Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Franco de Peña was born in 1966 in Caracas, Venezuela. After studying Economics in Caracas and Montreal for four years, Franco de Peña changed subjects, enrolling at the school of the Polish National Theatre in Warsaw in 1988. He studied Drama there until 1990, working as an actor and also completing a period as assistant to the theatre director Janusz Wisniewski. In 1992 de Peña began to study Film Direction at the renowned film academy in ?ód?; whilst also beginning his current work for Polish television. During his study in ?ód?, he realised the short films "The whispers of the wind" (1995) and "The future of an illusion" (1997), for which he won numerous prizes at international festivals. Franco de Peña spent the year 2000 in Berlin on a fellowship from the Artists-in-Berlin Programme.

"Love in Concrete" is Franco de Peña’s first feature film; three episodes recounting tragic yet comic love stories spanning over a single night on Caracas’ busy main street Avenida Libertador. The film was premiered at the Cannes film festival in 2003 – remarkable for a debut film – and received several international prizes, including the award for the Best Direction at the 29th Ibero-American Festival of Huelva.

In 2004, Franco de Peña worked on the collective documentary film "Welcome to São Paulo", marking the 450th anniversary celebrations of the Brazilian capital. A year later he went on to direct the Polish-Luxembourgian co-production "Your name is Justine" (2005), which is based on his own screenplay. It tells of the tragic fate of a Polish woman Mariola, who gullibly follows her boyfriend Artur to Berlin and once there is forced into prostitution. Franco de Peña lives alternately in Caracas and Poland.

Print
Filmography (selection)
My first try (short film) 1992
Don't turn off the lights (short film) 1992
Shadow (short film) 1993
Maybe it's sinful to pray (short film) 1995
The whispers of the wind (short film, 21 min) 1995
The future of an illusion (short film, 49 min) 1997
Love in Concrete (feature film, 102 min, colour) 2003
Welcome to São Paulo (camera) 2004
Your name is Justine (feature film, 97 min, colour) 2004
Events by DAAD
Retrospektive

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Franco de Peña wurde 1966 in Caracas, Venezuela geboren. Nach einem vierjährigen Wirtschaftsstudium in Caracas und Montreal wechselte Franco de Peña das Fach und immatrikulierte sich 1988 an der Schule des polnischen Nationaltheaters in Warschau. Bis 1990 studierte er dort Theaterwissenschaften, arbeitete als Schauspieler und absolvierte eine Regieassistenz bei dem Theaterregisseur Janusz Wisniewski. 1992 nahm de Peña ein Studium der Filmregie an der renommierten Filmhochschule in ?ód? auf und parallel dazu seine bis heute währende Tätigkeit für das polnische Fernsehen. Während des Studiums in ?ód? realisierte er die Kurzfilme "The whispers of the wind" (1995) und "The future of an illusion" (1997), für die er zahlreiche Preise auf internationalen Festivals gewann. Das Jahr 2000 verbrachte Franco de Peña in Berlin als Stipendiat des Berliner Künstlerprogramms.

"Love in concrete – Unmögliche Liebesgeschichten" ist Franco de Peñas erster Spielfilm, der in drei Episoden tragikomische Liebesgeschichten während einer einzigen Nacht auf Caracas’ belebter Hauptstraße Avenida Libertador erzählt. Der Film feierte bei den Filmfestspielen in Cannes 2003 Premiere – für einen Debütfilm bemerkenswert – und wurde international mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet, u.a. beim 29. Iberoamerikanischen Festival von Huelva mit dem Preis für die beste Regie.

2004 arbeitete Franco de Peña am kollektiven Dokumentarfilm "Welcome to São Paulo" anlässlich der 450-Jahr-Feier der brasilianischen Hauptstadt mit, bevor er im Jahr darauf die polnisch-luxemburgische Co-Produktion "Your name is Justine" (2005) nach eigenem Skript drehte: das tragische Schicksal der Polin Mariola, die ihrem Freund Artur gutgläubig nach Berlin folgt und von ihm dort zur Prostitution gezwungen wird. Franco de Peña lebt abwechselnd in Caracas und in Polen.

Print
Filmografie (Auswahl)
My first try (Kurzfilm) 1992
Don't turn off the lights (Kurzfilm) 1992
Shaodw (Kurzfilm) 1993
Maybe it's sinful to pray (Kurzfilm) 1995
The whispers of the wind (Kurzfilm) 1995
The future of an illusion (Kurzfilm) 1997
Love in Concrete (Spielfilm, 102 min, Farbe) 2003
Welcome to São Paulo (Kamera) 2004
Your name is Justine (Spielfilm, 97 min, Farbe) 2005
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Retrospektive

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK