Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Brendan Grant was born in 1974 in Ireland and studied Art at the National College of Art and Design in Dublin. He soon received international acclaim for his sculptures and was invited to London and Florence as an Artist-in-Residence in the years 1997 and 1998. In 1998, he received a fellowship from the Irish Arts Council for his work. During the same year, Brendan Grant turned increasingly to filmmaking and finally completed a course of graduate study on Film Design. He collected practical experience as a cameraman, as well as in a project for the rehabilitation of young offenders; this was intended to promote their reintegration into society by means of collaborative work on a film. He realised his first two short films during this time.

In 2001, Brendan Grant registered at the National Film and Television School in London, where he made further short films, most recently "London Fields are Blue" – the story of an unusual assault. "London Fields are Blue" (2004) was shown at numerous international film festivals, was numbered among the Best British Short Films of the year 2004 and received the "Silver Award" in Karlovy Vary.

In 2004/2005, Brendan Grant received a fellowship from the Cinéfondation of the International Film Festival Cannes. During this period, commissioned by the BBC, he wrote the screenplay for his first full-length feature film "The Capture and Freedom of Steven H", which was shot in summer 2005.

Brendan Grant has also made frequent studies on the theory of film: his dissertation, published in 2004, is concerned with the subject of "Aids in Film". In Berlin, he would like to complete a book on film and technology. But above all, during his time in Berlin, Brendan Grant would like to work on his second feature film project, a road movie about two men from Northern Ireland. The search for a happier life leads them from Belfast to Berlin and finally as far as Moscow. This film intends to take an unprejudiced, fresh look at today's Europe – seen through the eyes of the curious traveller. Brendan Grant lives and works in Clonmel, Ireland.

Print
Filmography
Before you go (short film) 2000
Sour (short film) 2002
Hospital (short film) 2002
A Many Splendored Thing (short film) 2003
Gerry (short film) 2004
London Fields are Blue (short film, 15min, 16mm) 2004
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Brendan Grant wurde 1974 in Irland geboren und studierte zunächst Kunst am National College of Art and Design in Dublin. Mit seinen Skulpturen erwarb er schon bald internationale Beachtung und wurde in den Jahren 1997 und 1998 als Artist-in-Residence nach Florenz und London eingeladen. 1998 erhielt er für seine Arbeiten ein Stipendium des Irish Arts Council. Noch im selben Jahr wandte Brendan Grant sich mehr und mehr dem Filmemachen zu und absolvierte schließlich ein Aufbaustudium im Fach Filmgestaltung. Praktische Erfahrung sammelte er als Kameramann wie auch während eines Projekts zur Rehabilitation junger Straftäter, deren Wiedereingliederung in die Gesellschaft durch die gemeinschaftliche Arbeit an einem Film befördert werden soll. Seine ersten zwei Kurzfilme realisierte er in dieser Zeit.

2001 schrieb sich Brendan Grant an der National Film and Television School in London ein, wo weitere Kurzfilme entstanden, zuletzt "London Fields are Blue" - die Geschichte eines ungewöhnlichen Überfalls. "London Fields are Blue" (2004) war weltweit auf internationalen Filmfestivals zu sehen, zählt zu den Besten Britischen Kurzfilmen des Jahres 2004 und wurde in Karlovy Vary mit dem "Silver Award" ausgezeichnet.

2004/2005 war Brendan Grant Stipendiat der Cinéfondation der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Cannes. In dieser Zeit schrieb er im Auftrag von BBC Films das Drehbuch zu seinem ersten Langspielfilm "The Capture and Freedom of Steven H", der im Sommer 2005 abgedreht wurde.

Auch theoretisch setzt sich Brendan Grant mit Film immer wieder auseinander: dem Thema "Aids im Film" widmete er seine Dissertation, die 2004 veröffentlicht wurde. In Berlin möchte er ein Buch über Film und Technologie zu Ende schreiben. Doch vor allem gilt Brendan Grants Aufenthalt beim Berliner Künstlerprogramm der Arbeit an seinem zweiten Spielfilmprojekt, einem Roadmovie über zwei Männer aus Nordirland. Die Suche nach einem glücklicheren Leben führt sie von Belfast nach Berlin bis nach Moskau. Ganz beiläufig soll hierbei ein unvoreingenommener, frischer Blick auf das heutige Europa geworfen werden – gesehen durch die Brille des neugierigen Reisenden. Brendan Grant lebt und arbeitet im irischen Clonmel.


Print
Filmografie
Before you go (Kurzfilm) 2000
Sour (Kurzfilm) 2002
Hospital (Kurzfilm) 2002
A Many Splendored Thing (Kurzfilm) 2003
Gerry (Kurzfilm) 2004
London Fields are Blue (Kurzfilm, 15 min, 16mm) 2004
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK