Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Fig. 3
Fig. 4
Fig. 5
Fig. 6
Fig. 7
Fig. 8
Literary dialogue is inevitably a dialogue between cultures. In the most literal sense, this dialogue is conducted and engaged in by the authors of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm in a written, verbal mode of communication which supercedes cultural limitations. Since the inception of the Künstlerprogramm, guests such as Ingeborg Bachmann, Wystan H. Auden, Michel Butor, Susan Sontag, Carlos Fuentes, Juan Goytisolo, Breyten Breytenbach and Mario Vargas Llosa, Gao Xingjian → fig. 1, Jean-Philippe Toussaint, Viktor Pelewin, Juri Andruchowytsch, Slavenka Drakulić and many others have come to think of Berlin as a second home and have contributed to the cultivation of an expanding network of contacts and partnerships around the world.

The dialogue between cultures always necessitates a better understanding of and insight into the corresponding side. Cees Nooteboom's → fig. 2 Berlin Notes about the state of mind of the Germans at the time of unication – the analysis of an astute observer from outside – impressively illuminates the new beginning at the focal point of Veranstaltungen. This new beginning necessitated shifts in emphasis on the part of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm: in the years following 1989, the majority of guests came from the former Soviet Union, Romania and former Czechoslovakia. Among these artists who until then were restricted from travelling were Gennadij Ajgi, Vladimir Sorokin, Lev Rubinstein, Ivan Wernisch, Miroslav Holub, Gellu Naum, Ana Blandiana und Mircea Dinescu . For a long time and despite all politically related difficulties before 1989, the literature program has been a central meeting point for artists from East and West. As early as 1963, one of the very first guests, the Polish writer Witold Gombrowicz , came to Berlin and wrote his Berlin diary. Others followed – Sławomir Mrożek, Tadeusz Różewicz, Stanisław Lem, Zbigniew Herbert and Ryszard Kapuściński.

Hungary’s special role within the Berliner Künstlerprogramm was described poignantly by its guest György Dalos: during the time of the Iron Curtain, the Künstlerprogramm had been "the most important representative of unofficial Hungarian culture abroad". Hungarian contemporary literature was represented by George Tabori, György Kónrad, Péter Esterházy, Miklós Mészöly, Péter Nádas, and the recipient of the 2002 Nobel Prize for Literature, Imre Kertész → fig. 3+4.
.
To introduce its guests, the Berliner Künstlerprogramm organises a regular series of readings at the daadgalerie in Berlin and, in cooperation with numerous partners, at other venues throughout Germany and abroad (Warsaw, Budapest, Amsterdam a.o.). Former guests have frequently enjoyed returning to Berlin to attend readings. Hence the inauguration of the "Wahlheimat Berlin" readings series, featuring writers who have adopted Berlin as their hometown, in 2004 at the Deutsches Historisches Museum → fig. 5.

For guests of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm, being in Berlin signifies a time of contemplation during which they can write, stroll through the city, collect impressions, and make contact with publishers and other writers. Not only do guests participate actively in Berlin's literary life – for example, in the Poetry Festival organised by the Literaturwerkstatt and the International Literary Festival Berlin – they also can be found at the two major German book fairs, and at readings and discussions in literature centres, festivals and universities throughout the country → fig. 6.

The Berlin residency forms the bridge of contacts with publishers that leads for many guests to their initial publication in the German language. One of the main concerns of the Künstlerprogramm's literature section is to promote and support translations. To document the work of its literary guests, the Berliner Künstlerprogramm began to publish a limited edition in conjunction with the Literarisches Colloquium Berlin in 1974. In 1990, Aufbau-Verlag continued that tradition with its series "Text und Porträt". In 2000, the Berliner Künstlerprogramm initiated its own book series "Spurensicherung" (securing of evidence). The name is synonymous with its aim: to preserve traces by authors from around the world who have lived in Berlin – with special attention to the kinds of texts that do not receive the attention they deserve in the commercial literary scene: poetry, essays and stories.  Authors include Memo Anjel, Bora Cosic, László F. Földényi, Viktor Pelewin, Olga Tokarczuk → fig. 8, Gao Xingjian, the recipient of the 2000 Nobel Prize for Literature, and Pulitzer Prize winner Jeffrey Eugenides. As of 2006, the volumes in the "Spurensicherung" series are being published by the renowned publishing house Matthes & Seitz Berlin.

Offering help and work opportunities to authors who are threatened and persecuted in their home countries remains, despite all political changes, one of the most prominent goals of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm. This offer was never limited to the context of the problematic relationship between East and West. During the time of the Greek military junta, Vassilis Vassilikos and Alexander Skinas, came to Berlin, Antonio Skármeta, came from Chile, and in 1991, some of the Chinese artists who were forced to leave their country in 1989 joined their Berlin colleagues for the interdisciplinary "Lichtfluß" festival.

Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Der literarische Dialog ist stets auch ein Dialog zwischen Kulturen. Im wörtlichsten Sinne wird dieser Dialog durch die Autorinnen und Autoren des Berliner Künstlerprogramms geführt – schriftlich, verbal, als Kulturgrenzen überschreitendes Kommunikationsmodell. Ingeborg Bachmann, Wystan H. Auden, Michel Butor, Susan Sontag, Carlos Fuentes, Juan Goytisolo, Breyten Breytenbach, Mario Vargas Llosa, Gao Xingjian → Abb. 1, Jean-Philippe Toussaint, Viktor Pelewin, Juri Andruchowytsch, Slavenka Drakulić und viele andere mehr haben seit Anbeginn des Künstlerprogramms Berlin zu ihrer Wahlheimat gemacht und zum Ausbau eines Netzes von Kontakten und Partnerschaften in aller Welt beigetragen.

Dies betrifft auch den Blick auf Berlin und Deutschland. Cees Nootebooms → Abb. 2 "Berliner Notizen" über die Befindlichkeit der Deutschen zum Zeitpunkt der Vereinigung, die Analyse eines wohlinformierten Außenstehenden, beleuchtet eindrucksvoll den neuen Anfang im Zentrum des Geschehens. Dieser Neuanfang forderte selbstverständlich auch vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm Akzentverschiebungen: In den ersten Jahren nach 1989 stellten zunächst einmal die bis dahin vom Reisen weitgehend ausgeschlossenen Schriftsteller aus der ehemaligen Sowjetunion, Rumänien und der früheren Tschechoslowakei das Gros der Gäste. Zu nennen wären u.a. Gennadij Ajgi, Vladimir Sorokin, Lev Rubinstein, Ivan Wernisch, Miroslav Holub, Gellu Naum, Ana Blandiana und Mircea Dinescu. Allerdings war das Literaturprogramm schon seit langem und trotz aller politisch bedingten Schwierigkeiten vor 1989 eine Nahtstelle für Begegnungen von Künstlern aus Ost und West. Schon 1963 kam als einer der ersten Gäste überhaupt der polnische Schriftsteller Witold Gombrowicz nach Berlin und schrieb hier sein Berliner Tagebuch. Es folgten u.a. Sławomir Mrożek, Tadeusz Różewicz, Stanisław Lem, Zbigniew Herbert und Ryszard Kapuściński.

Die Rolle, die Ungarn im Berliner Künstlerprogramm spielte,, wurde treffend von György Dalos beschrieben: Es sei zu Zeiten des Eisernen Vorhangs "die wichtigste Auslandsvertretung der inoffiziellen ungarischen Kultur" gewesen. Die ungarische Gegenwartsliteratur wurde u.a. durch George Tabori, György Kónrad, Péter Esterházy, Miklós Mészöly, Péter Nádas und den Literatur-Nobelpreisträger Imre Kertész vertreten → Abb. 3+4.

Zur Vorstellung seiner Gäste organisiert das Berliner Künstlerprogramm regelmäßig Lesungen in der daadgalerie → Abb. 5 und an anderen Orten in Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen Kooperationspartnern, deutschlandweit und international (bisher in Warschau, Budapest und Amsterdam). Zu Lesungen kommen ehemalige Gäste des Programms immer wieder gerne nach Berlin. Seit 2004 findet daher im Deutschen Historischen Museum die Lesereihe "Wahlheimat Berlin" statt.

In Berlin zu sein bedeutet für die Gäste des Berliner Künstlerprogramms eine Zeit der Kontemplation, in der sie schreiben, flanieren, Eindrücke sammeln und Kontakte zu Verlegern und Schriftstellern knüpfen können. Sie nehmen nicht nur aktiv am literarischen Leben Berlins teil, etwa beim Poesiefestival der Literaturwerkstatt und beim Internationalen Literaturfestival Berlin, sondern sind deutschlandweit bei den Buchmessen, in Literaturhäusern, auf Lesefesten und an Universitäten präsent → Abb. 6.

Seit 1994 hat sich das Berliner Künstlerprogramm, dieser Tradition folgend, gemeinsam mit dem Berliner Senat für das Projekt "Städte der Zuflucht" des Internationalen Schriftstellerparlaments engagiert. Als erstem Gast wurde dem algerischen Schriftsteller Mohamed Magani eine Aufenthalts- und Arbeitsmöglichkeit in Berlin eröffnet.

Der Berlin-Aufenthalt bildet die Brücke für Verlagskontakte, und so kommt es für viele Gäste oft erstmalig zu einer Publikation in deutscher Sprache. Übersetzungsförderung ist eines der Anliegen der Literatursparte des Künstlerprogramms. Zur Dokumentation der Arbeiten seiner literarischen Gäste gab das Berliner Künstlerprogramm von 1974 an eine kleine Buchreihe → Abb. 7 gemeinsam mit dem Literarischen Colloquium Berlin heraus. Seit 1990 knüpfte der Aufbau-Verlag mit der Reihe "Text und Porträt" an diese Tradition an. Im Jahr 2000 begann das Berliner Künstlerprogramm die Buchreihe "Spurensicherung" herauszugeben. Der Name der Reihe ist Programm: die Spuren der Autorinnen und Autoren aus aller Welt, die in Berlin waren, festzuhalten - mit besonderem Augenmerk auf denjenigen Texten, die im kommerziellen Literaturbetrieb eher zu kurz kommen: Lyrik, Essays, Erzählungen. Zu Wort kamen u.a. Memo Anjel, Bora Cosic, László F. Földényi, Viktor Pelewin, Olga Tokarczuk, → Abb. 8 der Literatur-Nobelpreisträger Gao Xingjian und der Pulitzer-Preisträger Jeffrey Eugenides.

Bedrohten und in ihrem Heimatland verfolgten Autoren Hilfe und Arbeitsmöglichkeiten zu bieten bleibt trotz aller politischen Veränderungen eine der Aufgaben des Berliner Künstlerprogramms und war nie auf den Kontext der problematischen Ost-West-Beziehungen beschränkt. Während der Zeit der Militärjunta kamen aus Griechenland Vassilis Vassilikos und Alexander Skinas, aus Chile kam Antonio Skármeta, und im Projekt "Lichtfluss" trafen 1991 einige der chinesischen Künstler, die 1989 ihr Land verlassen mussten, zu einem spartenübergreifenden Festival mit Berliner Kollegen zusammen.

Druckversion
Abb. 1
Abb. 2
Abb. 3
Abb. 4
Abb. 5
Abb. 6
Abb. 7
Abb. 8
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK