Name
Eugenijus Ališanka
Country
Lithuania
Eugenijus Ališanka was born 1960 in Barnaul/Siberia, Russia, a town to which his parents had been banished. He grew up in Vilnius, Lithuania, where he still lives today. After studying mathematics, since 1991 he has published four volumes of poetry as well as two books of essays. In addition, he has translated poems by Zbigniew Herbert and Wislawa Szymborska from Polish as well as by Aleš Debeljak from Slovenian. Ališanka directs a literary festival in Lithuania and since 2003 he has been chief editor of the Vilnius Review, a magazine that presents contemporary Lithuanian literature in English translation.

He is one of the most important Lithuanian poets of the younger generation – and in addition a great traveller, a poet on the road, who in his "unwritten stories" roves across Europe, taking the readers with him on this tour d'Europe: the Grande Place in Brussels appears in his poems together with hordes of drunken football fans, the water of the Seine with its tiny wrinkled waves, or the Hotel Rossija in Moscow, which triggers a longing for wild drinking binges. It is a map of the senses that guides the poet through the continent and permits him to enter into – self-ironic – contemplation of his situation as a Lithuanian traveller ("the descendant of barbarians with his long hair / blowing in the wind is ready to conquer europe") and as a writer in today's world: "I'd sell my poem with all its spare parts / slightly worn in europe's oldest language / the poet's jacket is from a secondhand shop / and his pockets are filled with bits of tobacco / I'd sell it cheap even for a bottle of red / from the bordeaux region (...) I do everything so that I will not have to write / I feed the pigeons I ride the trains / every day I do better I'd sell my last poem / with all its spare parts / and head back for the woods."

From this starting point, he leads on to the stage of European culture and literature and into the layers of European history, equipped with a metaphorical stock from Greek-Roman antiquity to Chernobyl. On this stage, the characters – like extras in a crowd – are overcome by events rather than being granted the roles of true actors: "on baltrameus' night I hid in a haystack / I wasn't of a different faith but had no say in the matter / the most monstrous can neither expect / the grace of god nor buy indulgences / mostly hang around the house feed the livestock / rake hay or work / in the office lick envelopes". Alongside such "great history" there is the "petite histoire", the many mosaic pieces which ultimately constitute a life: "more and more I'm interested in details / a loose stitch a wine stain on a collar / a tattered sock soft hair on a nose / everything here is my history / my siberia and my america / my travels over fields of mars cafés in vilnius / roofs on dzerzhinsky street / la petite histoire a small labyrinth of nerves".

Another, vertical level may be found in poems by Eugenijus Ališanka – the non-simultaneity of time in today's Central Europe, which is sometimes summed up in a single Lithuanian village: "summer's end at eight it's getting dark already / dogs communicate by telephone barks / at night the connection is better distant neighbours / bark to each other about women and bones about drunken misha / staggering along garden borders / omnitel gives discounts at full moon ..."

Name
Eugenijus Ališanka
Land
Litauen
Eugenijus Ališanka wurde 1960 in Barnaul/Sibirien, Russland, geboren, wohin seine Eltern verbannt waren. Er wuchs in Vilnius, Litauen, auf, wo er auch heute lebt. Nach dem Studium der Mathematik veröffentlichte er seit 1991 vier Gedichtbände und zwei Bücher mit Essays, zudem übersetzte er Gedichte von Zbigniew Herbert und Wislawa Szymborska aus dem Polnischen sowie von Aleš Debeljak aus dem Slowenischen. Ališanka leitete ein Literaturfestival in Litauen und ist seit 2003 Chefredakteur der Vilnius Review, einer Zeitschrift, die zeitgenössische litauische Literatur in englischer Übersetzung präsentiert.

Er ist einer der wichtigsten litauischen Lyriker der jüngeren Generation – zudem ein großer Reisender, ein poet on the road, der in seinen "ungeschriebenen geschichten" den europäischen Raum durchstreift und den Leser mitnimmt auf seine tour d'Europe: die Grande Place in Brüssel taucht in seinen Gedichten auf mit Horden besoffener Fußballfans, die Wasser der Seine mit ihren faltigen kleinen Wellen oder das Hotel Rossija in Moskau, das Sehnsucht weckt nach wüsten Gelagen. Eine Landkarte der Sinne ist es, die den Dichter durch den Kontinent leitet und ihn eintreten lässt in ein – selbstironisches – Nachdenken über seine Situation als litauischer Reisender ("ein nachfahre von barbaren mit langen vom / wind zerzausten haaren europa erobernd") und als Schreibender in der heutigen Zeit: "ich würde ein gedicht verkaufen mit sämtlichen ersatzteilen / europas älteste sprache wenig getragen / einen frack des autors second hand / die taschen voller tabakkrümel / wenn auch halb geschenkt nur für eine flasche rotwein / aus der gegend von bordeaux (...) ich tue alles um nur nicht / schreiben zu müssen füttere die tauben fahre mit dem zug / mit jedem tag gelingt es mir besser / ich würde das letzte gedicht verkaufen mit sämtlichen / ersatzteilen und dann zurück in den wald."

Von hier aus geht es hinaus auf die Bretter der europäischen Kultur und Literatur und hinein in die Schichten der europäischen Geschichte, die mit einem metaphorischen Inventar von der griechisch-römischen Antike bis nach Tschernobyl ausgekleidet ist und auf deren Bühne die Figuren eher wie Statisten im Pulk von den Ereignissen übermannt werden, als dass ihnen die Rolle von Akteuren zukäme: "in der bartholomäusnacht versteckte / ich mich in einem heuhaufen / ich war nicht anderen glaubens hatte keine meinung / solche sind eindeutig die schlimmsten / weder auf gottes gnade können sie zählen / noch sich das seelenheil erkaufen / meist kümmern sie sich um die wirtschaft / füttern das vieh oder sie arbeiten in der / schreibstube kleben briefe mit der zunge zu". Neben der "großen Geschichte" steht die "petite histoire", die mit ihren vielen Mosaiksteinchen am Ende auch ein Leben ausmacht: "immer mehr interessieren mich kleinigkeiten / eine durchgewetzte tasche ein weinfleck auf dem kragen / durchlöcherte strümpfe haare in der nase alles hier / ist meine geschichte mein sibirien und amerika / meine reise auf den marsfeldern / durch die cafés von vilnius / über die dächer der dzerzinskij-straße / la petite histoire ein kleines nervenlabyrinth"

Und noch eine vertikale Ebene findet sich in den Gedichten von Eugenijus Ališanka – die Ungleichzeitigkeit der Zeit im heutigen Mitteleuropa, die mitunter in einem einzigen litauischen Dorf zusammentrifft: "der sommer geht zu ende um acht dämmert es bereits / die hunde kommunizieren mit dem stimmentelefon / nachts ist die verbindung besser die entferntesten nachbarn / kläffen über frauen knochen den wieder besoffenen mischa / der an einem gemüsebeet entlangschwankt / omnitel gibt bei vollmond vergünstigungen ..."