Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Respect Existence Or Expect Resistance

Expressive, engaged and sensual, the works of Matana Roberts face the listener directly. The mixed media artist, self-taught for the most part, not only touches the attentive ear but also repeatedly triggers pressure points of cultural memory. Her experimental sound worlds – often coupled with enveloping visual and spatial elements – are addressed to everyone, challenging our capacities for both multi-sensory perception and reflection in equal measure.

As a musician, Matana Roberts creates pieces, concerts and albums characterized by the sonic and stylistic openness of the Chicago and New York free jazz scenes. Her diverse approaches integrate free modes of playing into pre-structured forms, juxtapose elements taken directly from jazz, rock or traditional music with forms of new music improvisation, and guide the explosive power of free jazz into audibly comprehensible structures. (The Chicago Project, Central Control International 2007; Live In London, Central Control 2011; feldspar, Tour De Bras 2014).

In dealing with her own family history, Matana Roberts is currently developing one of her most wide-ranging projects, which is taking her on a very personal journey of discovery into the Afro-American history of the USA. Coin Coin is an homage in sound to the legendary Marie Thérèze Coincoin, who in the 18th century was able to free herself from her existence as a slave. Matana Roberts envisions this moving sociopolitical story kaleidoscopically through an array of artistic, musical and theatrical ideas. In addition to twelve concept albums, three of which have already been released, her multimedia project consists of texts, graphics, audiovisual installations, workshops and concerts. Coin Coin is emerging as a “panoramic sound quilting” of field recordings, electronic sounds, text recitations, free jazz passages, gospel, blues music and operatic singing – a ›fever dream made of sound‹, as the artist herself describes it, with its own myths and tales.

The concepts of her pieces and albums typically feature collage-like structures, which Matana Roberts steers into performances that transcend genre – as for instance in the COIN COIN Happenings 2010/11 (Fields of Memphis, Trail of a Tear, Mississippi Moonchile and Gens de Couleur Libre); in the series of artistic explorations i call america in 2015; or Blood.Blue(s): A Remembrance 2018. For these site-specific works, the artist develops texts and performance concepts together with graphic scores (e.g. Trail of A Tear 2010, A Breathe 2017). Beyond the experimental combination of sound, image, prose, song, film, objects, and musical improvisation, these works illuminate history and sociopolitical topoi – multiple narratives, historical consciousness and political emphases encounter both preset and improvised structures. The expressivity of her collages continues to be the basis for her numerous immersive concerts and performances, and have overflowed into two exhibitions (I Call America II 2016, jump at the sun 2018) at museum venues. While performing as a musician or as a visual artist, Matana Roberts almost always simultaneously acts as an ethnographer, a storyteller and a politically engaged activist.

text: Fabian Czolbe
translation: Andrea Lerner


Photo Credits: Paula Court


Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Respect Existence Or Expect Resistance

Ausdrucksstark, engagiert und sinnlich treten dem Hörer die Arbeiten von Matana Roberts gegenüber. Die großteils autodidaktische mixedmedia Künstlerin berührt nicht nur das aufmerksame Ohr, sondern stößt zugleich auch immer wieder das kulturelle Gedächtnis an. Ihre experimentellen Klangwelten, nicht selten mit visuellen oder raumgreifenden Elementen gepaart, richten sich an alle und fordern gleichermaßen die multisensorische Wahrnehmung wie das Nachdenken heraus.

Als Musikerin zeichnen sich Matana Roberts’ Stücke, Konzerte oder Alben durch die klangliche und stilistische Offenheit der Chicagoer und New Yorker Free Jazz Szene aus. Verschiedene Ansätze integrieren dabei freie Spielweise in vorstrukturierte Formen, lassen unmittelbar Jazz-, Rock- oder Traditional-Elemente auf Improvisationsformen neuer Musik treffen und lenken die Explosionskraft des Free Jazz in durchhörbare Strukturen. (The Chicago Project, Central Control International 2007; Live In London, Central Control 2011; feldspar, Tour De Bras 2014).

In der Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer eigenen Familiengeschichte entwickelt Matana Roberts eines ihrer aktuell umfangreichsten Projekte, das sie auf eine ganz persönliche Entdeckungsreise in die afroamerikanische Geschichte der USA führt. Coin Coin ist eine Klang gewordene Hommage an die legendäre Marie Thérèze Coincoin, die sich im 18. Jahrhundert von ihrem Sklavinnendasein befreien konnte. Diese gesellschaftspolitisch bewegende Geschichte nimmt Matana Roberts kaleidoskopartig über verschiedene Kunst-, Musik- und Theater-Konzepte in den Blick. Ihr multimediales Projekt umfasst neben 12 Konzept-Alben, von denen bereits drei veröffentlicht wurden, Texte, Grafiken, audiovisuelle Installationen, Workshops und Konzerte. Coin Coin erscheint als panoramaartiges Klanggewebe aus fieldrecordings, elektronischen Klängen, Textrezitationen, Free Jazz Passagen, Gospel-/Bluesmusik und opernhaftem Gesang – ein ›Fiebertraum aus Klang‹, wie ihn die Künstlerin selbst beschreibt, mit eigenen Mythen und Geschichten.

Die Stück- oder Albenkonzeptionen zeichnen sich meist durch collagenartige Strukturen aus, die Matana Roberts auch in genreübergreifende Performances überführt – so etwa in den COIN COIN Happenings 2010/11 (Fields of Memphis, Trail of a Tear, Mississippi Moonchile und Gens de Couleur Libre), in der i call america Serie künstlerischer Explorationen 2015 oder in Blood.Blue(s): A Remembrance 2018. Für diese raumspezifischen Arbeiten entwickelt die Künstlerin neben graphischen Partituren (z.B. Trail of A Tear 2010, A Breathe 2017), Texte und Performancekonzepte. Über die experimentelle Kombination von Klang, Bild, Prosa, Gesang, Film, Objekten und musikalischer Improvisation beleuchten sie die Geschichte und gesellschaftspolitische Topoi – verschiedene Narrative, ein historisches Bewusstsein und politische Emphase treffen auf konzipierte sowie improvisierte Strukturen. Die Expressivität ihrer Collagen ist bis heute nicht nur Grundlage vieler raumgreifender Konzerte und Performances, sondern durchflutete bereits in zwei Ausstellungen (I Call America II 2016, jump at the sun 2018) den musealen Raum. Egal ob Matana Roberts als Musikerin oder Künstlerin auftritt, fast immer agiert sie zugleich auch als Ethnografin, Erzählerin und politisch engagierte Aktivistin.

Text: Fabian Czolbe

Photo Credits: Paula Court

Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK