Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Petr Borkovec was born in Lou?ovice pod Blaníkem in Central Bohemia in 1970. He lives and works as a poet, translator (including Russian poetry and ancient drama) and cultural editor in ?ernošice near Prague. Like no other young poet of his generation, the critics concede his sovereign use of traditional poetic means and early development of a characteristic voice, which represents an independent successor to some of the most important lyric poetry of the 20th century – DIE ZEIT concludes: "This is a young Prague poet of quiet perfection".

In 1995, Petr Borkovec received the acclaimed Ji?í Orten Prize, as well as the Hubert Burda Prize and Norbert C. Kaser Prize in 2002. In 2003, Borkovec was lecturer in poetics at the TU Dresden. Since 1990, he has presented seven volumes of poetry: "Prostírání do tichého" (Expansion into Silence, Prague, 1990), "Pousterna, vestírna, loutkárna" (Hermitage, Place of the Oracle, Doll's Shed, Prague 1991), "Ochoz" (Dealings, Prague, 1994), "Mezi oknem, stolem a postelí" (Between Window, Table and Bed, Prague, 1996), "Polní práce" (Field Work, Prague, 1998), "Needle-Book" (Nadelbuch, Prag, 2003).

Two volumes of selected verse are available in German: "Aus drei Büchern" (1995) and "Überfuhr" (1996), which appeared as bibliophile prints by the book workshop Thanhäuser in Ottensheim an der Donau. In 2001, also translated by Christa Rothmeier, the Edition Korrespondenzen published the volume of poetry "Feldarbeit", a 90s diary of the periphery of Prague with its prefabricated estates and the suburb of villas ?ernošice, where the author lives. "Nadelbuch" (2004) is a subtle approach to the world of his mother and grandmothers.

In a quiet and succinct way, Borkovec uses his poems to document the period of radical change in the suburbs of Prague. He creates precarious snapshots of the everyday, according to Ilma Rakusa, and morbid magic overlays the concrete world. While Borkovec tells of everyday objects and private spaces, he simultaneously takes an analytical look at the modern interior of Europe: the world appears as an interim realm in a state of decay, glossed over by a unique poetic language.

"Petr Borkovec from Prague is a poet who sets out to express unimagined but imaginable worlds in language. He is one of those quiet writers who evades the demanding press of the world's roar and descends to inner worlds. Unerringly, he searches for a language that gives voice to the soul. This poetry is like something that has fallen out of our time, for it only feels a responsibility towards its own, inner time." (Salzburger Nachrichten)

Borkovec's poems from the years 1990 to 1996 are available in the volume "Fünfter November und andere Tage" (The Fifth of November and other Days, 2006). The roving lyric I traverses a village world, but this is far from being a Romantic idyll – it is an inhospitable, monotonous landscape in which houses, towers and trees point to the sky in an alien manner: "No more, nothing familiar, rain again."

"Petr Borkovec is not a relaxed expert in rhetoric or a waster of words, but a lyricist of concentrated eloquence." (FAZ)


Print
Publications in German Translation
Aus drei Büchern. Translated from the Czech by Christa Rothmeier. Buchwerkstatt Thanhäuser, Ottensheim an der Donau 1995
Überfuhr. Translated from the Czech by Christa Rothmeier. Buchwerkstatt Thanhäuser, Ottensheim an der Donau 1996
Feldarbeit. Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2001
Feldarbeit (CD). Petr Borkovec and Otto Sander read Petr Borkovec. Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2001
Nadelbuch. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2004
Fünfter November und andere Tage. Gedichte 1990-1996. Translated from the Czech by Christa Rothmeier. Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2005
Amselfassade. Berlin-Notate. Prosa und Gedichte. Translated from the Czech by Christa Rothmeier. Friedenauer Presse, Berlin 2006
Publications in English Translation
Features in "Trafika: An International Literary Review. No. 3 – Summer 1994" 1994
Events by DAAD
"Prosa ist Gehen, aber Lyrik ist Tanzen." (Paul Valéry)

Lesungen von Daniel B?nilescu, Petr Borkovec, Gianni Celati, Feng Li, Amanda Michalopoulou, Ottó Tolnai, Filmgespräch mit László Garaczi

Gedichte aus aller Welt - mit Daniel B?nilescu (Rumänien), Øyvind Berg (Norwegen), Petr Borkovec (Tschechien), Laura Erber (Brasilien), Sylvana Franzetti (Argentinien), John Koethe (USA). Moderation: Knut Elstermann

"Von ihrem Schwarz träumen Steppe und Schrift." Im Wartesaal eines unbekannten Bahnhofs.

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Petr Borkovec, geboren 1970 in Lou?ovice pod Blaníkem in Mittelböhmen, lebt als Dichter, Übersetzer (u.a. russischer Lyrik und antiker Dramen) und Kulturredakteur in ?ernošice bei Prag. Wie keinem anderen Autor seiner Generation wird ihm von der Kritik die souveräne Handhabung tradierter dichterischer Mittel und die frühzeitige Entwicklung einer markanten Stimme bescheinigt, die auf eigenständige Weise in der Nachfolge der bedeutendsten Lyrik des 20. Jahrhunderts steht – so urteilt DIE ZEIT: "Ein junger Prager Dichter von stiller Perfektion".

Petr Borkovec erhielt 1995 den renommierten Ji?í-Orten-Preis sowie 2002 den Hubert-Burda-Preis und den Norbert-C.-Kaser-Preis. 2003 hatte Borkovec die Poetikdozentur an der TU Dresden inne. Seit 1990 hat Borkovec sieben Gedichtbände vorgelegt: "Prostírání do tichého" (Ausbreitung ins Stille, Prag, 1990), "Pousterna, vestírna, loutkárna (Eremitage, Orakelstätte, Puppenremise, Prag 1991), "Ochoz" (Umgang, Prag, 1994), "Mezi oknem, stolem a postelí (Zwischen Fenster, Tisch und Bett, Prag, 1996), "Polní práce (Feldarbeit, Prag, 1998), "Needle-Book" (Nadelbuch, Prag, 2003).

Auf Deutsch liegen die zweisprachigen Auswahlbände "Aus drei Büchern" (1995) und "Überfuhr" (1996) vor, die als bibliophile Drucke in der Buchwerkstatt Thanhäuser in Ottensheim an der Donau erschienen. 2001 erschien, ebenfalls von Christa Rothmeier übersetzt, bei der Edition Korrespondenzen der Gedichtband "Feldarbeit", ein Tagebuch aus den 90er Jahren aus dem Prag der Peripherie mit seinen Plattenbausiedlungen und dem Villenvorort ?ernošice, wo der Autor wohnt. "Nadelbuch" (2004) ist eine subtile Annäherung an die Welt der Mutter und der Großmütter.

Leise und lakonisch dokumentiert Borkovec in seinen Gedichten die Zeit des Umbruchs in den Prager Vorstädten. Er macht prekäre Momentaufnahmen des Alltäglichen, so Ilma Rakusa, und über die Dingwelt legt sich dabei ein morbider Zauber. Während Borkovec von alltäglichen Gegenständen und privaten Räumen erzählt, wirft er zugleich einen sezierenden Blick in das modernde Interieur Europas: Die Welt erscheint als Zwischenreich im Zustand des Verfalls, überzogen vom Firnis einer eigenwilligen dichterischen Sprache.

"Petr Borkovec aus Prag ist ein Lyriker, der sich auf den Weg macht, um die ungeahnten, ahnbaren Welten in Sprache zu bringen. Er ist einer jener Stillen, der sich dem fordernden Andrang des Welt-Getöses entzieht und in Innenwelten hinabsteigt. Unbeirrbar sucht er eine Sprache, um die Seele zum Klingen zu bringen. Diese Lyrik wirkt wie aus unserer Zeit gefallen, weil sie sich nur ihrer eigenen, inneren Zeit verpflichtet fühlt." (Salzburger Nachrichten)

Borkovecs Gedichte aus den Jahren 1990 bis 1996 liegen in dem Band "Fünfter November und andere Tage" (2006) vor. Der lyrische Spaziergänger durchwandert eine Dorfwelt, doch bei weitem keine romantische Idylle, sondern eine unwirtliche, monotone Landschaft, in der Häuser, Türme, Bäume fremd zum Himmel ragen: "Mehr nicht, nichts Anvertrautes, abermals Regen."

"Petr Borkovec ist kein lockerer Rhetoriker oder Wortverschwender, eher ein Lyriker der gedrängten Prägnanz." (FAZ)


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Aus drei Büchern. Aus dem Tschechischen von Christa Rothmeier. Buchwerkstatt Thanhäuser, Ottensheim an der Donau 1995
Überfuhr. Aus dem Tschechischen von Christa Rothmeier. Buchwerkstatt Thanhäuser, Ottensheim an der Donau 1996
Feldarbeit. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2001
Feldarbeit (CD). Petr Borkovec und Otto Sander lesen Petr Borkovec. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2001
Nadelbuch. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2004
Fünfter November und andere Tage. Gedichte 1990-1996. Aus dem Tschechischen von Christa Rothmeier. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2005
Amselfassade. Berlin-Notate. Prosa und Gedichte. Aus dem Tschechischen von Christa Rothmeier. Friedenauer Presse, Berlin 2006
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
"Prosa ist Gehen, aber Lyrik ist Tanzen." (Paul Valéry)

Lesungen von Daniel B?nilescu, Petr Borkovec, Gianni Celati, Feng Li, Amanda Michalopoulou, Ottó Tolnai, Filmgespräch mit László Garaczi

Gedichte aus aller Welt - mit Daniel B?nilescu (Rumänien), Øyvind Berg (Norwegen), Petr Borkovec (Tschechien), Laura Erber (Brasilien), Sylvana Franzetti (Argentinien), John Koethe (USA). Moderation: Knut Elstermann

"Von ihrem Schwarz träumen Steppe und Schrift." Im Wartesaal eines unbekannten Bahnhofs.

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK