Name
Ho Rui An
Country
Singapore
Singaporean artist and author Ho Rui An (b. 1990) works at the interface of contemporary art, film, performance, and theory. He is particularly interested in images and how they are constructed within the context of globalization and politics, and above all in questioning their origins and how they are disseminated, but also how they disappear. Rui An combs through historical archives and contemporary visual culture to examine the shifting relationships between image and power. He is interested in themes such as hospitality, participatory democracy, or even speculative future scenarios.

In his discursive performances, Rui An calls on various formal elements, ideas, and figures in order to address a variety of issues. In so doing, he clearly sets himself apart from the tradition of “spoken performances” in contemporary dance and theater in Singapore or the theorizing of art as postulated by the so-called “pedagogical turn.” He is also somewhat skeptical of the term “lecture performance” and instead relates his own practice to the tradition of early cinema, when the projected image was accompanied by live performances.

The performance DASH (2017) uses dash cam recordings of accidents as a starting point to address the Singapore government’s Horizon Scanning program, a risk assessment analysis that also includes various forms of monitoring. The widespread use of the dash cam in recent years has led to the formation of a kind of global accident archive featuring a huge collection of images on the Internet, which Ho Rui An draws from in his work. Taking up the theme of Horizon Scanning in Singapore, which combines big data with scenario planning, the artist explores the question of how an accident or, more generally, a crisis becomes legible in an era of risk prevention and financial security. Rui An sees Singapore as a crucial hub where the electronic circuitry of the global financial market overlaps with routes of disfranchised migrant workers. Singapore is seen as a privileged place where disturbances or “weak signals” that appear on the horizon immediately become apparent. From this location, Rui An develops both a fantastical and speculative economy that he typically presents to the public in live performances.

Ho Rui An has realized numerous international projects, including at the Jakarta Biennale (2017), the Sharjah Biennial 13 (2017), the Kochi-Muziris Biennial (2014), the House of World Cultures, Berlin (2017), Jorge B. Vargas Museum and the Filipiniana Research Center, Manila (2017), the NTU Center for Contemporary Art Singapore (2017), the NUS Museum, Singapore (2016), Para Site, Hong Kong (2015), the Hessel Museum of Art and CCS Bard Galleries, Annandale-on-Hudson (2015), and Witte de With, Rotterdam (2014). Rui An is also the Singapore editor of ArtAsiaPacific magazine and has contributed to numerous publications. He lives and works in Singapore and New York.

Text: Anja Lückenkemper

Name
Ho Rui An
Land
Singapur
Der singapurische Künstler und Autor Ho Rui An (* 1990) arbeitet im Grenzbereich zwischen zeitgenössischer Kunst, Film, Performance und Theorie. Sein Interesse gilt im Besonderen Bildern und deren Konstruktion im Kontext von Globalisierung und Politik, allen voran Fragen nach ihrer Entstehung und Verbreitung, aber auch hinsichtlich ihres Verschwindens. Rui An durchforstet historische Archive und die zeitgenössische visuelle Kultur, um die wechselnden Beziehungen zwischen Bild und Macht auszuloten. Er sich z.B. Themen wie der Gastfreundschaft, der partizipativen Demokratie, oder auch spekulativen Zukunftsszenarien.

In seinen diskursiven Performances ruft Rui An verschiedene formale Elemente, Ideen und Figuren auf, um sich so einer Vielzahl von Themen anzunähern. Dabei setzt er sich deutlich ab von der Tradition der „spoken performances“ im zeitgenössischen Tanz und Theater in Singapur oder der Theoretisierung von Kunst, wie sie der sogenannte „pedagogical turn“ postuliert. Auch dem Begriff der „lecture performance“ steht er mit einer gewissen Skepsis gegenüber und bezieht die eigene Praxis stattdessen auf die Tradition des frühen Kinos, als das projizierte Bild von live performances begleitet wurde.

Die Performance DASH (2017) nimmt Unfallaufnahmen sogenannter Dashcams (Armaturenbrettkameras) zum Ausgangspunkt, um das sog. Horizon Scanning der Regierung Singapurs, einer Risikobewertungsanalyse, die auch verschiedene Überwachungsformen beinhaltet, zu thematisieren. Die weite Verbreitung der Dashcam in den vergangenen Jahren hat zu einer Art globalem Unfallregister mit einer riesigen Ansammlung von Bildmaterial im Internet geführt, aus dem sich Ho Rui An bedient. Über das Motiv des Horizon Scanning in Singapur, das Big Data und Szenario-Planung kombiniert, geht der Künstler der Frage nach, wie ein Unfall oder allgemeiner eine Krise in Zeiten von Risikovorsorge und finanztechnischer Absicherung lesbar wird. Rui An versteht Singapur als entscheidenden Knotenpunkt, an dem sich sowohl die elektronischen Kreisläufe des globalen Finanzmarkts, als auch die Routen entrechteter Arbeitsmigranten/innen überschneiden. Singapur wird als ein privilegierter Ort betrachtet, an dem Störungen oder "schwache Signale", die am Horizont auftauchen, besonders augenscheinlich werden. Von diesem Ort aus entwickelt Rui An eine ebenso fantastische wie spekulative Ökonomie, die er der Öffentlichkeit meist in Rahmen von Live-Performances darlegt.

Ho Rui An hat internationale zahlreiche Projekte realisiert, etwa auf der Jakarta Biennale (2017), der Sharjah Biennial 13 (2017), der Kochi-Muziris Biennale (2014), im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2017), im Jorge B. Vargas Museum und im Filipiniana Research Center, Manila (2017), im NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore (2017), im NUS Museum, Singapore (2016), bei Para Site, Hong Kong (2015), im Hessel Museum of Art und den CCS Bard Galleries, Annandale-on-Hudson (2015) wie auch im Witte de With, Rotterdam (2014). Rui An ist zudem Singapur-Redakteur der Zeitschrift „ArtAsiaPacific“ und hat Beiträge in zahlreichen Publikationen veröffentlicht. Er lebt und arbeitet in Singapur und New York.

Text: Anja Lückenkemper