Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Opening: Thursday, 12.5.2016, 7-9 pm
The daadgalerie presents in May / June the first institutional solo exhibition in Germany by Belgian artist Edith Dekyndt.

The materials, sensations, and natural phenomena listed in the title outline some of the reoccurring and relevant elements for Dekyndt’s work. She isolates organic and inorganic materials such as minerals, blood, and yeast, letting these react individually or with one another, thereby instigating processes that she then terminates at a specific point in time. Reminiscent of scientific experiments, these condensation-, fermentation-, fungal- and crystallization-based processes develop inside vitrines, on canvases, in Petri dishes, or on carpets. The strong material presence of her work is characterized by the sculptural and painterly qualities of transformation and decay and the unique dynamic nature of the respective materials and objects.
These transformative chemical and physical processes do not yield objective analyses. Rather, more critical is a highly subjective curiosity and the need to hone her own perceptions and those of the viewer vis-à-vis the objects and phenomena she has selected. Here the uncanny, what is proliferating and unstable provide a counterpoint to the strangely fragile beauty of her work.
A key work in this exhibition, Laboratory 01 (capillarity with coffee) (2015), was presented earlier this year in her solo exhibition at the Wiels Contemporary Art Centre in Brussels. Dekyndt soaked the bottom edge of a curtain with coffee, which after drying revealed a delicate trace of the capillary process as drawing on the light-hued fabric.

Edith Dekyndt (*1960 in Ypres, Belgium) was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2015.
She lives and works in Tournai and Berlin.


Credit: Sven Laurent

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Eröffnung: Donnerstag, 12.5.2016, 19-21h
Die daadgalerie präsentiert im Mai /Juni die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der belgischen Künstlerin Edith Dekyndt in Deutschland.

Die Aufzählung von Materialien, Empfindungen und Naturphänomenen im Titel umreißt einige der für Dekyndts Arbeit relevanten und wiederkehrenden Elemente. Sie isoliert organische und anorganische Materialien, wie Mineralien, Blut, Hefe und lässt diese einzeln oder miteinander reagieren und stößt so Prozesse an, die zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt dann wieder von ihr angehalten werden. Diese an wissenschaftliche Versuchsanordnungen erinnernden Kondensations-, Gärungs-, Schimmel- und Kristallisationsprozesse entwickeln sich in Vitrinen, auf Leinwänden, in Petrischalen oder auf Teppichen. Die starke materielle Präsenz ihrer Arbeiten ist geprägt durch die skulpturalen und malerischen Qualitäten von Transformation und Zerfall und die Eigendynamik der jeweiligen Materialien und Objekte.
Aus den chemischen und physikalischen Transformationsprozessen resultiert jedoch keine objektive Analyse, im Vordergrund steht vielmehr eine höchst subjektive Neugier und das Bedürfnis, die eigene Wahrnehmung und die des Betrachters anhand der von ihr ausgewählten Objekte und Phänomene zu schärfen. Das Unheimliche, Wuchernde und Instabile hält dabei die Balance mit der merkwürdig fragilen Schönheit ihrer Arbeiten.
Eine zentrale Arbeit der Ausstellung ist Laboratory 01(capillarity with coffee)(2015), die zu Beginn dieses Jahres in ihrer Einzelausstellung im Brüsseler Wiels Art Center gezeigt wurde: Die untere Kante eines Vorhangs wurde von Dekyndt mit Kaffee getränkt, nach dem Auftrocknen verbleibt eine feine Spur des kapillaren Prozesses als Zeichnung auf dem hellen Stoff.

Edith Dekyndt (*1960 in Ypern, Belgien) war 2015 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms.
Sie lebt und arbeitet in Tournai und Berlin.

Foto: Sven Laurent

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK