für unterschiedliche Präsentationsformen. Wesentlich für die Arbeit Wendelien van Oldenborghs ist der Filmdreh, bei dem die Teilnehmer dazu eingeladen sind, im Rahmen eines öffentlichen Events von Live-Performances und Diskussionen das Drehbuch aktiv zu beeinflussen und mitzugestalten.

Mit der Ausstellung ».As for the Future.« präsentieren die daadgalerie und Wendelien van Oldenborgh zwei Filmprojekte, für die die Künstlerin Begegnungen von Aktivisten und öffentlichen Personen unterschiedlicher Generationen und Sozialisationen initiierte.
Die zweiteilige Filminstallation »Prologue: Squat / Anti-Squat« (2016), die in der daadgalerie ihre Premiere feiert, ist eine filmische Auseinandersetzung mit dem überwiegend leerstehenden Tripolis-Bürokomplex in Amsterdam (1990-94), einem späten Entwurf des niederländischen Architekten Aldo van Eyck. An diesen Schauplatz lud Wendelien van Oldenborgh Protagonisten verschiedener Aktivistengruppen zum informellen Austausch über ihre Vorstellungen vom Wohnen und von gesellschaftlicher Zugehörigkeit ein, den der Film ausschnittweise wiedergibt. Neben der Architektur stehen das Thema Wohnraum und die soziale Praxis des Besetzens von Häusern im Zentrum. Zur Sprache kommen u.a. Aktionen von Hausbesetzern niederländisch-karibischer Herkunft in den 1970er Jahren sowie jüngste Hausbesetzungen durch Migranten ohne offiziellen Aufenthaltsstatus.
»Prologue: Squat / Anti-Squat« (2016) ist Teil des Projektes der Künstlerin für den niederländischen Pavillon der Biennale von Venedig 2017. In Zusammenarbeit mit Al Ma’mal Foundation for Contemporary Art, Jerusalem Show VIII Frontier Imaginaries, Mondriaan Fund und dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD.

In »Bete & Deise« (2012), dem zweiten Film der Ausstellung, inszeniert Wendelien van Oldenborgh die Begegnung zweier Frauen in einem Rohbau in Rio de Janeiro. Die Telenovela-Schauspielerin Bete Mendes und die Baile-Funk-Sängerin Deise Tigrona sind, jede auf ihre Art und in ihrer Generation, zwei prominente Schlüsselfiguren Brasiliens. Sie beschreiben ihre Rollen in der Öffentlichkeit und lassen dabei auch Widersprüche erkennen.
Der Titel der Ausstellung ».As for the future.«, stammt von der brasilianischen Schriftstellerin Clarice Lispector, einer wichtigen Referenz für Wendelien van Oldenborgh. Es ist einer von vielen möglichen Titeln ihres Romans »The Hour of the Star« (1977), einem Schreibexperiment, das eine Betrachtung von zwei Arten der Machtlosigkeit vornimmt, der des Erzählers und der der von ihm beschriebenen Hauptfigur des Romans.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK