Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Feng Li was born in Shenyang, China, in 1963. She studied Chinese language and literature and lives and works as a freelance writer in Beijing.

From 1985 to 1990, she worked as a journalist for the Lhasa Evening Paper in Tibet. After her return to China, she worked for seven years as an academic assistant at the Liaoning Research Institute for Art, focusing on dramatic theory. In addition, as a director for the women's channel of Chinese television, she produced documentary portraits of women between 1995 and 1998. Following this she worked as an editor and translated a series of children's books by Janosch into Chinese.

She wrote her first stories during her time in Tibet. In reference to Astrid Lindgren's heroine Pipi Langstrumpf, she publishes her texts under the pseudonym Pipi. Employing an unmistakable style of her own and quiet irony, she recounts everyday life in China – the individual search for happiness, problematic relationships or difficulties in the allocation of an apartment –, without joining the trend of westernisation in literature currently popular among young Chinese writers. However, her prose displays obvious influences from the period of change in which China has increasingly sought to open up its economy and culture.

Her novel "Kewang Jiqing" (1998; Thirst for Passion) received an award as a "nationally outstanding book". The ordered life of a middle-aged married couple leaves the rails when the man falls in love with another woman. A tragedy unfolds before the background of his striving for self-realisation and fulfilment in love, focusing on the issues of belonging together and the status of the family.

Print
Events by DAAD
Lesungen von Daniel B?nilescu, Petr Borkovec, Gianni Celati, Feng Li, Amanda Michalopoulou, Ottó Tolnai, Filmgespräch mit László Garaczi

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Feng Li wurde1963 in Shenyang, China, geboren. Sie studierte Chinesische Sprache und Literatur und lebt als freie Schriftstellerin in Beijing.

Von 1985 bis 1990 arbeitete sie als Journalistin für die Lhasa-Abendzeitung in Tibet. Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach China war sie sieben Jahre lang wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Liaoning Forschungsinstitut für Kunst mit dem Schwerpunkt Theatertheorie. Außerdem produzierte sie zwischen 1995 und 1998 als Regisseurin für das Frauenprogramm des chinesischen Fernsehens dokumentarische Porträts über Frauen. Anschließend arbeitete sie als Lektorin und übersetzte eine Reihe der Kinderbücher Janoschs ins Chinesische.

Während ihrer Zeit in Tibet schrieb sie erste Erzählungen. Ihre Texte veröffentlicht sie, in Anlehnung an Astrid Lindgrens Heldin Pipi Langstrumpf, unter dem Pseudonym Pipi. Mit einem unverkennbaren, eigenen Stil und mit leiser Ironie erzählt sie vom Alltag in China – von der individuellen Suche nach dem Glück, von problematischen Beziehungen oder den Schwierigkeiten bei der Wohnungsvergabe –, ohne sich dem derzeit unter jungen chinesischen Schriftstellern populären Trend zur Verwestlichung in der Literatur anzuschließen. In ihrer Prosa sind jedoch Einflüsse aus der Zeit des Wandels spürbar, in der sich China verstärkt dem Ziel einer wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Öffnung des Landes zuwandte.

Ihr Roman "Kewang Jiqing" (1998; Durst nach Leidenschaft) wurde als "national herausragendes Buch" ausgezeichnet. Das geordnete Leben eines Ehepaars im mittleren Alter gerät aus der Bahn, als sich der Mann in eine andere Frau verliebt. Vor dem Hintergrund des Strebens nach Selbstverwirklichung und Erfüllung in der Liebe entspinnt sich eine Tragödie, in deren Zentrum die Frage nach Zusammengehörigkeit und dem Stellenwert der Familie gestellt steht.


Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesungen von Daniel B?nilescu, Petr Borkovec, Gianni Celati, Feng Li, Amanda Michalopoulou, Ottó Tolnai, Filmgespräch mit László Garaczi

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK