Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
“He can be very difficult sometimes,” says a lover about Jürgen, a German living in London, who has a special reason for doing so. He wants to be near the Queen, since the Queen of England is his mother. Or at least, it is what Jürgen believes. When he was a little child, he was removed from the royal childbed and replaced by a baby that grew up to become the now renowned Prince Charles. Jürgen’s story sounds fanciful, but Ralitza Petrova’s short film By the Grace of God has its own logic. It is also an artistically complex portrait of a sensitive soul - a human caught between cultures and languages, between Beethoven and the Krautrock of Can, between past and future.

Ralitza Petrova graduated from the UK’s National Film and Television School (NFTS) in 2009 with her film By the Grace of God. Her films have won acclaim across the international film festival circuit, as well as at leading visual arts venues such as the Center Pompidou. With her debut feature film Bezbog (Godless, 2016), however, she returned to her native Bulgaria, in the north mountainous town of Vratsa, a remote place caught in a time warp.

A morphine-addicted, itinerant caregiver Gana is the weak link in a large organized fraud scheme, at the expense of the most vulnerable. Gana steals her patients’ ID cards, which are then sold on the black market of identity theft, to be used for illegal activities and transactions.

The “godless” in this world is the ultimate consequence of the post-communist era. The suffering of the elderly is the final toll of a ruthless, extremist twentieth century, whose history Petrova suggests has extended aftereffects: “the Germans were beautiful.” Fascism, communism, capitalism: these successive systems have left behind mostly desolation, brutality, and cynicism in the small Balkan country.

Petrova intensifies contrasts through the singing of an amateur orthodox choir, whose elderly conductor, a former survivor from the Bulgarian communist labour camps, Gana meets one day as part of her duty as a caregiver. An encounter, which ruptures her apathy for the first time. As both an allegorical assessment of a society and a concrete derivation of a legend the film’s title Godless is apropos.

Invariably, due to geographical proximity, Ralitza Petrova is frequently compared to the New Romanian Wave, and thematic and aesthetic similarities to films by Cristi Puiu or Cristian Mungiu indeed exist. But Godless is not only interested in realism, it goes beyond this: the director often references the hyperrealism of Robert Bresson, and his work with non-professional actors in particular: they serve him as “models.” While narrative cinema is mainly about psychological identification, Godless is situated within an alternative tradition, for which cinema is primarily a medium of worldviews, where morality, psychology, history, politics and transcendence are inextricably linked.


Biography

Ralitza Petrova studied film and video art at the University of the Arts London (UAL) and subsequently fiction directing at the UK’s National Film and Television School (NFTS). Her films have shown at major film festivals around the world, including Cannes, Berlin, and Locarno. In 2016, Godless premiered at the Locarno Film Festival, where it was awarded the Golden Leopard for Best Film. The film has received a total of twenty-seven major awards and was nominated for an European Discovery 2017 by the European Film Academy.

Petrova is a 2019 fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, where she would be developing her next two feature film projects.


Original German version: Bert Rebhandl

English translation: Erik Smith




Print
Filmography: Rotten Apple (2007, short film) By the Grace of God (2009, short film) Bezbog (Godless, 2016, feature film) Better Nature (2019, short film)
Events by DAAD
zu Gast im Kino Arsenal Anschließend Diskussion in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
„Er kann manchmal ein wenig schwierig sein“, sagt seine Freundin über Jürgen, einen Deutschen, der in London lebt, und der dafür auch einen besonderen Grund hat. Er möchte in der Nähe der Queen sein. Denn die Königin von England ist seine Mutter. Davon ist jedenfalls Jürgen fest überzeugt. Als er ein ganz kleines Kind war, wurde er aus dem königlichen Kindbett entfernt und durch ein Baby ersetzt, das zu dem heute in aller Welt bekannten Prinz Charles heranwuchs. Die Geschichte von Jürgen klingt abstrus, in Ralitza Petrovas Kurzfilm By the Grace of God hat sie aber ihre eigene Logik: ein auch künstlerisch vielschichtiges Porträt einer empfindlichen Seele, eines Menschen zwischen den Kulturen und Sprachen, zwischen Beethoven und dem Krautrock von Can, zwischen Vergangenheit und Zukunft.

Mit By the Grace of God hat Ralitza Petrova 2009 ihre Ausbildung an der National School of Film and Television in London abgeschlossen. Sie ist selbst eine Filmemacherin zwischen den Welten. Sie studierte in London, ihre Filme wurden auch an namhaften Orten der Bildenden Kunst wie dem Centre Pompidou gezeigt. Mit ihrem ersten Spielfilm Bezbog (Godless, 2006) kehrte sie aber in ihre Heimat Bulgarien zurück, konkret nach Vratsa, eine kleine Stadt in den Bergen nördlich der Hauptstadt Sofia.

Eine drogensüchtige mobile Pflegerin namens Gana ist das schwache Glied in einem großflächig organisierten Betrug auf Kosten des Staats und der Hilfsbedürftigsten in der Gesellschaft. Gana entwendet ihren Klienten die Ausweise, mit denen dann Leistungen erschlichen und illegale Transaktionen vollzogen werden.

Das „Gottlose“ in dieser Welt ist äußerste Konsequenz postkommunistischer Wolfszeit. Das Elend der Alten ist letzte Konsequenz eines extremen 20. Jahrhunderts, von dem Petrova eine Geschichte langer Nachwirkungen andeutet: „die Deutschen waren schön“. Faschismus, Kommunismus, Kapitalismus: in ihrer Abfolge haben diese Systeme in einem kleinen Land auf dem Balkan vor allem Desolatheit und Brutalität hinterlassen.

Petrova verschärft die Kontraste noch durch die orthodoxen Gesänge eines Chors, auf dessen Leiter Gana eines Tages trifft. Diese Erfahrung bricht ihre Apathie zum ersten Mal auf. Der Titel Godless bekommt Berechtigung als als allegorischer Befund über eine Gesellschaft wie auch mit einer konkreten Herleitung aus einer Legende.

Unweigerlich wird Ralitza Petrova wegen der geographischen Nähe häufig mit der Neuen Rumänischen Welle verglichen, und es gibt auch tatsächlich thematische und ästhetische Ähnlichkeiten mit Filmen von Cristi Puiu oder Cristian Mungiu. Aber Godless ist nicht nur an Realismus interessiert, sondern geht darüber hinaus: die Regisseurin bezieht sich häufig auf den Existenzialismus von Robert Bresson und namentlich auf dessen Arbeit mit Schauspielern: Sie dienen ihm als „Modelle“. Während es im Erzählkino vorwiegend um psychologische Identifikation geht, steht Godless in einer alternativen Tradition, für die das Kino vor allem ein Medium von Weltentwürfen ist, in denen Moral, Psychologie, Geschichte, Politik und Transzendenz unlösbar miteinander zusammenhängen.

Biographie

Ralitza Petrova studierte Film und Videokunst an der University of Arts in London, danach Fiction Directing an der British National Film and Television School. Mit ihren Kurzfilmen war sie auf zahlreichen bedeutenden Festivals vertreten, darunter Cinefondation in Cannes und Berlinale Talents. 2016 hatte Godless beim Filmfestival in Locarno Premiere und wurde mit dem Hauptpreis, dem Goldenen Leoparden, ausgezeichnet. Der Film gewann bisher insgesamt 27 Preise und wurde für von der European Film Academy als European Discovery nominiert. In dem bulgarischen Film Slava (Glory, 2016) von Kristina Grozeva und Petar Valchanov hat Ralitza Petrova einen Auftritt als Schauspielerin.


Text: Bert Rebhandl






Print
Filmographie: Lunchbreak (2005, Kurzfilm) Rotten Apple (2007, Kurzfilm) By the Grace of God (2009, Kurzfilm) Bezbog (Godless, 2016, Spielfilm)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
zu Gast im Kino Arsenal Anschließend Diskussion in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK