Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Karim Aïnouz was born in 1966 in Fortaleza, Brazil. After studying Architecture at the University of Brasilia and Film Studies at New York University, Karim Aïnouz participated in the Independent Study Program of the Whitney Museum of American Art in 1993. From 1989 to 1992, he worked on various feature film projects as assistant to the director Todd Haynes, and from 1992 to 1996 he was an assistant editor in the production of more than 20 feature films. He is co-author of the film "Behind the Sun" (2001) by Walter Salles. In 1992, Aïnouz began to devote himself to his own film projects. He has received numerous promotional awards and fellowships, including from the highly-regarded Hubert Bals Fonds (Netherlands), the New York Foundation for the Arts (USA) and the Fundação Itaú Cultural (Brazil). His documentary film "Seams" (1993) received the Vito Russo Award of the New Festival in New York, his short film "Paixão Nacional" (1994) was shown at festivals including Oberhausen, Rotterdam, Vancouver, Porto and Montreal.

Aïnouz' first feature film "Madame Satã" (2002) marked his breakthrough as a director. The film about the eccentric dancer, singer and transvestite João Francisco dos Santos was premiered at the Cannes Film Festival in the section "Un certain regard" and received awards as the best film and major prizes for direction at numerous international festivals (incl. Chicago, Huelva/Spain, Sao Paulo, Biarritz).

During his time in Berlin in 2004, Karim Aïnouz devoted himself (alongside work on his diary of photos and video notes) primarily to the screenplay for "Cidade Baixa", filmed under the same title by the Brazilian director Sergio Machado. The film is about two best friends, Deco and Naldinho, who both fall in love with the stripper Karinna and thus putting their friendship at risk. "Cidade Baixa" was once again premiered at the film festival in Cannes in the series "Un certain regard".

Together with the Brazilian director and DAAD fellowship-holder 2007, Marcelo Gomes, Aïnouz wrote the screenplay for the latter's road movie "Cinema, aspirinas et urubus" (2005), which also enjoyed a successful premiere at the Cannes Film Festival in the same year. In 2006 the feature film "Suely in the Sky" was selected to compete at the Venice Film Festival. Karim Aïnouz lives in Brazil.


Print
Filmography
Le Ballon de Bairros (short film/TV feature, 26 min) 1988
O Preso (short film, 19 min) 1992
Seams (documentary, 29 min) 1993
Paixão Nacional (short film, 9 min, 16mm) 1994
Rifa-me (short film, 28 min, 35mm) 2002
Madame Satã (feature film, 105 min) 2002
Hic habitat Felicitas (feature film, 36 min, 16mm) 2003
Cidade Baixa (screenplay) 2005
Cinema, aspirinas et urubus (screenplay) 2005
Suely in the Sky (Spielfilm) 2006
Events by DAAD
das Kino Arsenal und das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD präsentieren Filme von Karim Ainous (Brasilien)

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Karim Aïnouz wurde 1966 in Fortaleza in Brasilien geboren. Nach dem Studium der Architektur an der Universität von Brasilia und der Filmwissenschaft an der New York University nahm Karim Aïnouz 1993 am Independent Study Program des Whitney Museum of American Art teil. Zwischen 1989 und 1992 arbeitete er als Assistent des Regisseurs Todd Haynes an verschiedenen Spielfilmprojekten, zwischen 1992 und 1996 war er als Assistant Editor an der Produktion von mehr als 20 Spielfilmen beteiligt. Er ist Co-Autor des Films "Behind the Sun" (2001) von Walter Salles. 1992 widmete sich Aïnouz der Arbeit an eigenen Filmprojekten. Er erhielt zahlreiche Förderungen und Stipendien, u.a. des renommierten Hubert Bals Fonds (Niederlande), der New York Foundation for the Arts (USA) und der Fundação Itaú Cultural (Brasilien). Sein Dokumentarfilm "Seams" (1993) wurde mit dem Vito Russo Award des New Festival in New York ausgezeichnet, sein Kurlfilm "Paixão Nacional" (1994) lief u.a. auf den Festivals von Oberhausen, Rotterdam, Vancouver, Porto und Montreal.

Aïnouz’ erster eigener Spielfilm "Madame Satã" (2002) bedeutete seinen Durchbruch als Regisseur. Der Film über den exzentrischen Tänzer, Sänger und Transvestiten João Francisco dos Santos erlebte seine Uraufführung bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes in der Sektion "Un certain regard" und wurde auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals (u.a. Chicago, Huelva/Spanien, Sao Paulo, Biarritz) zum Besten Film gekürt bzw. mit den Hauptpreisen für Regie ausgezeichnet.

Während seines Berlinaufenthalts 2004 widmete sich Karim Aïnouz neben seinem Fototagebuch vor allem der Arbeit an dem Drehbuch "Cidade Baixa", das der brasilianische Regisseur Sergio Machado unter demselben Titel verfilmte. Der Film handelt von den besten Freunden Deco und Naldinho, die sich beide in die Stripperin Karinna verlieben und damit ihre Freundschaft aufs Spiel setzen. "Cidade Baixa" wurde beim Filmfestival in Cannes erneut in der Reihe "Un certain regard" uraufgeführt.

Zusammen mit dem brasilianischen Regisseur und DAAD-Gast des Jahres 2007, Marcelo Gomes, verfasste Aïnouz das Drehbuch zu dessen Roadmovie "Cinema, Aspirinas et Urubus" (2005), das im selben Jahr ebenfalls bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes erfolgreich Premiere feierte. 2006 wurde Aïnouz’ Spielfilm "Suely in the Sky" beim Filmfestival in Venedig gezeigt. Karim Aïnouz lebt in Brasilien.

Print
Filmografie
Le Ballon de Bairros (Kurzfilm, 26 min) 1988
O Preso (Kurzfilm, 19 min) 1992
Seams (Dokumentarfilm, 29 min) 1993
Paixão Nacional (Kurzfilm, 9 min, 16mm) 1994
Rifa-me (Kurzfilm, 28 min, 35mm) 2002
Madame Satã (Spielfilm, 105 min 2002
Hic Habitat Felicitas (Spielfilm, 36 min, 16mm) 2003
Cidade Baixa (Drehbuch) 2005
Cinema, Aspirinas et Urubus (Drehbuch) 2005
Suely in the Sky (Spielfilm) 2006
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
das Kino Arsenal und das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD präsentieren Filme von Karim Ainous (Brasilien)

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK