Gariné Torossian
Gariné Torossian was born in 1970, in Beirut, Lebanon; the child of Armenian parents. She spent her childhood in the Armenian ghetto of Beirut, "Bourj Hamoud", before moving to Canada with her parents at the age of nine. After studying Film and Photography at the York University Toronto and subsequently working as a photographer, she began concentrating on film direction. Gariné Torossian refers to herself as a "self-taught filmmaker", a fact underlined by her diverse and comprehensive filmography.

Gariné Torossian began to realise her first short films at the age of 22. So far, she has usually taken on responsibility for the camera work and editing of her own films, as well as the direction. She received her first award at the Melbourne International Film Festival for "Girl from Moush" (1994). This early work – assembled pictorial sequences of an imagined Armenia, emerging from the artist's subconscious – marks the beginning of her investigation into and visual approaches to an imagined home country.
Since the mid-90s, she has regularly produced short films, often supported by the Ontario Arts Council or the Canada Council for the Arts. Gariné Torossian was first represented at the Berlinale by a short film in 1999: "Sparklehorse" (1999), inspired by three songs by the music group of the same name, received a commendation. In 2002, she won the Panorama short film prize at the Berlinale for "Babies on the Sun" (2001) - five impressive minutes in which Torossian nostalgically traces memories of childhood.

The filmmaker received first awards for her experimental film "Hokees" (2000) at the film festivals in Affma and Houston. "Hokees" means "soul" in Armenian. The film tells the story of Anahida, an Armenian woman, who is pregnant with the child of her Turkish lover. Here, Torossian's pictorial language fluctuates between dream and reality and past and present, lending the film an emotionally charged, visual power. Like all her other short films, such as "Dust" (2000), "Garden in Khorkhom" (2003) and "Sandia's Eustasy" (2004), this work is an indication of Torossian's wide range of expressive possibilities, her joy in experimenting with colour, film and video formats, and in lively exchange with other arts such as dance, painting and music. Her films focus on notions of memory, longing, identity – and this is also true of her most recent work (and first feature film) "Stone, Time, Touch" (2006), which, in the words of the filmmaker, represents a temporary answer to ten years of investigation into her own origins. Today, Torossian's filmography comprises 18 works, most of which could be seen at festivals at home and abroad, as well as in museums (e.g. in the Modern Museum of Art in New York).

During her fellowship in Berlin, Gariné Torossian would like to devote a chapter to her own history, to life in the Armenian ghetto "Bourj Hamoud" in Beirut, from which she and her family originated. Gariné Torossian lives and works as an independent filmmaker in Toronto.

Name
Gariné Torossian
Land
Libanon
Gariné Torossian wurde 1970 in Beirut im Libanon als Kind armenischer Eltern geboren. Ihre Kindheit verbrachte sie im armenischen Ghetto Beiruts "Bourj Hamoud", bevor sie neunjährig mit ihren Eltern nach Kanada übersiedelte. Nach einem Studium in Film und Photographie an der York University Toronto und anschließender Tätigkeit als Photographin konzentrierte sie sich auf Filmregie. Gariné Torossian selbst bezeichnet sich als "self taught filmmaker", was ihre vielseitige und sehr umfangreiche Filmographie unterstreicht.

Mit 22 Jahren begann Gariné Torossian ihre ersten Kurzfilme zu realisieren, wobei sie (und dies bis heute) neben Regie auch Kameraführung und Schnitt meist selbst übernimmt. Für "Girl from Moush" (1994) wurde sie beim Melbourne International Film Festival erstmals ausgezeichnet. Diese frühe Arbeit – montierte Bildsequenzen eines erträumten, dem Unterbewusstsein der Künstlerin entsprungenen Armeniens – markiert den Anfang ihrer Erkundungen und visuellen Annäherungsversuche an eine imaginierte Form von Heimat.
Seit Mitte der 90er Jahre entstanden regelmäßig zahlreiche Kurzfilme, häufig unterstützt durch das Ontario Arts Council oder das Canada Council For the Arts. 1999 war Gariné Torossian erstmals mit einem Kurzfilm bei der Berlinale vertreten: "Sparklehorse" (1999), inspiriert von drei Songs der gleichnamigen Musikgruppe, erhielt dort eine lobende Erwähnung. 2002 wurde ihr auf der Berlinale für "Babies on the Sun" (2001), fünf eindrucksvolle Minuten, in denen Torossian nostalgisch Kindheitserinnerungen nachspürt, der Panorama-Kurzfilmpreis verliehen.

Erste Preise erhielt die Filmemacherin für ihren Experimentalfilm "Hokees" (2000) bei den Filmfestivals in Affma und Houston. "Hokees" bedeutet auf armenisch "Seele". Der Film erzählt die Geschichte von Anahida, einer Armenierin, die das Kind ihres türkischen Liebhabers im Leib trägt. Torossians Bildsprache wandelt hier zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, die dem Film eine emotional aufgeladene, visuelle Kraft verleiht. Dieser, wie auch alle weiteren Kurzfilme, u.a. "Dust" (2000), "Garden in Khorkhom" (2003) und "Sandias Eustasy" (2004), verweisen auf Torossians breite Palette an Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten, ihre Lust am Experimentieren mit Farbe, Film- und Videoformaten, und dies im regen Austausch mit anderen Künsten wie Tanz, Malerei und Musik. Ihre Filme kreisen um die Themen Erinnerung, Sehnsucht, Identität – so auch ihre jüngste Arbeit (und zugleich erster Spielfilm) "Stone, Time, Touch" (2006), der, wie die Filmemacherin selbst sagt, eine einstweilige Antwort gibt auf ihre über zehn Jahre währende Frage nach der eigenen Herkunft. Torossians Filmografie umfasst heute 18 Arbeiten, wovon ein Großteil auf Festivals im In- und Ausland wie auch in Museen (z.B. im Modern Museum of Art in New York) zu sehen war.

Während ihres Berlin-Stipendiums möchte Gariné Torossian sich u.a. einem weiteren Kapitel ihrer eigenen Geschichte widmen, dem Leben in dem armenischen Ghetto "Bourj Hamoud" in Beirut, dem sie und ihre Familie entstammen. Gariné Torossian lebt und arbeitet als unabhängige Filmemacherin in Toronto.