Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Festival of experimental music und sound art
For the third time since 2014, the mikromusik festival of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program is taking place from September 1–4, 2016, with concerts and installations in St. Elisabeth Church and Villa Elisabeth. The central focus is on outstanding and new works by current and former guests of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

Contours and borders dissolve in microrealms and new levels of sound become audible. The festival mikromusik shows musical practices in the micro area and plays with the ambiguity of the term ‘micro’. Compositional explorations of microspaces, microresonance and microtonality generate richly nuanced sound whose central theme is the in-between. Complexity seems simple and simplicity complex. The microphone as a central instrument in electronics and sound art, moreover, reflects (sonic) reality and spatiality and serves as a starting point for transformation and transcription. On the four days of the festival, various compositional modes will be presented, oscillating between microtonal and microphoned works, harmonies and resonances, phonemes and articulations, mirrorings and reflections.

This year’s musical program focuses on experimental treatment of the voice. On the last day of the festival, the Realtime Voices project of the Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart explores the versatility of the voice through electronic means in seven compositions, and on Friday we celebrate his 25 years in Berlin with vocal performance pioneer David Moss. In a portrait concert with Yan Jun on Saturday, the space of the St. Elisabeth Church will be measured by minimal movements and sounds. The festival opens on Thursday with a camera obscura installation that stands the world on its head, a mobile installation for four Sonic Bikes that transform urban space into a composition, as well as five challenging and dynamically fluctuating microtonal string quartets played by the Arditti Quartet.


With:
1.-4.9.
Joanna Bailie
Kaffe Matthews & Sukandar Kartadinata
1.9.
Arditti Quartett
Joanna Bailie
Oscar Bianchi
Turgut Erçetin
James Tenney
Iannis Xenakis
2.9.
Sam Auinger
Denseland (Hanno Leichtmann, David Moss, Hannes Strobl)
Lillevan
David Moss
3.9.
Axel Dörner
Yan Jun
Aki Onda
Akio Suzuki
Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart
Alessandro Bosetti
4.9.
Tomomi Adachi
Serge Baghdassarians & Boris Baltschun
Joanna Bailie
Turgut Erçetin
Hanna Hartmann
Maximilian Marcoll
Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart
Mario Verandi



Changes in program possible

Festival of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin program
Funded by the Auswärtigen Amt and Land Berlin.
In cooperation with Musik der Jahrhunderte Stuttgart, Deutschlandradio Kultur – Sound Art Department, Electronic Music Studio TU Berlin, Audio Communication Group and Kulturbüro Elisabeth.
With project funding from the Hauptstadtkulturfonds, inm Berlin, Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council and the Embassy of the USA.

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Festival experimenteller Musik und Sound Art
Nach 2014 findet vom 1. bis 4.9.2016 zum dritten Mal das Festival mikromusik des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD mit Konzerten und Installationen in der St. Elisabeth-Kirche und der Villa Elisabeth statt. Im Zentrum stehen herausragende und neue Werke aktueller und ehemaliger Gäste des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Konturen und Grenzen lösen sich im Mikrobereich auf und neue Klangebenen werden hörbar. Das Festival mikromusik zeigt musikalische Praktiken im Mikrobereich und spielt mit der Mehrdeutigkeit des Begriffs 'mikro'. Kompositorische Erkundungen von Mikroräumen, Mikroresonanzen und Mikrotonalität erzeugen ein nuancenreiches Klangbild und thematisieren das Dazwischen. Komplexität erscheint einfach und Einfaches komplex. Das Mikrophon als zentrales Instrument in Elektronik und Sound Art wiederum bildet (Klang)realität und Räumlichkeit ab und wirkt als Ausgangspunkt für Transformation und Transkription. An den vier Festivaltagen werden unterschiedliche Spielarten präsentiert, die zwischen Mikrotonalem und Mikrofoniertem, Harmonien und Resonanzen, Phonemen und Artikulationen, Spiegelungen und Reflektionen oszillieren.

Das diesjährige Programm fokussiert auf experimentelle Stimmbehandlung: Das Projekt Realtime Voices der Neuen Vocalsolisten Stuttgart lotet am letzten Festivaltag in sieben Kompositionen die Vielseitigkeit der Stimme mit elektronischen Mitteln aus, und wir feiern am Freitag mit dem Vokalperformance-Pionier David Moss sein 25jähriges Berlin-Jubiläum. In einem Porträtkonzert mit Yan Jun am Sonnabend wird der Raum der Kirche Elisabeth durch minimale Bewegungen und Klänge vermessen. Eröffnet wird das Festival am Donnerstag mit einer Camera obscura Installation, die die Welt auf den Kopf stellt, einer mobilen Installation für vier Sonic Bikes, die den urbanen Raum in eine Komposition verwandelt, sowie fünf anspruchsvollen, dynamisch-schwebenden, mikrotonalen Streichquartetten, gespielt vom Arditti Quartett.



Mit:
1.-4.9.
Joanna Bailie
Kaffe Matthews & Sukandar Kartadinata
1.9.
Arditti Quartett
Joanna Bailie
Oscar Bianchi
Turgut Erçetin
James Tenney
Iannis Xenakis
2.9.
Sam Auinger
Denseland (Hanno Leichtmann, David Moss, Hannes Strobl)
Lillevan
David Moss
3.9.
Axel Dörner
Yan Jun
Aki Onda
Akio Suzuki
Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart
Alessandro Bosetti
4.9.
Tomomi Adachi
Serge Baghdassarians & Boris Baltschun
Joanna Bailie
Turgut Erçetin
Hanna Hartmann
Maximilian Marcoll
Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart
Mario Verandi
u.a.

Änderungen vorbehalten

Festival des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD
Gefördert aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amt und des Landes Berlin.
In Kooperation mit Musik der Jahrhunderte, Deutschlandradio Kultur – Redaktion Klangkunst, Elektronisches Studio der TU Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation und Kulturbüro Elisabeth.
Mit Projektförderungen durch Hauptstadtkulturfonds, inm Berlin, Pro Helvetia und der Botschaft der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika.

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK