Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Blog Other Programs
Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Fig. 3
Fig. 4
Fig. 5
Fig. 6
Berlin's aura, the famous "Himmel über Berlin", does not only inspire fine artists, musicians and writers, but also filmmakers from all over the world. Veranstaltungen in the field such as the "Berlin International Film Festival", the location of many production companies, numerous programme cinemas and not least the large network of filmmakers here make Berlin into an attractive cinematic metropolis. The film programme, therefore, mainly serves the presentation and mediation of the guests' work. Opportunity is given to establish contacts, show films, formulate film-scripts and screenplays, and – in the most fortunate of cases – this leads to funding and realization of a film project. István Szabó's "Mephisto" and Otar Iosseliani's "La chasse aux papillons" → fig. 1 would not have been made without the filmmakers' stay in Berlin → fig. 2.

Within the strictly commercialized world of film, experimental and avantgarde filmmakers depend on financing by public funds. In the 1980s, this main emphasis of the programme was demonstrated by invitations to trendsetters from the USA such as Paul Sharits, Ken Jacobs, Ernie Gehr and Ken Kobland. Others were documentary and feature film directors like Andrej Tarkovskij and Jim Jarmusch who used Berlin as a basis for their film work.

But Berlin is not only a basis, it is also a source of inspiration for filmmakers who deal with recent history, with societal, cultural and political conditions in their works. The changed situation in Germany after 1989 stimulated Shelly Silver to make her video film "Former East/Former West" in which the artist pursues the latest developments by means of interviews. Jennie Livingston captured her filmic impressions in conversations with Berliners. Patrick Keiller filmed in the border region between Poland and Germany → fig. 3.

Films by guests of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm are presented at the important international festivals such as Cannes (Chen Kaige, István Szabó, Teresa Villaverde), Venice (Otar Iosseliani) and Berlin (Jon Jost, Jim Jarmusch). At the DFFB (German Film and Television Academy Berlin) and at the Kino Arsenal, many of the guests offer seminars whose subjects are their own work and the situation of film in their home country. With his main work, the cult film "Narcissus and Psyche", Gábór Bódy built a bridge between the avantgarde of Eastern and Western Europe and established his video magazine "Infermental" in Berlin.

The series of Veranstaltungen in the film section are concentrated on selected regions and themes: "Films from the USA" showed works by Ken Kobland, Ken Jacobs, Shelly Silver, Dan Eisenberg, Rafal Zielinski and Paul Budnitz; in the series "Das Auge des Wirbelsturms" we saw films from three decades focusing on Berlin; and retrospectives have been dedicated to the film work of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm's former guests → fig. 4.

DAAD Short Film Award at the Berlin International Film Festival
The Artists-in-Berlin Programme of the DAAD has awarded, for the first time in 2006, a prize to a short film, shown at the Berlin International Film Festival.

The DAAD Short Film Award highlights the long-term cooperation with the Berlinale and it comes with a three-month scholarship for the director in Berlin. In 2006 the DAAD Short Film Award was given to the filmmaker Rony Sasson (Israel) for her film „Barburot“ (Swanettes, 16mm, 15 min, Hebrew) .→ fig. 5

Again in 2007, the International Short Film Jury selected an entry from the Short Film Competition to receive the DAAD Short Film Award. This year’s winner was Turkish filmmaker Nesimi Yetik with his film "Annem Sinema Öğreniyor" (My Mother Learns Cinema, 2006, 35mm, 3 min, Turkish) → fig. 6.

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Abb. 1
Abb. 2
Abb. 3
Abb. 4
Abb. 5
Abb. 6
"Der Himmel über Berlin" inspiriert nicht nur Bildende Künstler, Musiker und Literaten, sondern auch immer wieder Filmemacher aus aller Welt → Abb. 1. Branchenereignisse wie die "Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin", die Ansiedlung vieler Produktionsfirmen, zahlreiche Programmkinos und nicht zuletzt das große Netzwerk Filmschaffender machen Berlin zur attraktiven Filmmetropole. In der Sparte Film sind folglich die Präsentation und Vermittlung die Hauptanliegen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms: Den Gästen wird die Möglichkeit geboten, Kontakte herzustellen, ihre Filme zu zeigen und vor allem auch Filme und Drehbücher zu konzipieren, die im günstigen Falle später mit Fremdmitteln in Berlin realisiert werden können. István Szabós "Mephisto" und Otar Iosselianis "Schmetterlingsjagd" → Abb. 2 wären ohne die Berlin-Aufenthalte nicht zustande gekommen.

In der streng kommerzialisierten Filmwelt sind Experimental- und Avantgardefilme auf öffentliche Mittel angewiesen. In den 80er Jahren war dieser Bereich Schwerpunkt des Programms u. a. mit Einladungen an die Trendsetter aus USA – Paul Sharits, Ken Jacobs, Ernie Gehr und Ken Kobland. Hinzu kamen Dokumentar- und Spielfilme: Andrej Tarkowskij und Jim Jarmusch nutzten Berlin als Basis für ihre Filmarbeiten.

Doch Berlin ist nicht nur Basis, sondern auch Inspirationsquelle für die Filmemacher: Sie setzen sich mit der jüngsten Geschichte, Gesellschaft und Kultur sowie den politischen Verhältnissen auseinander. Die veränderte Situation nach 1989 in Deutschland animierte Shelly Silver zu ihrem Video "Former East/Former West" → Abb. 3, in dem sie in Interviews den neuesten Entwicklungen nachgeht. Jennie Livingston filmte ihre Eindrücke in Gesprächen mit Berlinern, und Patrick Keiller konzipierte einen Film im Grenzgebiet zwischen Polen und Deutschland.

Filme der Gäste im Berliner Künstlerprogramm werden bei den großen internationalen Festivals von Cannes (Chen Kaige, István Szabó, Teresa Villaverde), Venedig (Otar Iosseliani) und Berlin (Jon Jost, Jim Jarmusch) vorgestellt. An der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin und im Kino Arsenal bieten viele der Gäste Seminare an, deren Themen die eigenen Arbeiten und die Situation des Films in ihrem Heimatland sind. Gábor Bódy schlug mit seinem Hauptwerk, dem Kultfilm "Narziß und Psyche", eine Brücke zwischen der Avantgarde West- und Osteuropas und baute in Berlin sein Videomagazin "Infermental" auf.

Veranstaltungsreihen der Filmsparte konzentrieren sich auf ausgewählte Regionen und Themen: "Filme aus USA" zeigte Werke von Ken Kobland, Ken Jacobs, Shelly Silver, Dan Eisenberg → Abb. 4, Rafal Zielinski und Paul Budnitz; in der Reihe "Das Auge des Wirbelsturms" liefen Filme um und über Berlin aus drei Jahrzehnten; Retrospektiven würdigen das filmische Werk ehemaliger Gäste des Berliner Künstlerprogramms.

DAAD Kurzfilmpreis bei der Berlinale
Bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin – der Berlinale – wurde 2006 erstmals der DAAD Kurzfilmpreis verliehen.

Der Preis unterstreicht die langjährige Kooperation mit den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin und besteht aus einem dreimonatigen Stipendium in Berlin für den Regisseur bzw. die Regisseurin durch das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD. Der DAAD Kurzfilmpreis 2006 ging an die israelische Filmemacherin Rony Sasson für ihren Film "Barburot" (Swanettes, 16mm, 15 min, Hebräisch) → Abb. 5.

Auch im Jahr 2007 hat die Internationale Kurzfilmjury einen Film aus dem Kurzfilmwettbewerb ausgezeichnet. Der DAAD Kurzfilmpreis 2007 geht an den türkischen Filmemacher Nesimi Yetik für seinen Film "Annem Sinema Öğreniyor" (My Mother Learns Cinema, 2006, 35mm, 3 min, Türkisch) → Abb. 6.

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK