Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Blog Other Programs
Opening: March 11th 2015, 7 pm
Artist's talk: March 11th 2015, 6 pm
Jiří Kovanda, one of the internationally best known contemporary artists from the Czech Republic, is represented simultaneously in Berlin with two institutional solo exhibitions this Spring: The Czech Centre Berlin presents its exhibition Jiří Kovanda vs Rest of the World from March 11th while the daadgalerie will open the exhibition MOOM on April 17th presenting newly developed works by Kovanda.

Curated by Guillaume Désanges and François Piron, the exhibition Jiří Kovanda vs Rest of the World was first shown in September 2006 at the Parisian gallery gb agency. Following further venues such as the De Appel Arts Centre in Amsterdam, the Centre d’art Passerelle in Brest, the Valence School of Fine Arts, the Centre d’Art Santa Monica in Barcelona and the City Gallery Prague the exhibition is now presented in Berlin for the first time.
In addition to documentations of Kovanda’s earlier actions from the 1970s, new site-specific works as well as an extensive collection of rough reproductions taken from print media, advertising and art will be shown. Among these reference images, intuitively compiled by the curators, there are many works by former guests of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin-Program, such as Marina Abramović, Lawrence Weiner, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Milan Knížák, Dan Graham, Douglas Gordon, Ben Vautier, Dennis Oppenheim or Braco Dimitrijević.

Jiří Kovanda (born 1953 in Prague) became known internationally primarily for his early interventions in public space. These were equally discreet and poetic actions during which he stood, for example, with outstretched arms on Wenceslas Square or turned around on the escalator to fix his gaze upon the person behind him. In other works he arranged simple materials at selected locations in the city. In the 1980s and 1990s Kovanda focused primarily on collages and assemblages, whilst in recent years an increasing number of situational actions and installations are being realized. Kovanda was represented in numerous solo and group exhibitions, including MWW Wrocław (2013), 30th São Paulo Biennial (2012), Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía Madrid (2012), Vienna Secession (2010), CGAC, Santiago de Compostela (2008), documenta 12, Kassel (2007), Tate Modern, London (2007).

Jiří Kovanda is a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program during 2015.


Di-Sa 14-18h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Eröffnung: 11. März 2015, 19 Uhr
Künstlergespräch: 11.März 2015, 18 Uhr
Jiří Kovanda, einer der international bekanntesten zeitgenössischen Künstler der Tschechischen Republik, ist in diesem Frühjahr gleich mit zwei institutionellen Einzelausstellungen in Berlin vertreten: Das Tschechische Zentrum Berlin eröffnet am 11. März die Ausstellung Jiri Kovanda gegen den Rest der Welt. Die daadgalerie eröffnet am 17. April 2015 die Ausstellung MOOM, in der neue, in Berlin entstandene Arbeiten Kovandas präsentiert werden.

Die von den Kuratoren Guillaume Désanges und Francois Piron kuratierte Ausstellung Jiri Kovanda gegen den Rest der Welt wurde erstmals im September 2006 in der Pariser Galerie gb agency gezeigt. Nach weiteren Stationen an der De Appel Galerie in Amsterdam, dem Centre d’art Passerelle in Brest, der Valence School of Fine Arts, dem Centre d’Art Santa Monica in Barcelona und der Galerie der Stadt Prag wird sie nun erstmals in Berlin präsentiert.
Neben Dokumentationen früher Aktionen Kovandas aus den 1970er Jahren werden auch neue ortsspezifische Arbeiten sowie zahlreiche grob reproduzierte Bilder aus Presse, Werbung und Kunst gezeigt. Unter diesen von den Kuratoren intuitiv zusammengestellten Referenzbildern befinden sich zahlreiche Arbeiten ehemaliger Gäste des Berliner Künstlerprogramms, wie etwa Marina Abramović, Lawrence Weiner, Marie Cool Fabio Balducci, Milan Knížák, Dan Graham, Douglas Gordon, Ben Vautier, Dennis Oppenheim oder Braco Dimitrijević.

Jiří Kovanda (*1953 in Prag) wurde international vor allem durch seine frühen Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum bekannt. Es handelte sich um gleichermaßen diskrete wie poetische Aktionen, während derer er beispielsweise mit ausgebreiteten Armen auf dem Wenzelsplatz stand oder sich auf der Rolltreppe umdrehte, um hinter ihm Stehende mit dem Blick zu fixieren. In anderen Arbeiten arrangierte er einfache Materialien an ausgewählten Orten im Stadtraum. In den 1980er- und 1990er-Jahren entstanden vor allem Collagen und Assemblagen, seit einigen Jahren realisiert er wieder zunehmend situationsbezogene Aktionen und Installationen. Kovanda war in zahlreichen internationalen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen vertreten, z.B. im MWW Wrocław (2013), Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía Madrid (2012), Secession Wien (2010), CGAC, Santiago de Compostela (2008), documenta 12, Kassel (2007), Tate Modern, London (2007).

Jiří Kovanda ist 2015 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di-Sa 14-18h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK