Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
In addition to the eighteen fellowships awarded to artists selected by international and independent juries in the four divisions of visual arts, literature, film, and music, the Artists-in-Berlin Programme also invites artists for several shorter, one- to two-month residencies each year. Similarly to the one-year residences, these invitations are considered awards for artists who have already made a substantial, innovative contribution to contemporary art, but whose transdisciplinary or collective practices are not easily represented within the framework of the four traditionally established divisions. Moreover, these invitations give the possibility to establish thematic priorities in connection with the long-term fellowships. 

For the period of 2018 to 2019, Cevdet Erek (TR), Zuleikha Chaudhari (IN), as well as Leslie García and Paloma López (Interspecifics, MX) were invited to Berlin. 

  Turkish artist and musician Cevdet Erek’s sound installations and performances are characterised by rhythm and site-specificity. Exploring the relationship between architecture and sound, Erek develops his conceptual works into collectively experienced listening spaces that become hypotheses for the observer, shifting the perception and sensorial experience of the specific space, and of time, in order to rearticulate and reassess them. Erek’s installation, ÇIN, was presented at the Turkish pavilion at the 57th Venice Biennial (2017). Other works have been included in the 14th Istanbul Biennale (2015), and documenta (13) (2012). 

  Indian director and lighting designer Zuleikha Chaudhari works at the interface of performance, theatre, and installation. An important theme in her practice are experiments with spaces—be it the space of the human body or that of the performance site. Chaudhari is interested in the role that space plays in the construction of narrative, or in how space-based politics influence human experience, memory, and narrative. She also explores the question of remembrance, addressing the relationship between the production of memory and the role of the archive by working with archival documents. Chaudhari is a member of the Khoj International Artists’ Association and her works have been shown at the 10th Berlin Biennale (2018), the Dhaka Art Summit (2018), and the Kochi-Muziris Biennale (2016). 

  Since 2013, the Mexican sound art collective Interspecifics has worked at the intersections between art and research, and between human, machine, and other non-human actors such as bacteria, bioelectronics, mud cultures, or fungi. Their self-designed and constructed “ontological machines” and their hybrid, multimedia practices reinterpret concepts such as intelligence, agency, and humanity. De-hierarchisation and open access to knowledge, collective thinking, and inclusion are constant sources of motivation and fundamental objectives, which they implement alongside their creative practice, primarily in their open workshop concepts. In November 2019, Interspecifics, represented by Leslie García and Paloma López, will present an exhibition on the theme of “non-human agents & sound” at the daadgalerie.

Print
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Social Media andere Programme
Zusätzlich zu den 18 Stipendien, die durch die Auswahl internationaler und unabhängiger Jurys in den vier Sparten Bildende Kunst, Literatur, Film und Musik vergeben werden, spricht das Berliner Künstlerprogramm jährlich mehrere ein- bis zweimonatige Kurzeinladungen aus. Diese Einladungen sind ebenso wie die einjährigen Residenzen als Auszeichnungen für Künstler*innen gedacht, die bereits einen substantiellen, innovativen Beitrag zum zeitgenössischen Kunstgeschehen geleistet haben, deren transdisziplinäre oder kollektive Praktiken aber im Raster der vier traditionell gewachsenen Sparten nicht gut abgebildet werden können. Außerdem bietet sich hier die Möglichkeit, in Verbindung mit den langen Stipendien thematische Schwerpunkte zu setzen.

Im Zeitraum von 2018 bis 2019 wurden über diesen Weg Cevdet Erek (TR), Zuleikha Chaudhari (IN) sowie Leslie García und Paloma López (Interspecifics, MX) nach Berlin eingeladen. 

Die Soundinstallationen und Performances des türkischen Künstlers und Musikers Cevdet Erek zeichnen sich durch Rhythmus und Ortsspezifik aus. Erek beschäftigt das Verhältnis von Architektur und Klang, seine konzeptuellen Arbeiten entwickelt er zu kollektiv erlebbaren Hör-Räumen, die für die Betrachter*innen zu Hypothesen werden und sowohl ihre Wahrnehmung als auch ihre Sinneserfahrung des spezifischen Raums wie auch der Zeit verändern, um diese neu zu artikulieren und zu vermessen. Ereks Installation ÇIN wurde im türkischen Pavillon der 57. Biennale Venedig (2017) präsentiert, weitere Arbeiten waren unter anderem Teil der 14. Istanbul Biennale (2015) und der documenta (13) (2012). 

Die indische Regisseurin und Lichtdesignerin Zuleikha Chaudhari arbeitet an der Schnittstelle zwischen Performance, Theater und Installation. Ein wichtiges Thema ihrer Praxis sind Experimente mit Räumen – sei es der Raum des menschlichen Körpers oder der des Aufführungsortes. Chaudhari interessiert sich für die Rolle, die Raum bei der Konstruktion von Narration spielt, beziehungsweise dafür, wie raumbezogene Politik menschliche Erfahrung, Erinnerung und Erzählung(en) beeinflusst. Der Frage nach Erinnerung geht sie auch bei der Auseinandersetzung mit Archivdokumenten nach, anhand derer sie die Beziehung zwischen der Produktion von Erinnerung und der Rolle des Archivs thematisiert. Chaudhari ist Mitglied der Khoj International Artists’ Association, ihre Arbeiten waren unter anderem auf der 10. Berlin Biennale (2018), dem Dhaka Art Summit (2018) und der Kochi-Muziris Biennale (2016) zu sehen. 

  Seit 2013 arbeitet das mexikanische Klangkunstkollektiv Interspecifics in den Grenzgebieten von Kunst und Forschung, von Mensch, Maschine und anderen nicht-menschlichen Akteuren wie Bakterien, Bioelektrik, Schlammkulturen oder Pilzen. Mit ihren selbst entworfenen und gebauten „ontologischen Maschinen“ und ihren hybriden, multimedialen Praktiken loten sie Begriffe wie Intelligenz, Agency und Menschlichkeit neu aus. Dabei sind Enthierarchisierung und offene Zugänglichkeit von Wissen, kollektives Denken und Inklusion ihr ständiger Antrieb und wesentliches Ziel, das sie neben ihrer kreativen Praxis vor allem in ihren offenen Workshop-Konzepten umsetzen. Im November 2019 werden Interspecifics, vertreten durch Leslie García und Paloma López, eine Ausstellung zum Thema „non-human agents & sound“ in der daadgalerie eröffnen. 

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen