Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Aleš Šteger was born in Ptuj, Slovenia, in 1973. He is the outstanding voice of the younger generation of Slovenian poets, as well as being a driving force in his country's literary scene as the co-founder and long-term artistic director of the international festival "Days of Poetry and Wine" in Medana.

Aleš Šteger studied comparative literature and German in Ljubljana from 1992 to 1999 and today he continues to live there, working as an independent author and contributor to the publishing house Beletrina. From 1994 to 1997, he was cultural editor of the magazine Tribuna; since 1998 he has edited the series of books Koda at the publishers Studentska Zalofba. His volume of poetry "Šahovnice ur" (Chessboard of Hours) received the debut award from the Slovenian book fair in 1995. In the same year, he received the Veronika Prize for the best work of Slovenian poetry of the year for "Kašmir"; in 2002, he published the volume of poetry "Protuberance", in 2005 "Knjiga re?i" (The Book of Things) and an audio book. Aleš Šteger has translated the poems of some of the most important German-speaking poets into Slovenian, including Gottfried Benn, Ingeborg Bachmann and Peter Huchel, as well as "One-Way Street" by Walter Benjamin.

According to Josip Osti, "Šteger's poems are unusual, inwardly-looking travel texts, in which Kashmir does not appear as a geographical but an imaginary fact, creating a world parallel to the description of everyday life but no less concrete. The poems are the topography of a landscape beyond time and space and the attempt to grasp the gravity and compassion of language (...), the expression of the merciless and paradoxical logic of a fissured existence." In the poem "With Eyes Closed" we read: "Close your eyes and you see a poem. / It has none of the tangibility of things you secretly long for. / It reminds you of a fresh, white-painted room, / where summer forgot to close the doors and windows. / But this, too, an unfortunate reference to forms in the concrete world."

"All his recourses to visions and dream images notwithstanding, Šteger has in a sense always been shockingly disillusioned, surprising us with his thrilling, relentless expression." (Klemen Pisk, Delo)

"There is no word for some things" ? this insight can be found in the Comprehensive Dictionary of Slovenian, and Šteger makes the sentence into a motto prefacing his "Book of Things". This volume of poetry collects together stringently constructed, light-footed texts on the taken-for-granted and therefore seldom noticeable trivialities of everyday life. Rather than describing them, Šteger gives a voice to the things themselves. Reflections of the anthropomorphist world are at work in the poems with titles like Egg, Knot, Stone, Pissoir – the lyric "I" sees himself in the things that he looks at; he observes and is observed. As the poet and translator Matthias Göritz remarks in his epilogue: "The 'Book of Things' offers a gliding panorama, a cabinet of mirrors, in which everything lies in wait for everything else, entering into a disturbing process of observation that can never be completed. In these poems there can be no question of agreement, either with the condition of the world, or with language."


Print
Publications in German Translation
Kaschmir. Poems. Translated from the Slovenian by Gerhard Falkner and the author, Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2001
Buch der Dinge. Poems. Translated from the Slovenian by Urska Cerne and Matthias Göritz. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Publications in English Translation
Ten Slovenian Poets Of The Nineties. Slovene Writers' Association 2002





http://www.alessteger.com/en/a>

Events by DAAD
"Über den Abgründen im Quadrat" Lesung mit Aleš Šteger (Slowenien)

"Prosa ist Gehen, aber Lyrik ist Tanzen." (Paul Valéry)

"Nicht für jedes Ding gibt es ein Wort."

Moderation: Peter von Becker Streifzüge durch die Bibliothek und andere Benjaminaden

Sehnsucht Berlin Ein Abend, ein Autor, ein Musiker, ein Film

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Aleš Šteger wurde 1973 in Ptuj, Slowenien, geboren. Er ist die herausragende Stimme der jüngeren Generation slowenischer Dichter sowie als Mitbegründer und langjähriger künstlerischer Leiter des internationalen Festivals "Tage der Poesie und des Weins" in Medana zugleich eine der treibenden Kräfte in der Literaturszene seines Landes.

Aleš Šteger studierte von 1992 bis 1999 Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und Germanistik in Ljubljana und lebt dort heute als freier Schriftsteller und Mitarbeiter des Verlags Beletrina. Von 1994 bis 1997 war er Kulturredakteur der Zeitschrift Tribuna; seit 1998 gibt er die Buchreihe Koda im Verlag Studentska Zalofba heraus. Sein Gedichtband "Šahovnice ur" (Schachbretter der Stunden) wurde mit dem Debütpreis der slowenischen Buchmesse 1995 ausgezeichnet. Für "Kašmir" erhielt er im selben Jahr den Veronikapreis für das beste slowenische Lyrikwerk des Jahres; 2002 erschien der Gedichtband "Protuberance", 2005 "Knjiga re?i" (Buch der Dinge) und ein Hörbuch. Aleš Šteger hat die Gedichte einiger der bedeutendsten deutschsprachigen Dichter ins Slowenische übertragen, unter ihnen Gottfried Benn, Ingeborg Bachmann und Peter Huchel, sowie "Einbahnstraße" von Walter Benjamin.

"Štegers Gedichte", so Josip Osti, "sind ungewöhnliche, nach innen gekehrte Reisetexte, in denen Kaschmir nicht als geografisches, sondern imaginäres Faktum auftritt, das eine zur Deskription des Alltags parallele, doch um nichts weniger konkrete Welt erschafft. Die Gedichte sind Topografie einer Landschaft jenseits von Zeit und Raum und der Versuch, die Schwerkraft und Gnade der Sprache zu erfassen (...) Ausdruck der unerbittlichen und paradoxen Logik einer zerklüfteten Existenz." In dem Gedicht "Bei geschlossenen Augen" heißt es: "Wenn du die Augen schließt, siehst du ein Gedicht. / Es entbehrt der Greifbarkeit jener Dinge, nach denen du dich heimlich sehnst. / Es erinnert dich an ein frisch geweißtes Zimmer, / In dem der Sommer vergaß, Fenster und Türen zu schließen. / Aber auch dies eine unglückliche Anspielung auf Formen der dinglichen Welt."

"All his recourses to visions and dream images notwithstanding, Šteger has in a sense always been shockingly disillusioned, surprising us with his thrilling, relentless expression." (Klemen Pisk, Delo)

"Nicht für alles gibt es ein Wort" ? diese Einsicht vermeldet das Große Wörterbuch der slowenischen Sprache, und Šteger hat sie seinem "Buch der Dinge" als Motto vorangestellt. Der Lyrikband versammelt streng gebaute, leichtfüßige Texte über die selbstverständlichen und darum recht unauffälligen Kleinigkeiten des Alltags. Statt zu beschreiben, läßt Šteger die Dinge selber zu Wort kommen. In den Gedichten – mit Titeln wie Ei, Knoten, Stein, Pissoir – sind Spiegelbilder der anthropomorphen Welt am Werk; das lyrische Ich betrachtet sich in den Dingen, die es ansieht, es äugt und wird beäugt. Der Lyriker und Übersetzer Matthias Göritz befindet im Nachwort: "Das 'Buch der Dinge' bietet ein gleitendes Panorama, ein Spiegelkabinett, in dem sich alle gegenseitig belauern und in einen beunruhigenden, unabschließbaren Schauprozeß eintreten. In diesen Gedichten gibt es kein Einverstandensein, weder mit der Verfaßtheit der Welt, noch mit der Sprache."

Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Kaschmir. Gedichte. Aus dem Slowenischen von Gerhard Falkner und dem Autor, Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2001
Buch der Dinge. Gedichte. Aus dem Slowenischen von Urska Cerne und Matthias Göritz. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006





http://www.alessteger.com/en/a>

Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
"Über den Abgründen im Quadrat" Lesung mit Aleš Šteger (Slowenien)

"Prosa ist Gehen, aber Lyrik ist Tanzen." (Paul Valéry)

"Nicht für jedes Ding gibt es ein Wort."

Moderation: Peter von Becker Streifzüge durch die Bibliothek und andere Benjaminaden

Sehnsucht Berlin Ein Abend, ein Autor, ein Musiker, ein Film

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK