Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
László Darvasi was born in Törökszentmiklós, Hungary, in 1962. For many years now, he has lived in Szeged, a university town on the border to Serbia in southern Hungary, and in Budapest. After completing studies at a College of Education, he taught at various elementary schools until 1989, after which he turned initially to journalism. Using the pseudonym Sziv Ernö, he continues to write football reports, TV criticism and features for a daily newspaper in Szeged. In 1990, he was cofounder of the literary magazine Pompeji, and has been editor of the Budapest weekly Élet és Irodalom (Life and Literature) since 1993. He published his first volume of poetry in 1991, and since then a rapid succession of mainly prose works has followed, including stories, novellas and the novel "A könnymutatványosok legendája" (1999; The Legend of the Weeping Artistes). Among other awards for his literary work, in 1996 Darvasi received a fellowship from Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf, in 1997 the literary fellowship of the City of Graz, and in 2004 – together with his translator Heinrich Eisterer – the literary and translation prize "Brücke Berlin". Darvasi’s books have been translated into eight languages to date.

The "Legend of the Weeping Artistes", which was written while influenced by his impressions of the Balkan War, collects episodes from the Turkish occupation of Hungary during the 16th and 17th centuries. Islamic, Christian and Talmud traditions, together with historical facts, are the setting for a moving world theatre permeated by miracles. This does not focus on the great names of history, but on five mysterious figures that travel in a rattling old wagon through a world that is confusingly timeless despite the historical framework. They are the weeping artistes, showmen who travel through many countries and weep on behalf of the suffering people. In this burlesque, Darvasi generates a fascinating wealth of images and an impressive range of characters and action, interlocked to create a network of mourning as fairy-tale as it is terrible.

In the collection "Die Hundejäger von Loyang" (The Dog-Catchers of Loyang 1993), Darvasi depicts a totalitarian regime in an imaginary China of old, the parable-like quality of which, however, makes it utterly up-to-date. Encoded and enigmatic, absurd, cruel and simultaneously full of magic and beauty, the stories in the volume "Eine Frau besorgen" (Getting a Woman), which also appeared in 2003, take place before a backdrop that is based on the Bosnian war, but often appears surreal.

As a features writer, Darvasi presents reflections on the meaning of life and the game in his volume of essays "Wenn ein Mittelstürmer träumt. Meine Weltgeschichte des Fußballs" (When a Forward Dreams. My World History of Football), which was published in 2006.

Print
Publications in German Translation
Das traurigste Orchester der Welt. Translated from the Hungarian by Agnes Relle. Rowohlt Berlin, Berlin 1995
Die Legende von den Tränengauklern. Translated from the Hungarian by Heinrich Eisterer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2001
Die Hundejäger von Loyang. Chinesische Geschichten. Translated from the Hungarian by Heinrich Eisterer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2003
Eine Frau besorgen. Kriegsgeschichten. Translated from the Hungarian by Heinrich Eisterer, Terézia Mora and Agnes Relle. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2003
Wenn ein Mittelstürmer träumt. Meine Weltgeschichte des Fußballs. Translated from the Hungarian by Laszlo Kornitzer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Herr Stern. Translated from the Hungarian by Heinrich Eisterer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Publications in English Translation
Seven Voices: A Sampler of New Hungarian Writing. Hungarian Book Foundation 1999
Events by DAAD
Lesung

Lesung

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
László Darvasi wurde 1962 in Törökszentmiklós, Ungarn, geboren. Seit vielen Jahren lebt er in Szeged, einer Universitätsstadt an der Grenze zu Serbien im Süden Ungarns, und in Budapest. Nach dem Abschluss des Studiums an der Pädagogischen Akademie unterrichtete er bis 1989 an verschiedenen Grundschulen. Danach wandte er sich zunächst dem Journalismus zu. Noch immer schreibt er unter dem Pseudonym Sziv Ernö (Erwin Herz) für eine Szegeder Tageszeitung Fußballreportagen, Fernsehkritiken und Feuilletons. 1990 war er Mitbegründer der Literaturzeitschrift Pompeji, seit 1993 ist er Redakteur der Budapester Wochenzeitung Élet és Irodalom (Leben und Literatur). 1991 veröffentlichte er seinen ersten Gedichtband, seither erschienen in dichter Folge vor allem Prosastücke, darunter Erzählungen, Novellen und der Roman "A könnymutatványosok legendája" (1999; Die Legende von den Tränengauklern, 2001). Für sein literarisches Werk erhielt Darvasi unter anderem 1996 ein Stipendium des Künstlerhauses Schloss Wiepersdorf, 1997 das Literaturstipendium der Stadt Graz und 2004 zusammen mit seinem Übersetzer Heinrich Eisterer den Literatur- und Übersetzerpreis "Brücke Berlin". Darvasis Bücher wurden bisher in acht Sprachen übersetzt.

Die unter dem Eindruck der Balkankriege entstandene "Legende von den Tränengauklern" versammelt Episoden aus den Jahren der türkischen Besatzung Ungarns im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert. Islamische, christliche und talmudische Überlieferungen bilden zusammen mit historischen Tatsachen die Kulisse für ein wunderdurchwirktes und aufrührendes Welttheater, in dessen Mittelpunkt nicht die Großen der Geschichte, sondern fünf geheimnisvolle Gestalten stehen, die mit einem klapprigen Wagen durch eine trotz der historischen Rahmenhandlung verwirrend zeitlose Welt reisen. Es sind die Tränengaukler, Schausteller die durch die Lande ziehen und für die leidenden Menschen weinen. Die burleske Darvasi treibt dabei einen faszinierenden Bilderreichtum und eine beeindruckende Personen- und Handlungsvielfalt voran, die zu einem ebenso märchenhaften wie schrecklichen Netz aus Trauer verflochten werden.
In der 2003 erschienenen Sammlung "Die Hundejäger von Loyang" zeichnet Darvasi das Bild einer totalitären Herrschaft in einem imaginären China alter Zeiten, das in seiner Parabelhaftigkeit jedoch ganz und gar gegenwärtig ist. Verrätselt und abgründig, absurd, grausam und gleichzeitig voll Zauber und Schönheit spielen die Geschichten in dem ebenfalls 2003 erschienen Band "Eine Frau besorgen" vor einer dem Bosnienkrieg entlehnten, immer wieder aber auch surrealen Kulisse.

Betrachtungen über den Sinn des Lebens und des Spiels stellt der Feuilletonist Darvasi in dem 2006 erschienenen Essayband "Wenn ein Mittelstürmer träumt. Meine Weltgeschichte des Fußballs" an.

Print
Werke in deutscher Übersetzung
Das traurigste Orchester der Welt. Aus dem Ungarischen von Agnes Relle. Rowohlt Berlin, Berlin 1995
Die Legende von den Tränengauklern. Aus dem Ungarischen von Heinrich Eisterer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2001
Die Hundejäger von Loyang. Chinesische Geschichten. Aus dem Ungarischen von Heinrich Eisterer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2003
Eine Frau besorgen. Kriegsgeschichten. Aus dem Ungarischen von Heinrich Eisterer, Terézia Mora und Agnes Relle. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2003
Wenn ein Mittelstürmer träumt. Meine Weltgeschichte des Fußballs. Aus dem Ungarischen von Laszlo Kornitzer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Herr Stern. Aus dem Ungarischen von Heinrich Eisterer. Suhrkamp, Frankfurt am Main 2006
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lesung

Lesung

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK