Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Blog Other Programs
The political changes in Europe after 1990 found their vivid and symbolic expression in the fall of the Berlin Wall and have turned Berlin into an especially attractive city. Visual artists are particularly attracted to the urban and architectural changes characterized by material and sculptural manifestations that emanate fascination. The rising number of applications in the visual arts section prompted a restructuring of the selection procedure in 1992. Since then, a more efficient nomination process has been applied by an international jury of experts. In the past years, this change has enabled the Berliner Künstlerprogramm to invite to Berlin aspiring and important artists whose works have reflected aspects of the current urban situation in diverse and original ways.

For example, the Canadian Stan Douglas found an ideal setting for his interpretation of E.T.A. Hoffmann's "sandman motif" in the garden colonies of Berlin's suburbia → fig. 1 . The British sculptress Rachel Whiteread encountered Berlin's Jewish history; her experiences resulted in a proposal for the construction of a monument for the city of Vienna recalling the persecution of Jews. The English sculptor Richard Wentworth discovered the city through multiple photographic "genre scenes", anonymous sculpted interferences in the cityscape which were later published in book form. Renée Green lectured at the "free class" at the Hochschule der Künste. For Damien Hirst, a most impressive installation evolved at the daadgalerie → fig. 2 . Matt Mullican's flag installation → fig. 3 located in Mies van der Rohe's building of the Neue Nationalgalerie dealt with reflections on art and the public, themes also reflected in the work of Douglas Gordon, Eija-Liisa Ahtila and Ann Veronica Janssens. It was in Berlin that Janet Cardiff conceived her now well-known Canadian contribution to the Venice Biennial of 2000, and it was from Berlin that Ilya Kabakov, an artist of Russian origin, embarked on what was to be an artistic triumph through museums world-wide . And, of course, one must cite Micha Ullman's monument in the center of the city on August-Bebel-Platz, which is a reminder to the burning of books on May 10th, 1933 → fig. 4+5 . Ullman's idea and the way he deals with the urban environment as well as with the posed topic and solution, single out this work as currently one of Europe's most exemplary monuments. As these significant examples demonstrate, Berlin's status as a location for new urban debate has been accepted by visual artists, and the impressive list of guests has itself developed into an indispensable cultural monument on the face of the city → fig. 5+6.

The original conception of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm – to provide a meeting point – has increasingly assumed a model function. Many artists live in Berlin immediately prior to international recognition. They absorb the phenomena of this city, influence local artists and, finally, in the numerous galleries of the city, find a "permanent representation" beyond the duration of their grant. As such, the work of many guests remains present in the cultural life of the capital city.

Fig. 1
Fig. 2
Fig. 3
Fig. 4
Fig. 5
Fig. 6
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Die politischen Veränderungen in Europa seit 1990, die im Fall der Berliner Mauer ihren so anschaulichen wie symbolischen Ausdruck gefunden hatten, haben insbesondere Berlin zu einer attraktiven Stadt gemacht. Bildende Künstler werden angezogen von den urbanen, räumlichen Umbrüchen mit ihren stofflich-skulpturalen Erscheinungsformen, die nach wie vor Faszination ausstrahlen. Die steigende Zahl von Bewerbungen im Bereich der Bildenden Kunst legte es nahe, das Auswahlverfahren effizienter zu gestalten: Seit 1992 werden die Gäste von einer internationalen Jury nominiert. Auf diese Weise konnte das Berliner Künstlerprogramm in den vergangenen Jahren aufstrebende und prominente Künstler einladen, die die urbane Berliner Situation sehr unterschiedlich und eigenwillig in ihren Werken reflektierten.

So fand der Kanadier Stan Douglas in den Schrebergärten der Vorstädte Berlins eine ideale Kulisse für seine Umschreibung eines "Sandmann-Motivs" nach E.T.A. Hoffmann → Abb. 1. Die britische Bildhauerin Rachel Whiteread nahm die jüdische Geschichte Berlins auf – ihre Erfahrungen mündeten im Entwurf eines Mahnmals für die Verfolgung der Juden für die Stadt Wien. Der englische Bildhauer Richard Wentworth entdeckte die Stadt in vielfältigen photographischen "Genreszenen", anonyme bildhauerische Eingriffe im Stadtbild, die in einem Buch publiziert wurden. Renée Green wirkte als Dozentin für die "Freie Klasse" der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin. Damien Hirst entwickelte eine der eindrucksvollsten Installationen in der daadgalerie → Abb. 2. Mit seiner Fahneninstallation thematisierte Matt Mullican → Abb. 3 Kunst und Öffentlichkeit in Mies van der Rohes Neuer Nationalgalerie wie nach ihm Douglas Gordon, Eija-Liisa Ahtila und Ann Veronica Janssens. Janet Cardiff konzipierte in Berlin den berühmt gewordenen Beitrag Kanadas zur Biennale von Venedig 2000. Ilya Kabakov trat von Berlin aus den künstlerischen Siegeszug eines aus Russland stammenden Künstlers durch alle Museen der Welt an → Abb. 4. Und schließlich ist auf ein Denkmal von Micha Ullman auf dem Bebelplatz in Berlin-Mitte zu verweisen, das der Bücherverbrennung vom 10. Mai 1933 gedenkt → Abb. 5+6. Ullmans Entwurf und sein Umgang sowohl mit dem urbanen Ambiente als auch mit dem ihm gestellten Thema und dessen Lösung machen dieses Werk zu einem der derzeit vorbildlichsten Denkmale Europas. Berlin als Stadt wird, wie diese Beispiele zeigen, als Ort neuer urbaner Auseinandersetzung von Bildenden Künstlern angenommen, und die eindrucksvolle Namensliste aller Gäste hat sich als ein nicht mehr wegzudenkendes kulturelles Moment in das Antlitz der Stadt eingeschrieben.

Die Gründungsidee des Berliner Künstlerprogramms, Treffpunkt zu sein, ist verstärkt zu seinem Wahrzeichen geworden. Viele Künstler gelangen unmittelbar nach und durch ihren Berlinaufenthalt zu internationaler Anerkennung. Sie verarbeiten die Phänome dieser Stadt, beeinflussen die ortsansässigen Künstler und finden schließlich in vielen Galerien der Stadt eine über die Stipendiatenzeit hinausreichende "ständige Vertretung", so dass die Arbeiten vieler Gäste im Kulturleben der Hauptstadt präsent bleiben.

Druckversion
Abb. 1
Abb. 2
Abb. 3
Abb. 4
Abb. 5
Abb. 6
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK