Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The films of Pelin Esmer, who was born in 1972 and raised in Istanbul, “offer a perfect blend of light and shadow,” as critic Bert Rebhandl put it when discussing the start of her film “Watchtower in Deutschland” in Germany in 2014. Her films, highly evocative of chamber plays, mix documentary fictional elements as they probe the contours of life in Turkey today.

In the melodrama “Watchtower” (2012), two isolated outsiders slowly come together, thereby revealing the interior mechanisms undergirding society and how they can be undermined. Meanwhile, the documentary “The Play” (2005) portrays Anatolian village women as they rehearse a play, serving up an unsparing, yet humorous feminist discourse. Under the guise of acting, the women feel free to speak up about enduring domestic violence, everyday humiliations and exile. The film “10 to 11” (2009) depicts the contradictions of urban life – between tradition and modernity, memory and forgetting, and preservation and renewal – as experienced in the microcosm of an apartment building in Istanbul.

Along with overseeing direction, screenplay, editing and producing, in her documentary films (“The Play,” “The Collector”) Esmer takes on cinematography as well. Trained as a sociologist, to date she has created four feature-length films, which have received many international honors. She won fifteen awards for “Watchtower” (2012), including the top prize at the International Film Forum in Tashkent, an award for best direction at the Adana Golden Boll Film Festival in Turkey, a special distinction at the Nuremberg Film Festival and the jury prize in Mannheim. “10 to 11” (2009) is the winner of sixteen international awards, including the special jury prize at the Istanbul Film Festival and the top prize at Tofifest in Poland. “The Play” (2005) has also received numerous honors, including best documentary film at the Women’s Film Festival in Créteil.

As a “master micro-storyteller,” (tip Berlin, 4.16.14) Esmer’s plots develop organically out of the situation at hand. For example, “Watchtower” is a tale of a double retreat: What does the character named Seher expect from her job as steward at a lonely bus station? And why did Nihat take a job as a fireguard in a distant forest? His supervisors are constantly calling to check up on him. “Everything’s fine,” he always replies. And yet the viewer senses trouble lurking below the surface; indeed, Nihat and Seher both have something to hide. Nihat discovers Seher’s secret hidden in the bushes, when she abandons a baby she secretly gave birth to. The fireguard agrees to take in mother and child, yet Seher refuses to see her baby. To sum up, “Watchtower” depicts the boundaries that curtail female empowerment in Turkey.

The starting point of Esmer’s feature film “10 to 11” (2009) is the idea of an obsessed collector of found objects, an idea she previously explored in a documentary. The character Mithat Bey is embodied by her 83-year-old uncle, who she had already portrayed in a documentary film on the same subject. The filmmaker juxtaposes the notion of the total archive with the search for the ephemeral: Ali, 34 years old, is a doorman in Mithat’s apartment building. He pursues material possessions and wealth as the key to happiness. Conflict ensues between the two philosophies when the building is sold.
The documentary film “The Play” (2005) depicts nine women who are transformed when they work together on a play. The schoolteacher Hüsseyin unites the stories into a play brimming with attitude. Truths left unspoken in Arslanköy are uttered with a refreshing wit and outspokenness by the all-female cast. This disturbs the peace, which spells doom for the play’s premiere in the village. "Over the course of the rehearsals, the retiring village women turn into first-class actresses (…). What was at first just a way to kill time quickly becomes a matter of life and death, as their work on the play rewards them with a boost of self-confidence, recognition from their husbands and even a renewed sense of optimism for future generations. A revolution truly unfolds before the camera’s watchful eye: one that is peaceful, emotional and overflowing with joy." (Isabelle Regnier, Le Monde)

Text: Maike Wetzel

Translation into English: Amy Pradell


Print
Filmography (selection): 2017 İşe Yarar Bir Şey / Something Useful (color, 107‘) 2012 Gözetleme kulesi /Watchtower (feature film, 1,85:1 DCP/35 mm, color, 100‘) 2009 11’e 10 kala / 10 to 11 (feature film, HDCAM/ 35 mm, color, 110‘) 2005 The Play (Documentary film, 4:3 DigiBeta/16:9 35 mm, color, 70‘)
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
1972 geboren und aufgewachsen in Istanbul, „vermag Licht und Schatten perfekt ins Verhältnis zu setzen“. So der Kritiker Bert Rebhandl anlässlich des Kinostarts ihres Films Watchtower in Deutschland 2014. Sowohl dokumentarisch als auch fiktiv erkundet die Filmemacherin in ihren Kammerspielen die Bedingungen des Zusammenlebens in der gegenwärtigen Türkei.

In dem Melodram Watchtower (2012) sind es zwei isolierte Außenseiter, deren langsame Annäherung zeigt, wie soziale Kontrolle funktioniert und wie sie unterlaufen werden kann. In der dokumentarischen Beobachtung der Proben der anatolischen Dorfbewohnerinnen bei The Play (2005) entsteht ein schonungsloser, jedoch humorvoller feministischer Diskurs. Als Darstellerinnen trauen sich die Frauen häusliche Gewalt, alltägliche Demütigungen und gesellschaftliche Ausgrenzung zu Sprache zu bringen. Im Mikrokosmos eines Istanbuler Wohnhauses erzählt 10 to 11 (2009) vom Aufeinanderprallen der Gegensätze in der Stadt: Tradition und Moderne, Erinnerung und Vergessen, Bewahren und Erneuern.

Neben Regie, Drehbuch, Produktion und Schnitt bei allen ihren Filmen zeigt Pelin Esmer sich im Fall ihrer Dokumentarfilme auch für die Kamera (The Play, The Collector) verantwortlich. Die studierte Soziologin realisierte bislang vier abendfüllende Filme, für die sie mehrfach international ausgezeichnet wurde. Für Watchtower (2012) erhielt sie fünfzehn Auszeichnungen; darunter den Hauptpreis dem International Filmforum in Taschkent, den Regiepreis beim Adana Golden Boll Filmfestival in der Türkei, den Spezialpreis des Nürnberger Filmfestivals und den Jurypreis in Mannheim. 10 to 11 (2009) wurde sechzehn Mal international prämiert. Dazu zählen der Spezialpreis der Jury beim Istanbuler Filmfestival und der Hauptpreis beim Tofifest in Polen. The Play (2005) ist ebenfalls vielfach preisgekrönt. Unter anderem als bester Dokumentarfilm beim Frauenfilmfestival in Créteil.

Pelin Esmer ist eine „Meisterin des minutiösen Erzählens“ (tip Berlin, 16.4.14). Sie entwickelt ihre Handlung plausibel aus den Details der Situationen heraus. Watchtower etwa ist die Geschichte eines zweifachen, radikalen Rückzugs: Was verspricht die junge Seher sich von dem Job als Busbegleiterin an der einsamen Raststätte? Und wieso hat Nihat den Job als Brandwart in einem entlegenen Waldgebiet angenommen? Immer wieder melden sich seine Vorgesetzten über Funk und fragen, ob alles in Ordnung sei. „Ja, alles in Ordnung“, meldet Nihat. Der Zuschauer ahnt: Das Gegenteil ist der Fall. Nihat und Seher haben beide etwas zu verbergen. Sehers Geheimnis findet Nihat im Gebüsch: Sie hat ihr heimlich geborenes Baby dort ausgesetzt. Der Brandwart nimmt Kind und Mutter bei sich auf. Doch Seher will das Kind nicht einmal ansehen. Watchtower erzählt viel über die engen Grenzen, die weiblicher Selbstbestimmung an vielen Stellen in der Türkei gesetzt sind.

Ausgangspunkt für Pelin Esmers Spielfilm 10 to 11 (2009) war die Idee eines besessenen Sammlers von Fundstücken; eine Idee, die sie zuvor bereits dokumentarisch verfolgt hatte. Die Figur des Mithat Bey wird von ihrem 83jährigen Onkel verkörpert, dem auch der Dokumentarfilm zu demselben Thema gewidmet war. Dem Prinzip des totalen Archivs stellt die Filmemacherin die Jagd nach Vergänglichem gegenüber: Der 34jährige Ali ist der Portier von Mithats Mietshaus. Er setzt auf materiellen Besitz und Wohlstand als Wege zum Glück. Als das Gebäude verkauft werden soll, kollidieren die beiden Lebensentwürfe.
Im Dokumentarfilm The Play (2005) verwandelt die Arbeit an einem gemeinsamen Theaterstück neun Frauen. Schullehrer Hüsseyin verbindet die Erzählungen zu einem frechen Schauspiel. Was sich in Arslanköy sonst niemand öffentlich zu sagen traut – das Frauenensemble bringt es pointiert und mit viel Sinn für Humor zur Sprache. Streit bleibt trotzdem nicht aus. Und so steht die Uraufführung im Dorf kurz vor dem Scheitern. "Im Verlauf der Proben verwandeln sich diese scheuen Bäuerinnen zu wunderbaren Schauspielerinnen (…). Anfangs lediglich ein Zeitvertreib, wird das Theaterspielen schnell eine 'Frage auf Leben und Tod', die ihnen Selbstachtung, Anerkennung ihrer Ehemänner und eine große Hoffnung für künftige Generationen einbringt. Vor der Kamera findet eine wahre Revolution statt: friedfertig, gefühlvoll und äußerst fröhlich." (Isabelle Regnier, Le Monde)

Text: Maike Wetzel


Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2017 İşe Yarar Bir Şey / Something Useful (Farbe, 107‘) 2012 Gözetleme kulesi /Watchtower (Spielfilm, 1,85:1 DCP/35 mm, Farbe, 100‘) 2009 11’e 10 kala / 10 to 11 (Spielfilm, HDCAM/ 35 mm, Farbe, 110‘) 2005 The Play (Dokumentarfilm, 4:3 DigiBeta/16:9 35 mm, Farbe, 70‘)
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
zu Gast im Kino Arsenal

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK