Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Memo Anjel (José Guillermo Ángel) was born in Medellín, Columbia, as the child of Algerian immigrants in 1954. He regards writing as an existential activity, something that helps him to analyse himself and to recognise the nature of others, in order to look deeply at the meaning of tolerance and life itself. According to Anjel, only the necessary knowledge of what surrounds us enables us to survive at all and to give our existence sufficient transparency.

Besides his literary oeuvre, Anjel has worked for 16 years as a professor of social communication at the Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana in Medellín. In addition to this, every week he writes the column "Cartas dispersas" for the daily newspaper El Colombiano. During his stay in Berlin he wrote the column in the form of letters to German intellectual greats and stars such as Albert Einstein, Jacob Grimm, Marlene Dietrich or Max Schmeling. In 1991, he was one of the founders of the Café Literario in Medellín.

It is impossible to find the widespread image of Columbia as a country at civil war, full of violence and drug-dealing in Anjel's books – and this is a conscious decision. We search for it in vain in his novel "The Crazy Year", for example. Instead, the reader experiences the everyday moments of happiness and the domestic catastrophes of a Sephardic family of ten in Medellín during the 50s from the viewpoint of a 13-year-old boy – the interplay of expectations, disappointments and fulfilment centred around one great dream: a journey to the city of gold, Jerusalem. Anjel's narrative art is characterised by his way of permitting events to follow on from each other at a sometimes breath-taking speed, but on the other hand he breathes life into his characters in a fond, even tender way. "In a climate of complete destruction, happiness still sets out its traps – and literature must be about those free spaces."

Anjel is one of a group of modern Columbian authors who no longer think and write in a specifically Columbian, but rather universal way. "All over the world, people have similar experiences ? whether they live in Columbia or Germany: they have a family, work, suffer, and experience the same tragedies, war and emigration."

Anjel has made an intense study of Jewish classics, and in many of his works he examines his own Sephardic history and the question of what it means to be a Sephardic Jew in today's culture of assimilation. He has written several essays on the contribution of Arabic culture to the development of occidental civilisation and the role of Jewish culture and history in contemporary literary and philosophical ideas.


Print
Publications in German Translation
Das meschuggene Jahr. Translated by Erich Hackl and Peter Schultze-Kraft Rotpunktverlag, Zurich 2005
Published by DAAD
Geschichten vom Fenstersims 2007
Events by DAAD
"Geschichten vom Fenstersims"

"Wahlheimat Berlin" - Das meschuggene Jahr -

Memo Anjel (Kolumbien). LESUNG UND GESPRÄCH. Neue Literaturen: Nächstes Jahr in Jerusalem! Ein Traum im kolumbianischen Medelln.

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Memo Anjel (José Guillermo Ángel) wurde 1954 in Medellín, Kolumbien, als Kind algerischer Einwanderer geboren. Er sagt von sich selbst, dass Schreiben eine essentielle Tätigkeit für ihn sei, etwas, das ihm dazu dient, sich mit sich selbst auseinanderzusetzen und das Wesen des Anderen zu erkennen, um den Sinn der Toleranz und des Lebens zu ergründen. Denn, so Anjel, erst die notwendige Kenntnis dessen, was uns umgibt, erlaubt uns überhaupt zu leben und unser Dasein mit Transparenz zu erfüllen.

Neben der Arbeit an seinem literarischen Werk ist Anjel seit 16 Jahren als Professor für Soziale Kommunikation an der Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana in Medellín tätig. Darüber hinaus schreibt er jede Woche die Kolumne "Cartas dispersas" für die Tageszeitung El Colombiano. Während seines Berlinaufenthalts schrieb er die Kolumne in Form von Briefen an deutsche Geistesgrößen und Stars wie etwa Albert Einstein, Jacob Grimm, Marlene Dietrich oder Max Schmeling. 1991 war er einer der Gründer des Café Literario in Medellín.

Das weithin verbreitete Bild von Kolumbien als einem Land im Bürgerkrieg, voller Gewalt und Drogenhandel, findet sich in Anjels Büchern ganz bewusst nicht. So etwa in seinem Roman "Das meschugge Jahr", in dem der Leser aus der Sicht eines 13-jährigen Jungen die täglichen Glücksmomente und häuslichen Katastrophen einer zehnköpfigen sephardischen Familie im Medellín der 50er Jahre miterlebt – ein Wechselspiel von Erwartungen, Enttäuschungen und Erfüllung rund um einen großen Traum: eine Reise in die Stadt aus Gold, Jerusalem. Anjels Erzählkunst zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass er einerseits die Ereignisse in manchmal atemlos schnellem Tempo aufeinander folgen lässt, andererseits liebevoll und geradezu zärtliche seine Figuren zu Leben erweckt. "In einem Klima der völligen Zerstörung legt das Glück Fallen aus – und die Literatur muss von diesen Freiräumen erzählen."

Anjel zählt sich zu einer Gruppe moderner kolumbianischer Schriftsteller, die nicht mehr spezifisch kolumbianisch, sondern universal denken und schreiben. "Menschen machen weltweit ähnliche Erfahrungen ? ob sie in Kolumbien oder Deutschland leben: Sie haben Familie, arbeiten, leiden, erleben die gleichen Tragödien, Krieg und Emigration."

Anjel hat sich intensiv mit jüdischen Klassikern beschäftigt und geht in vielen seiner Werke seiner eigenen sephardischen Geschichte und der Frage nach, was es bedeutet, in der heutigen Assimilationskultur ein sephardischer Jude zu sein. Von ihm liegen mehrere Essays über den Beitrag der arabischen Kultur zur Entwicklung der abendländischen Zivilisation sowie zur Rolle der jüdischen Kultur und Geschichte im zeitgenössischen literarischen und philosophischen Denken vor.


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Das meschuggene Jahr. Übersetzt von Erich Hackl und Peter Schultze-Kraft Rotpunktverlag, Zürich 2005
Veröffentlichungen beim DAAD
Geschichten vom Fenstersims 2007
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
"Geschichten vom Fenstersims"

"Wahlheimat Berlin" - Das meschuggene Jahr -

Memo Anjel (Kolumbien). LESUNG UND GESPRÄCH. Neue Literaturen: Nächstes Jahr in Jerusalem! Ein Traum im kolumbianischen Medelln.

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK