Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Lajos Parti Nagy was born in Szekszárd, Hungary, in 1953. After studying literature and history at the College of Education in Pécs, he first worked as a librarian and later became editor of the literary magazine Jelenkor. Since 1986, he has lived and worked as an independent author and translator in Budapest. Among other things, he has translated plays by Werner Schwab and Thomas Bernhard into Hungarian. At the end of the eighties, Parti Nagy turned increasingly to stories, novels, radio plays and drama alongside lyric poetry. In 1993, his first theatre play "Ibusár"" (Bahnstation Ibuschar, 2003) received a critics' award as best Hungarian drama. Like the play "Mauzóleum" (1994) and numerous dramatic works that he has translated or revised, it may be found frequently in the programmes of Hungarian and international theatres. At the beginning of the nineties, Part Nagy also wrote features for the literary magazine Magyar Napló.

Besides Parti Nagy's sparkling command of language and form (which make his works very difficult to translate), Zsófia Balla, Zsuzsanna Gahse, Péter Esterházy and other writer colleagues value his fine sense of humour. Another characteristic feature of Parti Nagy's work is his obsessive handling of everyday Hungarian language. He sees it as a lively reservoir, in which he observes a "baroque fermentation". In 1999, Part Nagy published a four-language volume of poetry (including German) entitled "Europink".

"Meines Helden Platz" appeared in 2005. In this novel, set in 1999, Parti Nagy reckons with the dictators of the century that is coming to a close. While the despotic cock pigeon Tubitza is striving for world rule, the protagonist and narrator – who does not live in Heroes' Square in Budapest by chance – falls into the hands of the movement "Pigeons Awake". This "piece from the madhouse of political fanaticism" is a "glowing parable of totalitarian systems" and promises "breathtaking reading, during which ones laughter regularly catches in ones throat" (Frankfurter Rundschau). Lajos Parti Nagy invents a specific language for political madness, and Terézia Mora has made an excellent translation into German of the outrageously, deeply funny nonsense voiced by this world-conquering fanatic.


Print
Publications in German Translation
Anderntags. Ungarisch-Deutsche Lyrikanthologie. Edited by Paul Kárpáti. Kirsten Gutke Verlag, Cologne 1996
Jahrbuch der Lyrik 1999/2000. C.H. Beck, Munich 1999
Ungarn von Montag bis Freitag Geschichten. Edited by György Dalos. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 1999
Europink. Viersprachige Ausgabe. German translation by Edit Baranyai. Jelenkor, Pécs 1999
Mausoleum. In: Theater aus Ungarn, 1999
Kettenbrücke. Ungarische Erzählungen der Gegenwart. dtv, Munich
1999
Meines Helden Platz. Translated from the Hungarian by Terézia Mora. Luchterhand, Munich 2005
Publications in English Translation
Budapest Lightscapes. Traduirex 2001
Events by DAAD
Lesung

"Lichtzeichnungen"

Marathon-Lesung

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Lajos Parti Nagy wurde 1953 in Szekszárd, Ungarn, geboren. Nach dem Studium der Literatur und Geschichte an der Pädagogischen Hochschule in Pécs arbeitete er zunächst als Bibliothekar, später war er Redakteur der Literaturzeitschrift Jelenkor. Seit 1986 lebt er als freier Schriftsteller und Übersetzer in Budapest. Er übertrug unter anderem Stücke von Werner Schwab und Thomas Bernhard ins Ungarische. Ende der achtziger Jahre wandte sich Parti Nagy neben der Lyrik zunehmend auch Erzählungen, Romane, Hörspiele und Dramen zu. 1993 wurde sein erstes Theaterstück "Ibusár" (Bahnstation Ibuschar, 2003) von der Kritik als bestes ungarisches Drama ausgezeichnet. Wie auch das Stück "Mauzóleum" (1994) und zahlreiche seiner Dramenübersetzungen und -bearbeitungen, findet es sich immer wieder auf den Spielplänen ungarischer wie auch internationaler Theater. Anfang der neunziger Jahre schrieb er Feuilletons für die Literaturzeitschrift Magyar Napló.

Zsófia Balla, Zsuzsanna Gahse, Péter Esterházy und andere Schriftstellerkollegen schätzen neben Parti Nagys sprühender Sprach- und Formkunst (die seine Werke schwer übersetzbar machen) vor allem seinen feinen Humor. Charakteristisch ist auch Parti Nagys obsessiver Umgang mit der ungarischen Alltagssprache. Sie ist ihm ein lebendiges Reservoir, in dem er eine "barocke Gärung" beobachtet. 1999 erschien ein viersprachiger Gedichtband (u.a. auch auf Deutsch) unter dem Titel "Europink".

"Meines Helden Platz" erschien 2005. In dem 1999 spielenden Roman zieht Parti Nagy die Summe der Diktaturen des zu Ende gehenden Jahrhunderts. Während der despotische Täuberich Tubitza nach der Weltherrschaft strebt, gerät der Protagonist und Erzähler, der nicht zufällig am Budapester Heldenplatz wohnt, in die Fänge der Bewegung "Erwachende Tauben". Das "Stück aus dem Tollhaus des politischen Fanatismus" ist eine "glänzende Parabel auf totalitäre Systeme" und verspricht eine "atemlose Lektüre, bei der einem das Lachen regelmäßig im Hals stecken bleibt" (Frankfurter Rundschau). Lajos Parti Nagy erfindet dem politischen Irrsinn eine eigene Sprache, und Terézia Mora hat das unerhört abgrundtief komische Gelaber der Welteroberungsfanatiker kongenial ins Deutsche übertragen.


Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Anderntags. Ungarisch-Deutsche Lyrikanthologie. Herausgegeben von Paul Kárpáti. Kirsten Gutke Verlag, Köln 1996
Jahrbuch der Lyrik 1999/2000. C.H. Beck, München 1999
Ungarn von Montag bis Freitag Geschichten. Herausgegeben von György Dalos. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 1999
Europink. Viersprachige Ausgabe. Deutsche Übersetzung von Edit Baranyai. Jelenkor, Pécs 1999
Mausoleum. In: Theater aus Ungarn, 1999
Kettenbrücke. Ungarische Erzählungen der Gegenwart. dtv, München
1999
Meines Helden Platz. Aus dem Ungarischen von Terézia Mora. Luchterhand, München 2005
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesung

"Lichtzeichnungen"

Marathon-Lesung

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK