Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Tsipi Reibenbach was born in 1947 in Silesia. In 1950, she emigrated to Israel with her parents, who were survivors of the Holocaust. She studied Mathematics and Physics at the University of Tel-Aviv and worked as a teacher. In October 1973, her husband was killed in the Yom Kippur War. Her direction course graduation film "Windows Plus" was not only an attempt to come to terms with this tragic loss, but also a portrait of herself and four other mothers widowed by Yom Kippur in 1973.

In the years 1988 to 1993, she made the documentary film "Choice and Destiny": unobtrusive observations of her own aged parents, Yitzhak and Fruma. This film received numerous awards, including the Robert & France Flaherty Grand Prize at the International Documentary Film Festival in Yamagata, Japan, the Prix de la SCAM of the Festival du Cinéma Réel in Paris, and the Audience Award and Special Jury Prize at the International Documentary Film Festival in Amsterdam.

Tsipi Reibenbach's third documentary film, "Three Sisters" (1996-1998), is another family portrait, this time of her mother Fruma and her two sisters. At the same time, it is the story of a lost youth and unfulfilled love. "Three Sisters" won a prize from the Haifa Arts Foundation and the prize for the Best Camera at the festival Doc-Aviv, and was shown at the International Forum of the Berlinale in 1998, as well as in the exhibition "Mythen der Nationen 1945. Der Kampf der Erinnerung" in the Deutsches Historisches Museum, Berlin, in 2004/2005.

In her fourth film, "A City with no Pity" (2003), Tsipi Reibenbach returned to her home town Lydda, today Israel's largest centre of drug dealing. The 5000-year history of the city is buried under ruins and garbage – a symbol of the filmmaker's memories of childhood as well as a metaphor of the Israeli state. "A City with no Pity" experienced its world premiere in the International Forum of the Berlinale in 2003.

The filmmaker, who has been awarded the prize of the Israeli Ministry of Culture, used her time in Berlin in 2006 to continue work on her current feature film project (working title "Immigrants"). Tsipi Reibenbach lives in Tel-Aviv.


Print
Filmography
The Garden (short film, 1 min, 8mm) 1976
Hangers (short film, 15 min, 16mm, b&w) 1978
Widows Plus (documentary, 103 min, 16mm, b&w) 1981
Choice and Destiny (documentary, 118 min, 16mm) 1993
Three Sisters (documentary, 68 min, 16mm) 1998
A City with no Pity (documentary, 65 min, Digi Beta) 2002

http://www.tsipi-reibenbach-films.com/
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
wurde 1947 in Schlesien geboren. 1950 emigrierte sie mit ihren Eltern, Holocaustüberlebenden, nach Israel. Es folgte ein Mathematik- und Physikstudium an der Universität Tel-Aviv und die Tätigkeit als Lehrerin. Im Oktober 1973 kam ihr Mann beim Yom-Kippur-Krieg ums Leben. Den tragischen Verlust verarbeitete sie 1981 in dem Dokumentarfilm "Widow Plus" (1981), der gleichzeitig Abschlussarbeit ihres 1976 aufgenommenen Regiestudiums an der Universität Tel Aviv und Portrait ihrer selbst sowie vier weiterer an Yom Kippur ´73 verwitweter Mütter ist.

In den Jahren 1988 bis 1993 entstand der Dokumentarfilm "Choice and Destiny", Reibenbachs unaufdringliche Beobachtung der eigenen alten Eltern Yitzhak und Fruma. Der Film wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, u.a. mit dem Robert & France Flaherty Grand Prize beim Internationalen Dokumentarfilmfestival in Yamagata, Japan, mit dem Prix de la SCAM des Festival du Cinéma Réel in Paris sowie mit dem Publikums- und Spezialpreis der Jury des Internationalen Dokumentarfilmfests in Amsterdam.

Tsipi Reibenbachs dritter Dokumentarfilm "Three Sisters" (1996-1998) ist ein weiteres Familienportrait, diesmal der Mutter Fruma und ihrer beiden Schwestern, und zugleich die Geschichte einer verlorenen Jugend und unerfüllten Liebe. "Three Sisters" gewann den Preis der Haifa Arts Foundation, den Preis für die Beste Kamera beim Festival Doc-Aviv, und war 1998 im Internationalen Forum der Berlinale sowie 2004/2005 in der Ausstellung "Mythen der Nationen 1945. Der Kampf der Erinnerung" im Deutschen Historischen Museum, Berlin zu sehen.

In ihrem vierten Film "A City with no Pity" (2003) kehrte Tsipi Reibenbach zurück in ihre Heimatstadt Lydda (Lod), heute Israels größter Umschlagplatz für Drogen. Die 5000jährige Geschichte der Stadt ist unter Ruinen und Müll begraben – Sinnbild der Kindheitserinnerungen der Filmemacherin genauso wie Metapher für den Staat Israel. "A City with no Pity" erlebte seine Weltpremiere im Internationalen Forum der Berlinale 2003.

Die Filmemacherin, die Trägerin des Preises des Israelischen Kultusministeriums ist, nutzte ihren Aufenthalt 2006 in Berlin zur Weiterarbeit an ihrem aktuellen Spielfilmprojekt. Tsipi Reibenbach lebt in Tel-Aviv.

Print
Filmografie:
The Garden (Kurzfilm, 1 min, 8mm) 1976
Hangers (Kurzfilm, 15 min, 16mm, s/w) 1978
Widow Plus (Dokumentarfilm, 103 min, 16mm, s/w) 1981
Choice and Destiny (Dokumentarfilm, 118 min, 16mm) 1993
Three Sisters (Dokumentarfilm, 68 min, 16mm) 1998
A City with no Pity (Dokumentarfilm, 65 min, Digi Beta) 2002

http://www.tsipi-reibenbach-films.com/
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK