Slavenka Drakulić
Croatia / Sweden
Slavenka Drakulic was born in Rijeka, Croatia, in 1949. From 1982 to 1992, she worked as a journalist for the Zagreb weeklies Start Cultural and Danas.

After the fall of the Iron Curtain and the collapse of Yugoslavia in 1989, Drakulic published the novel "The Principle of Longing". In 1991, she also published "How we survived communism and even laughed". Later she commented on the civil war in the Balkans in publications such as "Dying in Croatia – On the War in the Heart of Europe" (1992). After the end of the war, Drakulic participated as an observer in the hearings of the International Tribunal of War Criminals in Den Haag and some courts in Croatia. This led to a book about the perpetrators during the Balkan War: "They would never hurt a fly" (Keiner war dabei – Kriegsverbrechen auf dem Balkan vor Gericht, 2004). In this she analyses the banality of evil and the psychology of terror as two of the great challenges of the 20th and 21st centuries and questions how the war was possible. In Den Haag, Drakulic was confronted by the horrifying "Banality of Evil": inconspicuous men "from next door" who were responsible for "ethnic cleansing" from the Kraijna to Sarajevo, for the massacre of Srebrenica or the rape of Bosnian women; men whose dreadful normality underlines the fact that a capacity for evil is inherent in every man or woman.

She also described the suffering of the victims. In her novel "Kao da me nema" (As if I Didn't Exist, 1999), she tells the story of a young Bosnian woman teacher, who is carried off to a Serbian concentration camp for women and repeatedly raped.

Slavenka Drakulic stubbornly calls for the individualisation of guilt and responsibility, but she meets with opposition to this demand in her home country: "Too many people were involved in the war, and a very large number of them profited from it. It is easier and more comfortable to live with a lie than with the truth - with the possibility of individual blame and collective moral and political responsibility."

To voice the unmentionable and to take a look at the very depths of human existence is a challenge that Slavenka Drakulic repeatedly imposes on herself – not only in her books about the war in former Yugoslavia. In her novel "Mramorna koza" (Marble Skin, 1998), for example, she describes the relationship – oscillating between eroticism and violence – between a girl in puberty and her mother's lover; the novel "Bozanska glad" (The Taste of a Man, 1997) is the story of a young woman who murders her lover and eats him in order to be one with him for ever, and "Hologrami straha" (The Principle of Longing, 1989) relates a young woman's struggle with a life-threatening illness. Incest, cannibalism, illness, war, rape – these are the excesses of human existence, and Slavenka Drakulic is not afraid to make them into the subject of her writing.

Name
Slavenka Drakulić
Land
Kroatien / Schweden
Slavenka Drakulic wurde 1949 in Rijeka, Kroatien, geboren. Von 1982 bis 1992 arbeitete sie als Journalistin für die Zagreber Wochenschriften Start Cultural und Danas.

Nach dem Fall des eisernern Vorhangs und dem Zusammenbruch Jugoslawiens 1989 veröffentlichte Drakulic den Roman "Das Prinzip Sehnsucht". 1991 erschien "How we survived communism and even laughed" (Wie wir den Kommunismus überstanden – und trotzdem lachten). Später kommentierte sie mit Veröffentlichungen wie "Sterben in Kroatien – Vom Krieg mitten in Europa" (1992) den Bürgerkrieg auf dem Balkan. Nach dessen Ende nahm Drakulic als Beobachterin an den Verhandlungen des Internationalen Kriegsverbrechertribunals in Den Haag und einiger Gerichte in Kroatien teil. Daraus entstand ein Buch über die Täter der Balkankriege: "They would never hurt a fly" (Keiner war dabei – Kriegsverbrechen auf dem Balkan vor Gericht, 2004). Darin setzt sie sich mit der Banalität des Bösen und der Psychologie des Terrors als zwei der großen Herausforderungen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts auseinander und stellt die Frage, wie der Krieg möglich war. Drakulic sah sich in Den Haag mit der erschreckenden "Banalität des Bösen" konfrontiert: unauffälligen Männern "von nebenan", die für die "ethnischen Säuberungen" von der Kraijna bis Sarajevo, das Massaker von Srebrenica oder die Vergewaltigungen der bosnischen Frauen verantwortlich waren und mit ihrer grauenhaften Normalität nichts anderes unterstrichen als die Tatsache, dass die Fähigkeit zum Bösen in jedem Menschen angelegt ist.

Auch das Leid der Opfer hat sie beschrieben. In ihrem Roman "Kao da me nema" (Als gäbe es mich nicht, 1999) erzählt sie die Geschichte einer junge bosnische Lehrerin, die in ein serbisches Frauenkonzentrationslager verschleppt und dort immer wieder vergewaltigt wird.

Unnachgiebig klagt Slavenka Drakulic die Individualisierung von Schuld und Verantwortung ein, doch stößt sie mit dieser Forderung in ihrer Heimat auf Ablehnung: "Zu viele Menschen waren am Krieg beteiligt, und sehr viele haben von ihm profitiert. Es ist leichter und bequemer, mit der Lüge zu leben als mit der Wahrheit, mit der Möglichkeit von individueller Schuld und kollektiver moralischer und politischer Verantwortung."
Das Unsagbare auszusprechen und die Abgründe menschlichen Seins in den Blick zu nehmen gehört zu den Herausforderungen, denen sich Slavenka Drakulic immer wieder stellt – nicht nur in ihren Büchern zum Krieg im früheren Jugoslawien. In ihrem Roman "Mramorna koza" (Marmorhaut, 1998) etwa beschreibt sie das zwischen Erotik und Gewalt oszillierende Verhältnis zwischen einem pubertierenden Mädchen und dem Liebhaber der Mutter, in dem Roman "Bozanska glad" (Das Liebesopfer, 1997) die Geschichte einer jungen Frau, die ihren Geliebten ermordet und verspeist, um auf ewig mit ihm zu verschmelzen, oder in "Hologrami straha" (Das Prinzip Sehnsucht, 1989) den Kampf einer jungen Frau mit einer lebensbedrohenden Krankheit. Inzest, Kannibalismus, Krankheit, Krieg, Vergewaltigung – dies sind die Auswüchse menschlichen Seins, die zum Gegenstand ihres Schreibens zu machen Slavenka Drakulic sich nicht scheut.