Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Olga Tokarczuk was born in Sulechow, Poland, in 1962. After studying psychology in Warsaw, she worked as a therapist for difficult children in Wroclaw until 1985. She lives in a lower Silesian village in Poland, close to the Czech border. Besides her work as a writer, Olga Tokarczuk is also a publisher and organises literary events, e.g. a short-story festival in Wroclaw.

Olga Tokarczuk is regarded as the most popular Polish author of the younger generation. The annalist of the Polish-Czech border area with its diverse Central European roots writes novels, stories and poems, and her books are equally successful with both critics and readers. Her debut novel "Prodroz ludzi ksiegi" (1993; The Journey of the Book People) received an award from the Society of Polish Publishing Houses as the best prose debut of the years 1992 and 1993. In 1995, she published the novel "E.E.". Olga Tokarczuk received the audience award of the Nike Prize for her third novel "Prawiek i inne czasy" (1997; Primordial and Other Ages) in 1997.

Publications in German include "Ur und andere Zeiten" (2000), the volume of stories "Der Schrank" (2000), the novels "Taghaus, Nachthaus" (2001) and "Letzte Geschichten" (2006), and most recently the volume of stories "Spiel auf vielen Trommeln" in the DAAD series "Spurensicherung" (2006). "Olga Tokarczuk tells her stories without surprising twists, but she finds sharp, moving images. (...) more stories about people on the verge of collapse – gripping, irritating, moving." (FOCUS)

And the weekly newspaper ZEIT wrote of "Taghaus, Nachthaus": "A house in the mountains, close to the Czech border. A first-person narrator and her old woman neighbour, who is full of stories; stories that are interwoven with the narrator's dreams and keep returning to this place near the border, where so many ages and destinies meet. In a poetically sensitive way, Olga Tokarczuk draws the reader into the spell of these events, so that occurrences and dreams that always appear subliminally familiar to us despite their strangeness lead to a kind of collective sub- and super-conscious, the pull of which it is difficult to evade. 'Taghaus, Nachthaus' is a great literary success, bringing together and illuminating the various dimensions of human existence."

Together with her translator Esther Kinsky, Olga Tokarczuk received the literary and translation award "Brücke Berlin" in 2002. As well as editions in German and French, to date her work has also appeared in Danish, Dutch, Czech, Spanish and Italian. "Where contemporary literature is generally degenerating into trivial chatter or (post-modern) sensationalist reflection", wrote Ilma Rakusa of "Ur und andere Zeiten", "Tokarczuk risks the timeless tone of fairy-tale. [...] As if in a dream, her metaphysical-animalist figures move among life's perils, simultaneously guilty and innocent."


Print
Publications in German Translation
Ur und andere Zeiten. Translated from the Polish by Esther Kinsky. Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2000
Der Schrank. Translated from the Polish by Esther Kinsky. DVA, Munich 2000
Taghaus, Nachthaus. Translated from the Polish by Esther Kinsky. DVA, Munich 2001
Spiel auf vielen Trommeln. Erzählungen. Translated from the Polish by Esther Kinsky. With an epilogue by Katharina Döbler. DAAD-Series Spurensicherung 16. Matthes & Seitz, Berlin 2006
Letzte Geschichten. Translated from the Polish by Esther Kinsky. DVA, Munich 2006
Publications in English Translation
House of Day, House of Night. Northwestern University Press 2003
Published by DAAD
Spiel auf vielen Trommeln 2006
Events by DAAD
Lesung

Marathon-Lesung

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Olga Tokarczuk wurde 1962 in Sulechow, Polen, geboren. Nach dem Studium der Psychologie in Warschau arbeitete sie bis 1985 als Therapeutin für schwer erziehbare Kinder in Breslau. Sie lebt in einem niederschlesischen Dorf in Polen nahe der tschechischen Grenze. Neben ihrer schriftstellerischen Tätigkeit ist Olga Tokarczuk auch als Verlegerin tätig und organisiert darüber hinaus Literaturveranstaltungen, z.B. ein Shortstory-Festival in Breslau.

Olga Tokarczuk gilt als die populärste polnische Autorin der jüngeren Generation. Die Chronistin des polnisch-tschechischen Grenzlandes mit seinen vielfältigen mitteleuropäischen Wurzeln schreibt Romane, Erzählungen und Gedichte, ihre Bücher sind bei Kritik wie Lesern gleichermaßen erfolgreich. Ihr Romandebüt "Prodroz ludzi ksiegi" (1993; Die Reise der Buchmenschen) wurde von der Gesellschaft der polnischen Buchverlage als bestes Prosadebüt der Jahre 1992 und 1993 ausgezeichnet. 1995 erschien der Roman "E.E.". Für ihren dritten Roman "Prawiek i inne czasy" (1997; Ur und andere Zeiten, 2000) erhielt Olga Tokarczuk 1997 Publikumspreis des Nike-Preis’.

In deutscher Sprache erschienen "Ur und andere Zeiten" (2000), der Erzählband "Der Schrank" (2000), die Romane "Taghaus, Nachthaus" (2001) und "Letzte Geschichten" (2006) sowie zuletzt der Erzählband "Spiel auf vielen Trommeln" in der DAAD-Reihe "Spurensicherung" (2006). "Ohne Knalleffekte erzählt Olga Tokarczuk, aber sie findet scharfe, berührende Bilder. ... weitere Geschichten über Menschen am Rande des Zusammenbruchs – packend, irritierend, anrührend." (FOCUS)

Über "Taghaus, Nachthaus" heißt es in der ZEIT: "Ein Haus in den Bergen nahe der tschechischen Grenze. Eine Ich-Erzählerin und ihre alte Nachbarin, die voller Geschichten steckt. Geschichten, die sich mit den Träumen der Erzählerin verweben und immer wieder an diesen Ort nahe der Grenze zurückfinden, wo sich Zeiten und Schicksale treffen. Poetisch einfühlsam zieht Olga Tokarczuk ihre Leser in den Bann der Geschehnisse, läßt Ereignisse und Träume, die uns bei aller Fremdheit immer auch untergründig bekannt erscheinen, in eine Art kollektives Unter- und Überbewußtsein münden, deren Sog man kaum entgehen kann. 'Taghaus, Nachthaus’ ist ein großer literarischer Wurf, der die verschiedenen Dimensionen der menschlichen Existenz zusammenführt und durchleuchtet."

Zusammen mit ihrer Übersetzerin Esther Kinsky erhielt Olga Tokarczuk 2002 den Literatur- und Übersetzerpreis "Brücke Berlin". Bisher erschienen außer in deutscher und französischer Sprache auch dänische, holländische, tschechische, spanische und italienische Ausgaben ihrer Bücher. "Wo die zeitgenössische Literatur gemeinhin in triviales Plappern oder in (postmodernen) Reflexionsfuror verfällt", schrieb Ilma Rakusa über "Ur und andere Zeiten", "riskiert Tokarczuk den zeitlosen Märchenton. [...] Wie im Traum bewegen sich ihre metaphysisch-animalischen Gestalten durch die Fährnisse des Lebens, schuldig-unschuldig zugleich."


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Ur und andere Zeiten. Aus dem Polnischen von Esther Kinsky. Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2000
Der Schrank. Aus dem Polnischen von Esther Kinsky. DVA, München 2000
Taghaus, Nachthaus. Aus dem Polnischen von Esther Kinsky. DVA, München 2001
Spiel auf vielen Trommeln. Erzählungen. Aus dem Polnischen von Esther Kinsky. Mit einem Nachwort von Katharina Döbler. DAAD-Reihe Spurensicherung 16. Matthes & Seitz, Berlin 2006
Letzte Geschichten. Aus dem Polnischen von Esther Kinsky. DVA, München 2006
Veröffentlichungen beim DAAD
Spiel auf vielen Trommeln 2006
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesung

Marathon-Lesung

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK