Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Helen Lee was born in 1965 in Seoul, Korea, and grew up in Toronto, Canada. She studied English and Film Studies in Ontario, Toronto and New York before starting a course in Critical and Curatorial Studies at the Whitney Museum under Homi Bhabha and Benjamin Buchloh. In 1994 she worked as an assistant to the Canadian director Atom Egoyan on his film "Exotica", and in the same year completed her practical film training at the Canadian Film Centre, where she realised her first short films: "Sally’s Beauty Spot" (1990), a reflection on western notions of Asian femininity; "My Niagara" (1992), a Japanese-Canadian woman’s memories of her dead mother, and "Prey" (1995), the love story between a young woman from Korea and a shop-lifter. "Subrosa" (2000), Helen Lee’s fourth film, tells of a Canadian woman’s search for her mother in Korea.

Alongside her film work Helen Lee is also active in the field of Media Art. In 1992, she contributed to the collaborative installation "Those Fluttering Objects of Desire" with a three-minute sequence entitled "To Sir with Love", devoted to issues of sexuality, gender difference and race discrimination. The short video "M. Nourbese Philip" (1995), described by the artist herself as a "visual poem", is an homage to the poet of the same name. In "The Yoko Ono Project" (1996), Helen Lee recalls the multi-faceted artist and life partner of John Lennon using various forms of projection (film, video, slides).

Helen Lee’s films and video installations could be seen world-wide at international festivals and have received numerous prizes, including at the International Film Festival in Toronto. Here she also premiered her first full-length feature film, the romantic comedy "The Art of Woo" (2001), which was subsequently shown in cinemas.
In 2002, during her Berlin fellowship from the Artists’ Programme of the DAAD, Helen Lee worked on a screenplay based on the memoirs of her aunt, author In-Sook Kim. At the same time, she developed the video installation "Cleaving" (2002), which was premiered at the Werkleitz Biennial. Helen Lee lives in Toronto.

Print
Filmography (selection)
Sally’s Beauty Spot (short film, 12 min, 16mm) 1990
My Niagara (short film, 40 min, 16mm) 1992
Prey (short film, 26 min, 16mm) 1995
Subrosa (short film, 22 min, 35 mm) 2000
The Art of Woo (feature film, 97 min, 35 mm, digital video, colour) 2001
Cleaving (video installation) 2002
Info unter http://www.helenleefilm.com/
Events by DAAD
Carte Blanche für Helen Lee

Filmvorführung

Filmvorführung

Filmvorführung

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Helen Lee, geboren 1965 in Seoul, Korea, wuchs im kanadischen Toronto auf. Sie studierte Anglistik und Filmwissenschaft in Ontario, Toronto und New York, bevor sie am Whitney Museum bei Homi Bhabha und Benjamin Buchloh ein Studium in Critical and Curatorial Studies aufnahm. 1994 assistierte sie dem kanadischen Regisseur Atom Egoyan bei dessen Film "Exotica" und beendete im selben Jahr ihre praktische Filmausbildung am Canadian Film Centre, wo sie ihre ersten Kurzfilme realisierte: "Sally’s Beauty Spot" (1990), eine Reflexion über westliche Vorstellungen von asiatischer Weiblichkeit; "My Niagara" (1992), die Erinnerungen einer japanisch-kanadischen Frau an ihre verstorbene Mutter und "Prey" (1995), die Liebesgeschichte zwischen einer jungen Koreanerin und einem Ladendieb. "Subrosa" (2000), Helen Lees vierter Film, erzählt von der Suche einer kanadischen Frau nach ihrer Mutter in Korea.

Neben ihren Filmarbeiten ist Helen Lee auch auf dem Gebiet der Medienkunst tätig. 1992 trug sie zur Gemeinschaftsinstallation "Those Fluttering Objects of Desire" eine dreiminütige Sequenz mit dem Titel "To Sir With Love" bei, die sich Fragen der Sexualität, Geschlechterdifferenz und Rassendiskriminierung widmet. Das Kurzvideo "M. Nourbese Philip" (1995), von der Künstlerin selbst als "visual poem" bezeichnet, ist eine Hommage an den gleichnamigen Dichter. In "The Yoko Ono Project" erinnert Helen Lee unter Verwendung verschiedener Projektionsformen (Film, Video, Dias) (1996) an die vielseitige Künstlerin und Lebensgefährtin von John Lennon.

Helen Lees Filme und Videoinstallationen waren weltweit auf internationalen Festivals zu sehen und wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, u.a. beim Internationalen Filmfestival in Toronto. Dort feierte auch ihr erster abendfüllender Spielfilm Premiere, die Romantikkomödie "The Art of Woo" (2001), die anschließend im Kino zu sehen war.
2002, während ihres Berlinaufenthalts beim Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, arbeitete Helen Lee an einem Drehbuch, das auf den Memoiren ihrer Tante, der Schriftstellerin In-Sook Kim, basiert. Gleichzeitig entwickelte sie die Videoinstallation "Cleaving" (2002), die bei der Werkleitz Biennale uraufgeführt wurde. Helen Lee lebt in Toronto.

Print
Filmografie (Auswahl)
Sally’s Beauty Spot (Kurzfilm, 12 min, 16mm) 1990
My Niagara (Kurzfilm, 40 min, 16mm) 1992
Prey (Kurzfilm, 26 min, 16mm) 1995
Subrosa (Kurzfilm, 22 min, 35mm) 2000
The Art of Woo (Spielfilm, 97 min, 35 mm, Digital Video, Farbe) 2001
Cleaving (Videoinstallation) 2002
Info unter http://www.helenleefilm.com/
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Carte Blanche für Helen Lee

Filmvorführung

Filmvorführung

Filmvorführung

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK