Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Carlos Franz was born the child of Chilean diplomats in Geneva in 1959. He studied law and sociology in Chile and lived for some periods of time in the Argentine before returning to Chile.
He published his first novel "Santiago cero" in 1989. Two years before, the manuscript had already won the first prize in a Latin American Literature competition. In the jury’s statement, we read that "Santiago cero" is a book "that is deeply influenced by Chile’s recent history". As well as novels, Franz has also published several stories and worked as a journalist and critic for various newspapers and magazines. In addition, he was Professor of Literature at Georgetown University, Washington DC, and at the Universidad Diego Portales, Santiago de Chile.

Franz belongs to the authors’ movement Joven Narrativa Chilena (Young Chilean Narrative Art), the authors of which oppose pathos in prose writing by means of structured observation, an economy of expressive form, and a lack of artificial sentimentality or rhetoric. Despite a tone that is often gloomy, the authors of the Joven Narrativa Chilena have established a wide readership in Chile.
Franz was awarded the Premio Planeta for his novel "El lugar donde estuvo el Paraiso" (Where Paradise Was Once 1996), which centres on a dramatic family story before the impressive background of the Amazon.

"If it is true that politics and literature cannot be separated, then literature is my form of political action; or to put it more precisely – by writing, I exercise my inalienable right to protest in a sphere where there is no place for compromise."


Print
Publications in German Translation
Wo einst das Paradies war. Translated from the Spanish by Willy Zurbrüggen. Kiepenheuer & Witsch, Cologne 1999
Events by DAAD
Lesung

Marathon-Lesung

Lesung

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Carlos Franz wurde 1959 als Kind chilenischer Diplomaten in Genf geboren. Er studierte Jura und Soziologie in Chile und lebte zeitweise in Argentinien, bevor er nach Chile zurückkehrte.

Seinen ersten Roman "Santiago cero" veröffentlichte er 1989. Bereits zwei Jahre zuvor hatte er mit dem Manuskript den ersten Preis bei einem lateinamerikanischen Literaturwettbewerb gewonnen. In der Begründung der Jury hieß es, "Santiago cero" sei ein Buch, "das intensiv durch die jüngere Geschichte Chiles geprägt" ist. Neben Romanen hat Franz auch mehrere Erzählungen veröffentlicht und für verschiedene Zeitungen und Zeitschriften als Journalist und Kritiker gearbeitet. Zudem war er Professor für Literatur an der Georgetown University, Washington DC, und an der Universidad Diego Portales, Santiago de Chile.

Franz gehört der Schriftsteller-Bewegung Joven Narrativa Chilena (Junge chilenische Erzählkunst) an, deren Autoren mit durchkonstruierter Beobachtung, sparsamen Ausdrucksformen, ohne künstliche Sentimentalität oder Rhetorik dem Pathos in der Prosa begegnen. Trotz eines immer wieder auch düsteren Tons haben die Autoren der Joven Narrativa Chilena eine breite Leserschaft in Chile gefunden.

Sein Roman "El lugar donde estuvo el Paraiso" (1996; Wo einst das Paradies war, 1999), in dessen Zentrum eine dramatische Familiengeschichte vor dem eindrucksvollen Hintergrund des Amazonas steht, wurde mit dem Premio Planeta ausgezeichnet.

"Wenn es stimmt, dass Politik und Literatur nicht zu trennen sind, dann ist die Literatur meine Art politischen Handelns; oder genauer: Ich nehme mit dem Schreiben mein unveräußerliches Recht auf Protest in einem Bereich wahr, wo für Kompromisse kein Platz ist."

Print
Veröffentlichungen in deutscher Übersetzung
Wo einst das Paradies war. Aus dem Spanischen von Willy Zurbrüggen. Kiepenheuer & Witsch, Köln 1999
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesung

Marathon-Lesung

Lesung

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK