Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Pierre Bismuth (*1963 in Neuilly-sur-Seine, France), a post-conceptual artist and filmmaker, sets different systems (fine art and Hollywood, law and psychoanalysis) in opposition with each other to deconstruct their internal mechanisms. At the centre of his work lies the myth of the artist and the creative process, and the structures that enable both.

For the drawing series Following the right hand of … (1999–) Bismuth projects a film featuring an iconic film star on an acrylic glass plate (Marlene Dietrich, Louise Brooks, and, in later works, Freud and Lacan). He then traces the movements they make with their right hand throughout the film in marker pen. The last film still featuring the protagonist provides the background for the drawing that Bismuth produces through this split authorship. Depending on how long the hand movements were traced for, these abstract “portraits” are either inscribed with curly squiggles or their image is almost obliterated by dense scrawl. The series Certificates of Authenticity (2001) also deals with the paradox of handwriting: each document explicitly states that it is not an original work of art by, say the likes of John Baldessari, nevertheless it still bears their signature.

The Jungle Book Project (2002) weaves together different language editions of The Jungle Book (1894) into a Babylonian utopia, where every animal speaks a different language. The attribution of nationalities is owed—at least in part—to the source material (the snake, for example, was felt to be at its most convincing in the Italian version), and the artist assigns certain characteristics to the animals according to the colonial assumptions of the original text. The project also references current political events: Shere Khan, the villain in the plot, speaks the language of Empire (upper-class English), while at the time of the Second Intifada, Mowgli’s two friends (the panther Bagheera and Baloo, the bear) were given Arabic and Hebrew dubbed voices respectively.

In his 2015 retrospective Der Kurator, der Anwalt und der Psychoanalytiker (The curator, the lawyer, and the pyschoanalyst) at the Kunsthalle Wien, Bismuth arranged for his body of works to be analyzed by professionals, as cited in the exhibition title, and in terms of their specific expertise. The results were then used as complementary wall texts, producing a collision between competing systems of perception and modes of narration.

In the more recent Trailer 1 for his film Where is Rocky II? (2016), Bismuth questions the artist Ed Ruscha at a press conference regarding the whereabouts of a mysterious early work, a rock he made of synthetic resin which he then supposedly deposited in California’s Mojave Desert in 1979. The film Rocky II follows a hired detective through the art scene and into the desert, and yet it is all a McGuffin, an absurd game of deception. As the artist states, “The obvious obsession was only a pretext. I wanted to conceal a documentary in a work of fiction. […] I wanted to call into permanent doubt all things that seem simple and real. Like transplanting a strategy from the field of art into the cinema and then back again into art.”

Together with Michel Gondry and Charlie Kaufman, Bismuth was awarded an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay in 2005 for the film Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004). He has participated in the 11th Biennale de Lyon (2011), 4th Berlin Biennale (2006), Manifesta 4 in Frankfurt (2002), and the 49th Venice Biennale (2001). He has also presented solo exhibitions at Kunstmuseum St. Gallen (2017), Kunsthalle Wien (2016 and 2014), La maison rouge, Paris (2012), British Film Institute, Southbank, London (2008), Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane (2008), Centre Pompidou, Paris (2007), Villa Arson, Nice (2006), Kunstmuseum Thun (2005), Sprengel Museum, Hannover (2002), Contemporary Art Center Vilnius (2001), Kunsthalle Basel (2001), Palais des Beaux Arts, Brussels (1997), and Witte de With, Rotterdam (1997). Pierre Bismuth lives in Brussels.



Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Der Künstler und Filmautor Pierre Bismuth (*1963 in Neuilly-sur-Seine, Frankreich) lässt unterschiedlichen Systeme – Kunst und Hollywood, Recht und Psychoanalyse – gegeneinander antreten um sie mit ihren eigenen Mechanismen zu sabotieren. Im Zentrum seiner auch als ‚postkonzeptionell‘ bezeichneten Praxis stehen oft der Mythos des Künstlers und sein Schaffensprozess sowie die Strukturen, die diesen ermöglichen.

Für die Serie Following the right hand of … (1999–) projizierte Bismuth einen Film auf eine Plexiglasplatte und zeichnete die Bewegung der rechten Hand ikonischer weiblicher Filmstars wie Marlene Dietrich oder Louise Brooks (später auch Freud und Lacan) mit Textmarker nach. Das letzte verwendete Filmstill liefert jeweils den Hintergrund für die abstrakt-expressionistischen Zeichnungen gespaltener Autor*innenschaft. Je nachdem wie lange der Hand gefolgt wurde, wurden die Portraitierten von schnörkeligen Linien überlagert oder von dichtem Gekritzel fast ausradiert. Certificates of Authenticity (2001) behandelt ebenfalls das Paradox von Handschrift und Autor: ein Schriftstück, das besagt, dass es sich dabei nicht um ein originales Kunstwerk etwa von John Baldessari handelt, trägt dessen Signatur.
The Jungle Book Project (2002) verwebt verschiedensprachige Ausgaben der Disney-Version des gleichnamigen Kinderbuchs von 1894 zu einer babylonischen Utopie, in der jedes Tier eine andere Sprache spricht. Die Verteilung der Nationalitäten ist sowohl dem Ausgangsmaterial geschuldet – so war beispielsweise die Schlange in der italienischen Version am überzeugendsten – und weist gleichzeitig den Tieren bestimmte Charaktere zu, die einerseits die kolonialen Untertöne des Originals aufgreifen, andererseits auf aktuelle politische Ereignisse Bezug nehmen: der Antagonist Shir Khan spricht die Sprache des Empire, während zur Zeit der zweiten Intifada die beiden Protagonisten und Freunde des Menschenkindes Mogli – der Panther Baghira und Balu der Bär – mit arabischer und hebräischer Synchronstimme besetzt wurden.
Für seine Retrospektive Der Kurator, der Anwalt und der Psychoanalytiker 2015 in der Kunsthalle Wien ließ Bismuth diese und andere Werke von je einer Person aus den im Titel zitierten Berufsgruppen in ihrem jeweiligen professionellen Kontext analysieren und die Ergebnisse als komplementäre Wandtexte drucken. So kollidieren in Bismuths Werk immer wieder unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungssysteme und Erzählweisen.
In Trailer 1 zu seinem zweiten Kinofilm Where is Rocky II? (2016) fragt Bismuth auf einer Pressekonferenz den Künstler Ed Ruscha nach dem Verbleib eines mysteriösen Frühwerks, einem 1979 in der Kalifornischen Mojave-Wüste abgestellten Felsen aus Kunstharz. Rocky II wird zu einer Art McGuffin in einem aberwitzigen Vexierspiel, das den Ermittlungen eines angeheuerten Detektivs durch den Kunstbetrieb in die Wüste folgt. „Die offensichtliche Obsession war ein Vorwand. Ich wollte eine Dokumentation in einer Fiktion verstecken. […] Ich wollte einen steten Zweifel wecken an Dingen, die total klar und real sind. Eine Strategie aus dem Bereich der Kunst ins Kino übertragen und wieder zurück in die Kunst.“ (Bismuth)

2005 wurde Bismuth (zusammen mit Michel Gondry und Charlie Kaufman) mit dem Oscar für das beste Drehbuch zum Film Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (dt. Vergiss mein nicht!, 2004) ausgezeichnet.

Er war Teilnehmer der 11e Biennale de Lyon (2011), 4. Berlin Biennale (2006), Manifesta 4, Frankfurt (2002) und 49. Biennale di Venezia (2001), und hatte Einzelausstellungen u.a. im Kunstmuseum St. Gallen (2017), Kunsthalle Wien (2016 und 2014), La Maison Rouge, Paris (2012), British Film Institute, Southbank Gallery, London (2008), Queensland Art Gallery, Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane (2008), Centre Pompidou, Paris (2007), Villa Arson, Nizza (2006), Kunstmuseum Thun (2005), Sprengel Museum, Hannover (2002), Kunsthalle Basel (2001), Contemporary Art Center Vilnius (2001), Palais de Beaux Arts, Brüssel (1997), Witte de With, Rotterdam (1997). Pierre Bismuth lebt in Brüssel.



Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK