Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Juri Andruchowytsch was born in Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine, in 1960. He has been known to a wider audience in Germany since the publication of a translation of his essay collection "Das letzte Territorium" (The Last Territory, 2003) and has made a remarkably successful impression in the German-language feature pages. In a refreshing tone, free of nostalgia, with colourful details, sometimes angry, sometimes ironic, he describes the post-Soviet reality of the Ukraine in the lucid, linguistically brilliant essays of this "poetic non-fiction book" with historical depth: Lvov and Kiev; his home town, the once Galician Stanislau; general traces of ruined Galicia; visible and invisible borders that run through a country on which masses of people have turned their backs to pursue the promises of the West in recent years.

In the Ukraine, Andruchowytsch's poetry and novels have already made him into a classic writer of contemporary literature. In 1985, the year he published his first book, a collection of poetry entitled "The Sky and the Fields", he founded the group "Bu-Ba-Bu" together with Viktor Neborak and Oleksandr Irvaniets, which has had considerable influence on Ukrainian literature. From 1989 to 1991, he studied at the Moscow Institute of Literature Maxim Gorki. Following this period in Moscow, he worked for five years as co-editor of the Magazine for Text and Vision Tschetwer. In addition, Andruchowytsch founded the Internet journal Train 76, which owes its name to that of a railway route that connected large areas of Europe before the First World War. In 2004, he published "Mein Europa" in German; a double portrait of a landscape – together with the Polish writer Andrzej Stasiuk – which they have travelled through and in which they live: Central Europe.

Juri Andruchowytsch has received numerous awards, incl. the Leipzig Book Prize for European Understanding 2006.

"Juri Andruchowytsch ... writes in such an exciting, far-ranging way about his home country that we are horrified by our own provincialism." (Ilma Rakusa, Neue Zürcher Zeitung)


Print
Publications in German Translation
Links, wo das Herz schlägt, in: Letzter Besuch in Tschernobyl. Ukrainische Erzähler der Gegenwart. Selected and translated by Anna-Halja Horbatsch. Kranichfeld, Marburg 1994
Spurensuche im Juli. Translated from the Ukrainian by Anna-Halja Horbatsch. Brodina Verlag, Reichelsheim 1995
Stanislau. Translated by Alois Woldan, in: Europa erlesen. Galizien. Edited by Stefan Simonek and Alois Woldan. Wieser, Klagenfurt 1998
Mittelöstliches Memento. Translated from the Polish by Martin Pollack, in: Transit. Europäische Revue, No. 20 2000/2001
Das letzte Territorium. Essays. Translated from the Ukrainian by Alois Woldan. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2003
Mein Europa. Zwei Essays über das so genannte Mitteleuropa, (together with Andrzej Stasiuk). Translated from the Ukrainian by Sofia Onufriv and from the Polish by Martin Pollack. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2004
Zwölf Ringe. Translated from the Ukrainian by Sabine Stöhr. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2005
Moscoviada. Translated from the Ukranian by Sabine Stöhr. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Events by DAAD
"Prosa ist Gehen, aber Lyrik ist Tanzen." (Paul Valéry)

"Moskoviada"

Moderation: Peter von Becker Streifzüge durch die Bibliothek und andere Benjaminaden



Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Juri Andruchowytsch wurde 1960 in Iwano-Frankiwsk, Ukraine, geboren. Spätestens seit der Veröffentlichung der deutschen Übersetzung seiner Essaysammlung "Das letzte Territorium" (2003) ist er auch hierzulande einem breiteren Publikum bekannt und hat einen beeindruckenden Siegeszug durch die deutschsprachigen Feuilletons angetreten. Erfrischend im Ton, frei von Nostalgie, farbig im Detail, mal wütend, mal ironisch beschreibt er in den luziden, sprachlich brillanten Essays seines "poetischen Sachbuchs" mit historischem Tiefgang die postsowjetische Realität der Ukraine: Lemberg und Kiew, seine Heimatstadt, das vormals galizische Stanislau, die Spuren des untergegangenen Galiziens insgesamt, sichtbare und unsichtbare Grenzen, die durch ein Land verlaufen, dem in den letzten Jahren die Menschen in Scharen den Rücken gekehrt haben, um den Verheißungen des Westens zu folgen.

In der Ukraine ist Andruchowytsch mit seiner Lyrik und seinen Romanen bereits zu einem Klassiker der Gegenwartsliteratur geworden. 1985, dem Jahr seiner ersten Buchveröffentlichung, einer Gedichtsammlung mit dem Titel "Der Himmel und die Felder", gründete er mit Viktor Neborak und Oleksandr Irvaniets die für die ukrainische Literatur einflussreiche Gruppe "Bu-Ba-Bu". Von 1989 bis 1991 studierte er am Moskauer Literaturinstitut Maxim Gorki. Im Anschluss an seine Moskauer Zeit arbeitete er fünf Jahre als Ko-Redakteur der Zeitschrift für Text und Vision Tschetwer. Andruchowytsch gründete darüber hinaus das Internetjournal Zug 76, das seinen Namen einer Bahnstrecke verdankt, die vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg große Teile Osteuropas miteinander verband. 2004 erschien auf deutsch "Mein Europa", das mit dem polnischen Schriftsteller Andrzej Stasiuk verfasste Doppelportrait einer Landschaft, die sie gemeinsam bereist haben und in der sie leben: Mitteleuropa.

Juri Andruchowytsch erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u.a. den Leipziger Buchpreis zur Europäischen Verständigung 2006.

"Juri Andruchowytsch ... schreibt so spannend-weltläufig über seine Heimat, dass wir über unsere eigene Provinzialität erschrecken." (Ilma Rakusa, Neue Zürcher Zeitung)


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Links, wo das Herz schlägt, in: Letzter Besuch in Tschernobyl. Ukrainische Erzähler der Gegenwart. Ausgewählt und Übersetzung von Anna-Halja Horbatsch. Kranichfeld, Marburg 1994
Spurensuche im Juli. Aus dem Ukrainischen von Anna-Halja Horbatsch. Brodina Verlag, Reichelsheim 1995
Stanislau. Übersetzt von Alois Woldan, in: Europa erlesen. Galizien. Herausgegeben von Stefan Simonek und Alois Woldan. Wieser, Klagenfurt 1998
Mittelöstliches Memento. Aus dem Polnischen von Martin Pollack, in: Transit. Europäische Revue, Nr. 20 2000/2001
Das letzte Territorium. Essays. Aus dem Ukrainischen von Alois Woldan. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2003
Mein Europa. Zwei Essays über das so genannte Mitteleuropa, (gemeinsam mit Andrzej Stasiuk). Aus dem Ukrainischen von Sofia Onufriv und aus dem Polnischen von Martin Pollack. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2004
Zwölf Ringe. Aus dem Ukrainischen von Sabine Stöhr. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2005
Moscoviada. Aus dem Ukrainischen von Sabine Stöhr. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
"Prosa ist Gehen, aber Lyrik ist Tanzen." (Paul Valéry)

"Moskoviada"

Moderation: Peter von Becker Streifzüge durch die Bibliothek und andere Benjaminaden



Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK