Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Jacky Comforty was born in 1954, the son of Bulgarian immigrants in Israel, where he spent the first 26 years of his life. In 1979, whilst studying Classical History at the Ben Gurion University in Tel Aviv, he completed a course of training in film and television. From 1981 to 1988 he first worked as an independent filmmaker in Stuttgart, before emigrating to the USA in 1990. There he founded the company Comforty Media Concepts together with his wife Lisa Comforty; a company producing documentary and educational films for schools, museums, universities and other educational institutions.

In 1991 Comforty began work on his 'Inclusion' project, a several-part series on the integration of handicapped children in American elementary and secondary schools.

In 1998, he made the documentary "In the Shadow of Memory" about the Czech city Lidice, which was almost completely destroyed in the Second World War due to the supposed resistance of its Catholic population.

Comforty’s film "The Optimists" (2000) is named after a Bulgarian jazz band from pre-war years, whose still-living members are interviewed in the film. It documents the way that despite Bulgaria’s collaboration with Nazi-Germany, Christians and Muslims, rescued 50,000 Jews from the Holocaust. The filming took twelve years, leading Comforty right across Europe and back to his home country of Israel. Here he creates a montage of interviews with survivors and uses previously unpublished film material from Bulgarian archives, as well as numerous photos from his own personal family collection. "The Optimists" received the first prize in the category "The Jewish Experience" at the International Film Festival Jerusalem in 2000 and also the renowned Peace Film Prize at the Forum of the Berlinale a year later.

Print
Filmography (selection)
Choices (educational film, 30 min) 1991
Together We’re Better (educational film, 157 min) 1992
Inclusion: Issues for Educators (educational film, 20 min) 1992
Families, Friends, Futures (documentary, 23 min, VHS Closed Captioned) 1993
Through a Glass Lightly: The Artists Comment on Reclamation and Transformation. Step by Step: Heather’s Story (documentary) 1996
In the Shadow of Memory (documentary) 1998
Inclusion High (educational film, 20 min) 2000
The Optimists (documentary, 83 min) 2000
Events by DAAD
Vorführung

Vorführung

Vorführung

Dokumantisches und komdiantisches

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Jacky Comforty wurde 1954 als Sohn bulgarischer Einwanderer in Israel geboren und verbrachte dort die ersten 26 Jahre seines Lebens. 1979 schloss er neben dem Studium in Klassischer Geschichte an der Ben-Gurion-Universität in Tel Aviv eine Film- und Fernsehausbildung ab. Von 1981 bis 1988 lebte er als unabhängiger Filmemacher zunächst in Stuttgart, bevor er 1990 in die USA übersiedelte. Dort gründete er gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Lisa Comforty die Firma Comforty Media Concepts, die Dokumentationen und Lehrfilme für Schulen, Museen, Universitäten und andere Bildungseinrichtungen produziert.

1991 nahm Comforty die Arbeit an seinem ‚Inclusion’-Projekt auf, eine mehrteilige Serie über die Integration behinderter Kinder in amerikanischen Grund- und Oberschulen.

1998 drehte Comforty die Dokumentation "In the Shadow of Memory" über die tschechische Stadt Lidice, die wegen des angeblichen Widerstands ihrer katholischen Bevölkerung im Zweiten Weltkrieg fast vollständig zerstört worden war.

Comfortys Film "The Optimists" (2000) – benannt nach einer bulgarischen Jazz-Band aus der Vorkriegszeit, deren noch lebende Mitglieder im Film zu Wort kommen – dokumentiert, wie Christen und Muslime, trotz Bulgariens Kollaboration mit Nazi-Deutschland, 50.000 Juden vor dem Holocaust retteten. Zwölf Jahre dauerten die Dreharbeiten, die Comforty quer durch Europa und zurück in seine Heimat Israel führten. Er montiert hier Interviews mit Überlebenden mit bislang unveröffentlichtem Filmmaterial aus bulgarischen Archiven sowie zahlreichen Fotos aus seinem persönlichen Familienbesitz. "The Optimists" wurde 2000 auf dem Internationalen Filmfestival Jerusalem mit dem Ersten Preis in der Kategorie "The Jewish Experience" und im Jahr darauf im Forum der Berlinale mit dem renommierten Friedensfilmpreis ausgezeichnet.

Print
Filmografie (Auswahl)
Choices (Lehrfilm, 30 min) 1991
Together We’re Better (Lehrfilm, 157 min) 1992
Inclusion: Issues for Educators (Lehrfilm, 20 min) 1992
Families, Friends, Futures (Dokumentarfilm, 23 min, VHS) 1993
Through a Glass Lightly: The Artists Comment on Reclamation and Transformation. Step by Step: Heather’s Story (Dokumentarfilm) 1996
In the Shadow of Memory (Dokumentarfilm) 1998
Inclusion High (Lehrfilm, 20 min) 2000
The Optimists (Dokumentarfilm, 83 min) 2000
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Vorführung

Vorführung

Vorführung

Dokumantisches und komdiantisches

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK