Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
After having participated in the exhibition Berlin-Tokio/Tokio-Berlin at the New National Gallery in Berlin, the internationally renown Japanese artist Shimabuku has also become well-known in Germany. He came to Berlin as a guest of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm, and because of a guest professorship at the Academy of Arts in Braunschweig he was able to extend his stay in Germany.

At the daadgalerie, Shimabuku will show a video with the title "Fish & Chips" in an unsual context. The video was first shown at the occasion of the Liverpool Biennial in 2006 with regard to a typically British restaurant tradition. The project for the daadgalerie, gives expression to the means of his artistic work in a particularly vivid manner: a one-week performance of communication with special guest Damián Ortega. Shimabuku has translated this linguistic idiom "Fish and Chips" into a humorous scenario. To present this scenario, he will turn the daadgalerie into a snack bar or rather a bar. A neon sign will direct the attention to this "Bar" where guests of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm will introduce themselves in the evening.

Shimabuku was invited to the Biennial of Sao Paulo in October 2006 where he got to know Damián Ortega better, a native Mexican, who is also a guest at the Berliner Künstlerprogramm in Berlin. Together they developed the idea to give expression to the hybridity of today’s artistic world as characterized by the Biennial events and the nomadic lives of international artists by a cocktail: Shimabuku and Ortega mixed a long drink with Japane sake and Latin American Caipirinha and named it "Sakepirinha", a drink that will be prepared and served by both artists during the evenings at daadgalerie.

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Nach seiner Teilnahme an der großen Ausstellung Berlin-Tokio/Tokio-Berlin in der Neuen Nationalgalerie ist der japanische Künstler Shimabuku erstmals in Deutschland einem größeren Publikum bekannt geworden. Er kam nach Berlin als Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms und konnte aufgrund einer Gastprofessur an der Akademie der Künste in Braunschweig seine Zeit in Deutschland verlängern. Die daadgalerie stellt jetzt ein neues Werk, das im September 2006 für die Biennale von Liverpool entstanden ist, in einem ungewöhnlichen Kontext aus, der so von Shimabuku bestimmt wurde und deshalb die Mittel seiner künstlerischen Arbeit besonders anschaulich zum Ausdruck bringt: eine einwöchige Performance der Kommunikation.

Es wird ein Video gezeigt, das den Titel "Fish & Chips" trägt, das für Liverpool entstanden ist und damit auf eine typische britische Restauranttradition aufmerksam macht. Shimabuku hat dieses sprachliche Idiom zu einem humorvollen Bild umgesetzt. Um dies zu zeigen, verwandelt er die daadgalerie für eine Woche in einen Imbiss, respektive in eine Bar. Ein Neonschild macht auf diese "Gast-Stätte" aufmerksam, wo sich am Abend Gäste des Berliner Künstlerprogramms vorstellen werden.

Shimabuku war im Oktober 2006 zur Biennale von Sao Paulo eingeladen, wo er den aus Mexiko stammenden Damián Ortega, der ebenfalls Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms in Berlin ist, erstmals intensiver kennenlernte. Gemeinsam wurde dort die Idee entwickelt, der Hybridität des heutigen Kulturbetriebs, wie er durch Biennalen und deren internationale Künstlernomaden geprägt ist, durch ein Mixgetränk Ausdruck zu verleihen: Shimabuku und Ortega mixten sich einen Longdrink mit japanischem Sake und lateinamerikanischer Caipirinha zu "Sakepirinha", ein Getränk, das nun von beiden Künstlern an den Abenden in der daadgalerie zubereitet und ausgeschenkt wird.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK