Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Blog Other Programs
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Fig. 3
Fig. 4
Fig. 5
Fig. 6
Fig. 7
An essential point in selecting guests for the music section has been to invite internationally-known composers who could give innovative incentives to the then largely conventional character of Berlin's musical life. The guests in the 60s and 70s were György Kurtág, Krzystof Penderecki, György Ligeti, Isang Yun, John Cage, Morton Feldman → fig.1, and others. In the 80s, an increasing number of invitations were extended to composers representing the newest trends in electro-acoustic music and performance art, among them Luigi Nono → fig.2, Bill Fontana, Fast Forward, Shelley Hirsch, Fatima Miranda, David Moss, Gordon Monahan, Sainkho Namtchylak, and Carles Santos.

New guests of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm are introduced to the public by a "composer's portrait" at the daadgalerie or a "portrait concert". In order to provide performance opportunities to the guests – who due to the experimental nature of their work are often difficult to integrate into Berlin concert life – in 1982 the festival "Inventionen" was founded in conjunction with the Technische Universität. It was co-hosted by Akademie der Künste from 1984 to 1994. The main emphasis of the festival is electro-acoustic music, multimedia performances, sound installations and interdisciplinary exhibitions (of music and visual arts). The "Inventionen" are accompanied by workshops and symposiums, scientific contributions and documentations and programme books. Each festival has a specific topic or is dedicated to the oeuvre of a composer. It attempts to juxtapose the newest trends and world premieres with the "classics" of New Music and with works rarely or never played in Berlin such as, for example, "Music for 16 Strings" (1989), a comprehensive retrospective of contemporary music for string quartets.

In 1991 the emphasis was on the chamber music and electronic works of Luigi Nono and John Cage, in 1994 on the early works of Karlheinz Stockhausen. In 1996 the festival was dedicated to the theme Space-Music. The "Groupe de Recherches Musicales" (GRM) from Paris were frequent guests together with the Acousmonium, in particular during 1998 at the 50th anniversary of "Musique concrète". At the "Inventionen" of 2000, the highlight was the performance of Luigi Nono's "Prometeo" by the Ensemble Modern Orchestra and the Experimental Studio Freiburg at the Berlin Philharmonic Hall. The programme was supplemented by sound art by guests including Ed Osborn→ fig.3, José Antonio Orts, Tom Johnson and Wolfgang Mitterer as well as "acousmatic" concerts by the BEAST (Birmingham ElectroAcoustic Sound Theatre) in the Parochialkirche.

In 2002 "Inventionen" was able to celebrate its 20th anniversary with numerous sound installations, for example by Gordon Monahan in the daadgalerie → fig.4 or Robin Minard at the municipal baths in Oderberger Straße → fig.5. The German premiere of "Le Noir de L'Etoile" by Gérard Grisey by the group "Les Percussions de Strasbourg" made a particular impression, as did works by the guests Kotoka Suzuki and Emmanuel Witzthum, produced together with Berlin video artists.

The composers – especially the performance artists – are inspired by the city, and they in turn inspire people, not only musicians, to produce and perceive completely new acoustic spheres: in 1989, in the Hamburger Bahnhof (at that time still a ruin) Fast Forward ignited a "running fire" with musicians, video artists and construction workers working the ground with pneumatic hammers → fig.6. In 1995, Christian Marclay created his "Berlin Mix" in a former tram depot with 165 live musicians and singers from a wide array of musical culture → fig.7. In 1992, David Moss brought together musicians, dancers and athletes in the Schöneberg gym for his piece "Physical Acts". They presented their achievements in individual performances in showers and changing-rooms, as well as in group performances in the big hall. In 1995, Lawrence D. "Butch" Morris dominated the Total Music Meeting at the Podewil cultural center with five "conductions". Ellen Fullman created her 32-meter-long "Long String Instrument" in 2001, playing it together with four Berlin musicians in the Parochialkirche.

The mutual inspiration between Berlin and the guests of the Künstlerprogramm has in many cases led to their decision to live and work in Germany on a permanent basis. The Estonian Arvo Pärt decided to make Berlin his new home after the grant. In the same way, Frangis Ali-Sade from Azerbaijan, the Americans Ed Osborn and David Moss, the Canadians Robin Minard and Gordon Monahan, the Austrian Sam Auinger, Richard Barrett from Great Britain and the Italian Mario Bertoncini have been among many to remain in Berlin.

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Abb. 1
Abb. 2
Abb. 3
Abb. 4
Abb. 5
Abb. 6
Abb. 7
In der Sparte Musik war die Stipendienvergabe von Beginn an darauf ausgerichtet, international bekannte Komponisten einzuladen, die dem früher eher konservativen Musikleben Berlins innovative Anstöße geben konnten. In den 1960er und 1970er Jahren waren dies u.a. György Kurtág, Krzystof Penderecki, György Ligeti, Isang Yun, John Cage und Morton Feldman → Abb. 1 In den 1980er Jahren kamen zunehmend Komponisten hinzu, die die jeweils neuesten Ansätze in der elektroakustischen Musik und im Performance-Bereich vertraten, u.a. Luigi Nono → Abb. 2, Bill Fontana, Fast Forward, Shelley Hirsch, Fatima Miranda, David Moss, Gordon Monahan, Sainkho Namtchylak, Carles Santos.

Alle neuen Gäste des Berliner Künstlerprogramms werden durch ein Komponistenportrait in der daadgalerie oder ein eigenes Portraitkonzert der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Um den Gästen, die durch ihre oft experimentelle Arbeit schwer in das Berliner Konzertleben zu integrieren sind, darüber hinaus Aufführungsmöglichkeiten zu geben, wurde 1982 das Festival "Inventionen" gemeinsam mit der Technischen Universität gegründet. Schwerpunkte dieses Festivals sind die elektroakustische Musik, multimediale Performances, Klanginstallationen und spartenübergreifende Ausstellungen (Musik/Bildende Kunst). Begleitet werden die Aufführungen von Workshops und Symposien, wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen und Dokumentationen und umfangreichen Programmheften. Das Festival steht jeweils unter einem Thema oder ist dem Werk eines Komponisten gewidmet – es versucht, den neuesten Strömungen und Uraufführungen die "Klassiker" der Neuen Musik und in Berlin selten bzw. nie gespielte Werke gegenüberzustellen, so z.B. "Musik für ca. 16 Saiten" (1989), eine umfangreiche Retrospektive des zeitgenössischen Streichquartettschaffens.

1991 stand das kammermusikalische und elektronische Werk von Luigi Nono und John Cage im Mittelpunkt, 1994 das Frühwerk von Karlheinz Stockhausen. 1996 war das Festival dem Thema Raum-Musik gewidmet. Die "Groupe de Recherches Musicales" (GRM) aus Paris war des öfteren mit dem Acousmonium zu Gast, besonders 1998 beim 50jährigen Jubiläum der "Musique concrète". 2000 bildete die Aufführung von Luigi Nonos "Prometeo" durch das Ensemble Modern Orchestra und das Experimentalstudio Freiburg in der Philharmonie Berlin einen Akzent, ergänzt durch Klangkunst u.a. der Gäste Ed Osborn → Abb. 3, José Antonio Orts, Tom Johnson und Wolfang Mitterer sowie akusmatische Konzerte des BEAST (Birmingham ElectroAcoustique Sound Theatre) in der Parochialkirche.

2002 konnten die "Inventionen" ihr 20jähriges Jubiläum mit zahlreichen Klanginstallationen feiern, etwa von Gordon Monahan in der daadgalerie → Abb. 4 oder Robin Minard im Stadtbad Oderberger Straße → Abb. 5. Sehr eindrucksvoll war die deutsche Erstaufführung von "Le Noir de l´Etoile" von Gérard Grisey durch "Les Percussions de Strasbourg" und die in Zusammenarbeit mit Berliner Videokünstlern entstandenen Werke der Gäste Kotoka Suzuki und Emmanuel Witzthum.

Die Komponisten, vor allem die Performancekünstler, lassen sich von der Stadt inspirieren und inspirieren ihrerseits die Menschen, nicht nur die Musiker, zur Produktion und Wahrnehmung völlig neuer akustischer Sphären: Fast Forward entzündete 1989 im Hamburger Bahnhof, der damals noch eine Ruine war, ein Trommelfeuer mit Musikern, Videokünstlern und Bauarbeitern, die mit Presslufthämmern den Boden bearbeiteten → Abb. 6. Christian Marclay mischte 1995 in einem ehemaligen Straßenbahndepot sein "Berlin Mix" mit 165 Live-Musikern und Sängern aus allen Musikbereichen → Abb. 7. David Moss brachte in "Physical Acts" 1992 in der Schöneberger Sporthalle Musiker, Tänzerinnen und Sportler zusammen, die in Einzelperformances in Duschen und Umkleidekabinen sowie im Ensemble in der Halle ihre Leistungen zum Besten gaben. 1995 standen 5 "conductions" mit einem Berliner Ensemble von Lawrence D. "Butch" Morris auf dem Programm des Total Music Meeting im Podewil. Ellen Fullman brachte 2001 ihr 32 Meter langes "Long String Instrument" zusammen mit vier Berliner Musikern in der Parochialkirche zum Klingen.

Die wechselseitige Inspiration zwischen Berlin und den Gästen des Programms hat in vielen Fällen zur Entscheidung der Gäste geführt, dauerhaft in Deutschland zu leben und zu arbeiten. Zu diesem Schritt entschlossen sich der Este Arvo Pärt, Frangis Ali-Sade aus Aserbaidschan, der Amerikaner David Moss, die Kanadier Robin Minard und Gordon Monahan, der Österreicher Sam Auinger, der Brite Richard Barrett und viele andere.

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK