Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Inger Christensen was born in Vejle, Demark, in 1935. Initially she studied medicine, but then trained as a teacher and worked at the College of Art in Holbæck from 1963–64. Although she has also written a novel, stories, essays, radio plays, a drama and an opera libretto, Christensen is primarily known for her linguistically skilled and powerful poetry.

Christensen first became known to a wider audience with the volumes "Lys" (1962; Light) and "Græs" (1963; Grass), which are much influenced by the modernistic imagery of the 60s, and in which she is concerned with the location of the lyric "I" in relation to natural and culturally created reality. The flat, regular landscape of Denmark, its plants and animals, the beach, the sea, the snow-filled winters have determined the topography of many of her poems. Christensen has also been known internationally since the appearance of the long poem "Det" (1969; "it" 2006), a form of creative report on the merger of language and the world, which centres around the single word "it" and covers more than two hundred pages. The book clearly reveals the influence on Christensen's poetic work of such a range of authors as Lars Gustafsson, Noam Chomsky, Viggo Brøndal, R.D. Laing and Sören Kierkegaard. The analogy between the development of poetic language and the growth of life is, as in "Det", also the basic motif of the volume of poetry "Alfabet" (1981; Alphabet). In addition to the alphabet itself – which gives the book its title and provides a logical arrangement for its fourteen sections –, the structure is generated by the so-called Fibonacci series, in which every number consists of the sum of the preceding two. The composition reflects the theme exactly: while "Det" points to the story of creation and its "In the beginning was the Word", here the alphabet is a pointer to the "A and O" of the apocalypse.

The story of her life and work offers access to a poetry that is difficult and enigmatic, but simultaneously simple and elementary. Inger Christensen is one of the most reflecting, form-conscious poets of the present day, and her history of ideas also provides information on the paradox of lyric art; making legible through poetic means what must necessary remain illegible, and in this way wrestling a specific order from the universal labyrinth. Here the transitions between the poet and the essayist Christensen are fluid: just as lyrical figures and motifs give her essays a density of their own, figures of thought and configurations of ideas return as an organic component of the poems.

Print
Publications in German Translation
Azorno. Novel. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. S. Fischer, Frankfurt am Main 1972 and Kleinheinrich, Münster 1992
Alfabet/Alphabet (Danish-German). Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1988
Das gemalte Zimmer. Eine Erzählung aus Mantua. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster [1] and Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main [2] 1989 [1], 1996 [2]
Brief im April. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1990
Gedicht vom Tod. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1991
Teil des Labyrinths. Essays. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1995
Das Schmetterlingstal. Ein Requiem/Sommerfugledalen. Et requiem (Danish-German). Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster [1], Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main [2] 1995 [1], 1998 [2]
Ein chemisches Gedicht zu Ehren der Erde. Auswahl ohne Anfang ohne Ende. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Edited by Peter Waterhouse, Residenz Verlag, Salzburg 1997
Der Geheimniszustand und das "Gedicht vom Tod". Essays. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Carl Hanser Verlag, Munich/Vienna 1999
Det/Das (Danish-German). Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 2002
Massenhaft Schnee für die darbenden Schafe. Radio Play. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2002
Graes/Gras: vierzehn frühe Gedichte, Danish-German. Translated from the Danish by Hanns Grössel. Detmold, Literaturbüro Ostwestfalen-Lippe e.V. 2005
Publications in English Translation
it. New Directions 2006
The Meaning of Metafiction: A Critical Study of Selected Novels by Sterne, Nabokov, Barth and Beckett. Oxford University Press, USA 1985
Literary Women on the Screen. Herbert Lang et Co Ag 1992
Butterfly Valley: A Requiem. New Directions 2004
Alphabet. New Directions 2001
The Painted Room. The Harvill Press 2000
Events by DAAD
Lesung mit Inger Christensen - Moderation: Aris Fioretos

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Inger Christensen wurde 1935 in Vejle, Dänemark, geboren. Sie studierte zunächst Medizin, ließ sich dann zur Lehrerin ausbilden und war 1963–64 an der Kunsthochschule in Holbæck tätig. Obgleich sie auch einen Roman, Erzählungen, Essays, Hörspiele, ein Drama und ein Opernlibretto verfasste, ist Christensen vor allem für ihre sprachgewaltige Lyrik bekannt.

Mit dem Bänden "Lys" (1962; Licht) "Græs" (1963; Gras), die stark von der modernistischen Metaphorik der sechziger Jahre beeinflusst sind, und in denen es um die Ortsbestimmung des lyrischen Ichs im Verhältnis zur natürlichen und kulturgeschaffenen Wirklichkeit geht, wird Christensen erstmals einer breiten Öffentlichkeit bekannt. Die ebene, gleichförmige Landschaft Dänemarks, deren Pflanzen und Tiere, der Strand, das Meer, die schneereichen Winter haben die Topographie vieler ihrer Gedichte bestimmt. Auch international bekannt ist Christensen spätestens seit Erscheinen des Langgedichts "Det" (1969; Det/Das, 2002), einer Art Schöpfungsbericht über die Entstehung der Sprache und der Welt, der sich auf über zweihundert Seiten um das eine Wort "es" reiht. Das Buch zeigt deutlich den Einfluss so unterschiedlicher Autoren wie Lars Gustafsson, Noam Chomsky, Viggo Brøndal, R.D. Laing und Sören Kierkegaard auf Christensens Arbeit als Lyrikerin. Die Analogie zwischen der Entfaltung der poetischen Sprache und dem Wachstum des Lebens ist ähnlich wie schon in "Det" auch das Grundmotiv des Gedichtbandes "Alfabet" (1981; Alfabet/Alphabet, 1988). Neben dem titelgebenden Alphabet selbst, nach dem die Anfangsbuchstaben der vierzehn Abschnitte des Buches angeordnet sind, ist die so genannte Fibonacci-Folge strukturbildend, bei der jede Zahl aus der Summe der beiden vorangehenden besteht. Die Komposition spiegelt genau das Thema wider: Verwies "Det" auf das "Am Anfang war das Wort" der Schöpfungsgeschichte, so steht hier das Alphabet als Hinweis auf das "A und O" der Apokalypse.

Lebens- und Werkgeschichte eröffnen den Zugang zu einer Lyrik, die zugleich schwierig und verschlossen und doch wieder einfach und elementar ist. Inger Christensen ist eine der reflektiertesten und formbewußtesten Lyrikerinnen der Gegenwart; ihre Ideengeschichte gibt zugleich Aufschluss über die Paradoxie der Lyrik, mit den Mitteln der Poesie lesbar zu machen, was notwendig unlesbar bleiben muss, und dem universalen Labyrinth auf diese Weise eine partikulare Ordnung abzuringen. Dabei sind die Übergänge zwischen der Dichterin und der Essayistin Christensen fließend: So wie lyrische Figuren und Motive ihren Essays eine eigene Dichte geben, kehren Gedankenfiguren und Ideenkonfigurationen in den Gedichten als organischer Bestandteil wieder.


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Azorno. Roman. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. S. Fischer, Frankfurt am Main 1972 und Kleinheinrich, Münster 1992
Alfabet/Alphabet (dänisch-deutsch). Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1988
Das gemalte Zimmer. Eine Erzählung aus Mantua. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster [1] und Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main [2] 1989 [1], 1996 [2]
Brief im April. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1990
Gedicht vom Tod. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1991
Teil des Labyrinths. Essays. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 1995
Das Schmetterlingstal. Ein Requiem/Sommerfugledalen. Et requiem (dänisch-deutsch). Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster [1], Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main [2] 1995 [1], 1998 [2]
Ein chemisches Gedicht zu Ehren der Erde. Auswahl ohne Anfang ohne Ende. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Herausgegeben von Peter Waterhouse, Residenz Verlag, Salzburg 1997
Der Geheimniszustand und das "Gedicht vom Tod". Essays. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Carl Hanser Verlag, München/Wien 1999
Det/Das (dänisch-deutsch). Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Kleinheinrich, Münster 2002
Massenhaft Schnee für die darbenden Schafe. Ein Hörspiel. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2002
Graes/Gras: vierzehn frühe Gedichte, dänisch-deutsch. Aus dem Dänischen von Hanns Grössel. Detmold, Literaturbüro Ostwestfalen-Lippe e.V. 2005
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesung mit Inger Christensen - Moderation: Aris Fioretos

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK