Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Wind Sounds

Max Eastley combines kinetic sculpture and sound into unique forms in consistently unexpected ways. The work of the artist and musician, born in Great Britain in 1944, primarily evolves out of the interplay between artistic intervention and nature.
The early works of the 1970s and 80s are testament to an intensive engagement with the history, aesthetics and acoustic phenomena of the Aeolian harp. With Eastley, wind harps and flutes always relate to their surroundings in both an auditory and visual way. The wind appears to make the objects vibrate “randomly,” but an explicit artistic approach to the natural or urban environment always immediately develops through tonalities or sculptural form. Eastley achieves this by formally deconstructing the classical instrument and letting the wind activate whistle-like objects (Metal Wind Flute, 1976; Wind Flutes, London Musician’s Collective, 1978) or several meters of strings (Chanteay Latex and Wood, 1986; Tyne Tees, 1991). In recent works, modern microphones allow the artist not only to visualize but also make audible even the wind’s minimal energy impulses (Audible Forces, 2013/14, Windklänge, 2014). In so doing, Eastley’s sculptures always form a relationship to urban or natural surroundings, drawing attention not only to the dynamics around us of which we are unaware, but also to visual counterpoints within the specific environment. In 2013, with aeolian circles, an installation was ultimately created that brought together the forces of exterior and interior: eight wind harps were positioned on the roof of a water tower in Berlin while ten individual sound sculptures were installed inside the reservoir. The range of sonorous to shrill sounds produced by the wind harps were electronically amplified and transferred in real time directly inside the water reservoir, where they merged with the auditory and visual landscapes of the kinetic sculptures in an unexpectedly exquisite fashion.
Through rhythmic or phonetic patterns Eastley’s installations and sculptures reveal the structures of the external world that surround man without fully submitting to the dictates of the artistic intervention in the process. In Eastley’s sculptures and installations, a certain “poetry of everyday life” or the “natural contingency” always evolves in a lightly dancing fashion.
Eastley, however, is not only a visual artist who works with sound, but also a musician and activist. Performances and concerts with “whirring” wood instruments (Whirled Music, 1978), recorded wind harps, or self-made instruments like the Arc, a flexible, electroacoustic monochord, comprise his musical repertoire. Since 2003, he has also been involved in installations or performances for the Cape Farewell Climate Change Project, an initiative organized by artists and scientists to draw attention to the impacts of global climate change on the Arctic.

Text: Fabian Czolbe
Translation: Erik Smith


Print
Events by DAAD
Kinetic and Aeolian Sculptures / Instruments

Lines and Traces

Improvisationen

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Windklänge

Max Eastley führt auf immer wieder überraschende Art und Weise kinetische Skulptur und Klang in einzigartigen Formen zusammen. Die Arbeiten des 1944 in Großbritannien geborenen Künstlers und Musikers entstehen zumeist im Spiel von künstlerischer Intervention und Natur.
Die frühen Arbeiten der 1970er/80er Jahre zeigen eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte, Ästhetik und den akustischen Phänomenen der Äolsharfe. Windharfen und -flöten gehen bei Eastley immer eine gleichermaßen auditive sowie visuelle Beziehung zu ihrer Umgebung ein. Die Objekte werden scheinbar ,zufällig‘ durch die Winde in Schwingung versetzt, entfalten sogleich aber auch immer einen explizit künstlerischen Zugriff, durch Klangfarbe oder skulpturale Gestalt, auf das natürliche oder urbane Umfeld. Eastley dekonstruiert dafür förmlich das klassische Instrumentarium und lässt den Wind auf pfeifenartigen Objekten (Metal Wind Flute, 1976; Wind Flutes, London Musician‘s Collective, 1978) oder mehrere Meter langen Saiten (Chantenay Latex and Wood, 1986; Tyne Tees, 1991) spielen. Moderne Mikrofonie ermöglicht es dem Künstler in den jüngeren Arbeiten, selbst minimale Energieimpulse des Windes nicht nur sicht-, sondern auch hörbar werden zu lassen (Audible Forces, 2013/14; Windklänge, 2014). Die Skulpturen Eastleys stehen dabei immer in Bezug zum Stadt- oder Naturraum und lenken die Aufmerksamkeit nicht nur auf uns unmerklich umgebende Dynamiken, sondern auch auf die visuellen Kontrapunkte zur spezifischen Umgebung. 2013 entstand mit aeolian circles schließlich eine Installation, die die Kräfte von Außen- und Innenraum – acht Windharfen auf dem Dach und zehn individuelle Klangskulpturen innerhalb eines alten Berliner Wasserspeichers – miteinander verband. Die sonoren bis scharf schrillen Klänge der Windharfen wurden elektronisch verstärkt und in Echtzeit direkt ins Innere des Speichers übertragen, wo sie sich überraschend feinfühlig mit den auditiven und visuellen Landschaften der kinetischen Skulpturen vermischten.
Die Installationen und Skulpturen Eastleys lassen durch rhythmische oder klangfarbliche Pattern die Strukturen der den Menschen umschließenden Außenwelt erkennen, ohne sich dabei dem Diktat des künstlerischen Eingriffs vollends zu unterwerfen. Es ist immer eine gewisse ,Poesie des Alltags‘ oder die ,naturgemäßen Kontingenz‘, die sich leicht tänzelnd in den Skulpturen und Installationen Eastleys entfaltet.
Eastley ist aber nicht nur bildender Klangkünstler, sondern in gleichem Maße auch Musiker und Aktivist. Performances und Konzerte mit Schwirrhölzern (Whirled Music, 1978), aufgenommenen Windharfen oder selbstgebauten Instrumenten wie dem Arc, einem flexiblen, elektroakustisch erweiterbaren Monochord, gehören zu seinem musikalischen Repertoire. Seit 2003 engagiert er sich zudem mit Installationen oder Performances für das Cape Farewell Climate Change Project, durch das Künstler und Wissenschaftler auf die Auswirkungen der globalen Klimaveränderungen für die Arktis aufmerksam machen.

Text: Fabian Czolbe

Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Kinetic and Aeolian Sculptures / Instruments

Lines and Traces

Improvisationen

Air Traces (2017, UA)

Air Traces (2017, UA)

Berlin Sonic Places

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK