Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The central theme of Teresa Margolles’s artistic work is death. The organized drug war in her homeland of Mexico, the associated omnipresence of violence and its impact on society are the conditions under which Margolles processes and works against the anonymization of death and the disappearance of bodies by relentlessly confronting us with what the people have left behind. The artist, born in Culiacán in 1963, became known for her monochrome canvases, whose ostensibly abstract painterly aesthetic concealed the fact that they were saturated with the blood of people killed on the streets. And it is only with this knowledge that her radical realism becomes apparent. The canvas is both the physical support for blood and dirt and the transmitter of an actual, horrific history. The artist, who has worked in forensic medicine, obtains her materials mostly from morgues or directly from crime scenes. The resulting works are formally related to the Minimal Art canon, but “move” with substances like blood, body fat, or water used for washing corpses, causing “viewers” to lose their typically distanced viewpoint. With Teresa Margolles, the work of art is by no means autonomous; rather, it is revealing evidence of unbearable social circumstances.

In recent years, she has focused primarily on violence against women in Latin America. In particular, the city of Ciudad Juárez, on the northern border of Mexico, has become tragically famous the past twenty years for countless so-called “femicides,” brutal murders of women, and the impunity of their murderers. But socially marginalized groups are also threatened by violence and are systematically displaced from the city center through the destruction of the environments where they live. For a long time, Margolles worked closely with transgender sex workers who are frequently the victims of discrimination and hate killings. For the photo series Pista de Baile (2015), Margolles portrayed transgender sex workers standing among the ruins of nightclub dance floors that had been destroyed. One of these women, Karla, with whom Margolles wanted to organize a game of poker with a sex worker from Switzerland for Manifesta 11, was murdered at the end of 2015.

La Sombra Bolivia (2015), created for the Biennale of La Paz, Bolivia, consisted of a canopy in public space, similar to ones that provide shade for market stands. A sheet was stretched across a metal frame, 1.70 m high and 1.90 wide, casting a rectangular shadow on the cobbles. The fabric came from the morgue of La Paz and had been used to wrap the corpse of a recently murdered woman. According to the National Statistical Institute, 87% of all women in Bolivia experience physical violence.

Blood, shadows, or fragments of violently destroyed buildings function in Margolles’s work as sensors that the artist uses to provide countless victims a voice and a visibility.

Text: Eva Scharrer


Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Das zentrale Thema in Teresa Margolles künstlerischer Arbeit ist der Tod. Der organisierte Drogenkrieg in ihrer Heimat Mexiko, die damit verbundene Allgegenwart von Gewalt und deren Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft sind die Bedingungen, unter denen Margolles gegen die Anonymisierung des Todes und das Verschwinden von Körpern an-arbeitet, indem sie uns schonungslos mit dem konfrontiert, was von den Menschen übrigbleibt. Bekannt wurde die 1963 in Culiacán geborene Künstlerin unter anderem mit monochromen Leinwänden, hinter deren vordergründig abstrakt-malerischer Ästhetik sich die Tatsache verbarg, dass sie mit dem Blut auf der Straße Getöteter getränkt waren. Und erst mit diesem Wissen zeigt sich ihr radikaler Realismus. Die Leinwand ist gleichzeitig Träger von Blut und Schmutz, sowie Übermittler einer konkreten, grausamen Geschichte. Ihr Material bezieht die Künstlerin, die selbst in der Gerichtsmedizin gearbeitet hat, meist aus Leichenschauhäusern, oder direkt von den Tatorten. Die Arbeiten, die daraus entstehen, stehen formal im Kanon der Minimal Art, „berühren“ jedoch ganz unmittelbar mit Substanzen wie Blut, Körperfett oder Leichenwaschwasser, wodurch der „Betrachter“ seinen gewohnt distanzierten Standpunkt verliert. Das Kunstwerk ist bei Teresa Margolles keinesfalls autonom, sondern ein entlarvender Beweis unerträglicher sozialer Umstände.

In den letzten Jahren hat sich ihr Fokus vor allem auf die Gewalt gegen Frauen in Lateinamerika gerichtet. Insbesondere die Stadt Ciudad Juárez an der nördlichen Grenze Mexikos erlangte in den letzten zwanzig Jahren tragische Berühmtheit durch unzählige sogenannte Femizide, brutale Morde an Frauen, und die Straffreiheit ihrer Mörder. Aber auch soziale Randgruppen sind von Gewalt bedroht und werden systematisch aus dem Stadtzentrum verdrängt, indem ihre Lebensräume zerstört werden. Über lange Zeit arbeitete Margolles eng mit Transgender-Sexarbeiterinnen zusammen, die insbesondere Opfer von Diskriminierung und Hassmorden sind. Für die Fotoserie Pista de Baile (2015) hat Margolles Transgender-Sexarbeiterinnen auf den Überresten von Tanzflächen zerstörter Nachtklubs porträtiert. Eine dieser Frauen, Karla, mit der Margolles für die Manifesta 11 in Zürich ein Pokerspiel mit einer Sexarbeiterin aus der Schweiz organisieren wollte, wurde Ende 2015 ermordet.

La Sombra Bolivia (2015) für die Biennale von La Paz, Bolivien, war ein im öffentlichen Raum aufgestellter Schirm, ähnlich denen, die Marktständen Schatten spenden. Auf einem 1,70 m hohem und 1,90 breitem Metallgestell war eine Decke gespannt, die einen rechteckigen Schatten auf das Pflaster warf. Das Gewebe stammte aus dem Leichenschauhaus von La Paz und enthielt die Leiche einer kurz zuvor ermordeten Frau. Nach Angaben des Nationalen Instituts für Statistik erleben 87% aller Frauen in Bolivien körperliche Gewalt.
Das Blut, der Schatten, oder Fragmente aus gewaltsam zerstörten Gebäuden fungieren in Margolles Werk als Sensoren, mit denen die Künstlerin den unzähligen Opfern eine Stimme und eine Sichtbarkeit gibt.

Text: Eva Scharrer


Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK