Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Tomaž Šalamun was born in Zagreb, Yugoslavia, in 1941. He studied the history of art at the University of Ljubljana. In the 60s, he worked as a Concept- and Environment artist and experimented with language. Šalamun was a member of the multimedia group OHO-collective and participated in exhibitions in former Yugoslavia and in New York.

Rarely has a young man managed to alter the poetry of his country so radically and to challenge any kind of authority to the same extent as Šalamun. In 1964, as the editor of the literary magazine Perspektive, he was sentenced to 12 years imprisonment, but was released under international pressure after five days, so becoming a symbolic figure overnight. "Subsequently, I had to give absolutely everything to my poems, in order to justify this undeserved fame."

His first stay in America had a strong influence on Šalamun's writing, as did further periods abroad in Italy, France and Mexico during the eighties. As from 1971, he spent two years participating in the International Writing Program of the University of Iowa, and since then he has repeatedly returned to American universities as a guest professor. Besides his own work as an author, Šalamun has also translated works by W.C. Williams, Apollinaire, Wallace Stevens etc.

Šalamun's first volume of poetry "Poker" appeared in the underground in 1966 and marked a new beginning in post-war Slovenian poetry. To date, Šalamun has published more than 31 volumes of poetry, and his work has been translated into numerous languages. Šalamun refers to himself as a "monster", who investigates the monstrous nature of the human soul in writing, thereby exploding the boundaries and rules of his mother tongue. His poems combine the experimental and visionary aspects of European lyricism with the provocation and sobriety of North American poets.

His poetry of rebellion is a negation without a specific programme, an act of self-liberation and open searching. His poems are fast, playful, absurd, full of the present, but sometimes also tender and sensitive. Ultimately, it may be this diversity to which Šalamun owes his popularity in Slovenia. Witty, elegant and provocative, his poetry triggers a leap to the heart of the reader's own imagination, to the place where personal freedom unfolds and we are able to sense the sublime.


Print
Publications in German Translation
Ein Stengel Petersilie im Smoking. Translated from the Slovenian by Peter Urban. S. Fischer, Frankfurt am Main 1972
Wal. slowenisch-deutsch. Selected and translated by Fabjan Hafner. Droschl, Graz 1990
Vier Fragen der Melancholie. Slovenian-German. Translated from the Slovenian by Peter Urban. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2003
Aber das sind Ausnahmen. Translated from the Slovenian by Peter Urban. Edition Korrespondenzen (Extended new edition of Ein Stengel Petersilie im Smoking, 1972)
2004
Ballade für Metka Krasovec. Translated from the Slovenian by Fabjan Hafner. Edition Korrespondenzen, Vienna 2005
Lesen: Lieben. Gedichte aus vier Jahrzehnten. Translated from the Slovenian and with an epilogue by Fabjan Hafner. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Publications in English Translation
Turbines: Twenty-one poems. Windhover Press 1973
The Selected Poems of Tomaz Salamun. Ecco Pr 1991
The Shepherd, the Hunter. Pedernal 1992
Four Questions of Melancholy: New & Selected Poems. White Pine Press 1996
Homage to Hat, Uncle Guido and Eliot. ARC Publications 1998
Feast: Poems. Harcourt 2000
A Ballad for Metka Krasovec. Twisted Spoon Press 2001
Poker. Ugly Duckling Press 2004
Blackboards. With Metka Krasovec. Saturnalia Books 2004
The Book for My Brother. Harvest Books 2006
Events by DAAD
Lesung

Welttag der Poesie

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Tomaž Šalamun wurde 1941 in Zagreb, Jugoslawien, geboren. Er studierte Kunstgeschichte an der Universität von Ljubljana. In den 60er Jahren arbeitete er als Concept- und Environmentkünstler und experimentierte mit Sprache. Šalamun war Mitglied der multimedialen Gruppe OHO-Kollektiv und nahm an Ausstellungen im ehemaligen Jugoslawien wie auch in New York teil.

Selten hat ein junger Mann die Dichtung seines Landes so radikal umgestülpt und jedwede Autorität herausgefordert wie Šalamun. 1964 wurde er als Redakteur der Literaturzeitschrift Perspektive zu 12 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt, kam jedoch auf internationalen Druck nach fünf Tagen wieder frei und wurde über Nacht zu einer Symbolfigur. "In der Folge musste ich meinen Gedichten alles geben, um diesem unverdienten Ruhm gerecht zu werden."

Der erste Amerika-Aufenthalt beeinflusste Šalamuns Schreiben stark, ebenso wie die weiteren Auslandsaufenthalte in den achtziger Jahren in Italien, Frankreich und Mexiko. Ab 1971 nahm er zwei Jahre lang am International Writing Program der Universität Iowa teil und kehrt seit der Zeit immer wieder als Gastprofessor an amerikanische Universitäten zurück. Neben seiner eigenen schriftstellerischen Tätigkeit übersetzte Šalamun auch Werke von W.C. Williams, Apollinaire, Wallace Stevens u.a.

Šalamuns erster Lyrikband "Das Pokerspiel" erschien 1966 im Untergrund und markiert einen Neubeginn in der slowenischen Lyrik nach dem Krieg. Bis heute erschienen von Šalamun mehr als 31 Gedichtbände, sein Werk wurde in zahlreiche Sprachen übersetzt. Šalamun nennt sich selber ein "Ungeheuer", das im Schreiben das Ungeheuerliche der menschlichen Seele erkundet und dabei die Grenzen und Regeln seiner Muttersprache sprengt. Seine Gedichte verbinden das Experimentelle und Visionäre der europäischen Lyrik mit der Provokation und Nüchternheit der nordamerikanischen Dichter.

Seine Poetik der Rebellion ist eine Negation ohne Programm, ein Akt der Selbstbefreiung und offenen Suche. Schnell, spielerisch, absurd, gegenwartsprall sind seine Gedichte, zuweilen auch zärtlich und sensitiv. Es mag nicht zuletzt diese stilistische Vielfalt sein, der Šalamun seine Popularität in Slowenien verdankt. Witzig, elegant und provokant entsteht ein Sprung in die Mitte der eigenen Imagination, dort, wo sich persönliche Freiheit entfaltet und wo das Erhabene zu ahnen ist.


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Ein Stengel Petersilie im Smoking. Aus dem Slowenischen von Peter Urban. S. Fischer, Frankfurt am Main 1972
Wal. slowenisch-deutsch. Ausgewählt und übersetzt von Fabjan Hafner. Droschl, Graz 1990
Vier Fragen der Melancholie. slowenisch-deutsch. Aus dem Slowenischen von Peter Urban. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2003
Aber das sind Ausnahmen. Aus dem Slowenischen von Peter Urban. Edition Korrespondenzen (Ergänzte Neuauflage von "Ein Stengel Petersilie im Smoking", 1972) 2004
Ballade für Metka Krasovec. Aus dem Slowenischen von Fabjan Hafner. Edition Korrespondenzen, Wien 2005
Lesen: Lieben. Gedichte aus vier Jahrzehnten. Aus dem Slowenischen und mit einem Nachwort von Fabjan Hafner. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesung

Welttag der Poesie

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK