Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The difference between determining and recognizing is a central aspect in Iman Issa’s work—one is based on descriptive facts, the other on memory and association. Born in 1979 in Cairo and living in New York and Cairo, the artist explores in her installations of objects, sculptures, photography, video, sound, and writing the interactions between text and image, as well as the gaps between memory, fiction, and historiography. The visual grammar of museum presentations is the subject of her investigations. Over the past several years, however, her focus has shifted from historical events and biographies from the Arab cultural sphere and their monuments and memorials to the formal language of artifacts.

Material (2010–12) consists of a total of ten displays with text panels and various objects, which can be read as proposals for alternative public monuments, in which the accompanying texts represent the title, description, and a riddle: “Material for a sculpture proposed as an alternative to a monument that has become an embarrassment to its people” appears on the panel positioned next to a table with two spherical lights, which go on and off in alternation. “Material for a sculpture commemorating an economist whose name now marks the streets and squares he once frequented” describes a display case featuring the personal items of a likely older gentleman, including a pair of leather shoes, a pocket watch, and a photo album. One can speculate on which concrete monument, which historical event, which movement or person is intended, but neither the displays nor the text panels provide this information. Thirty-Three Stories about Reasonable Characters in Family Places (2011), a book of one-page fictional short stories, functions in a similar way—somewhat like Italo Calvino’s novel Invisible Cities. The artist regards it as both a literary and artistic work. Without naming something specifically, vague descriptions of individual memories and personal experience give rise to images of places, persons, or situations.

A selection of works from the second half of the twentieth century, whose titles consist of single words, forms the starting point for Lexicon (since 2012). Without providing images or additional information as to the context, year of origin, and materials of the reference works, Issa presents her own, abstract-minimalistic formal implementation of terms such as “work” [Laboring (Study for 2012), 2012] —an abstract wooden sculpture recalling the shape of an hourglass—or “monologue announcer” [Monologist (Study for 2014), 2014]—a cone attached vertically to a tripod.

Similarly, the latest series, Heritage Studies (since 2015), deals with the exploration of cultural heritage, the applicability of academic knowledge, and the use of history. The sculptural reinterpretations of historical artifacts investigate the act of perception itself and question their significance for our understanding of the present. Without wanting to imitate, Issa’s sculptures, in terms of form, size, and material, refer to the information provided in the scientific labels but subject them to a transformation both abstract and poetic.

Text: Eva Scharrer









Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Die Unterscheidung von Bestimmen und Erkennen ist ein zentraler Aspekt in Iman Issas Arbeit – wobei das eine auf beschreibenden Fakten beruht, das andere auf Erinnerung und Assoziation. Die 1979 in Kairo geborene und in New York und Kairo lebende Künstlerin untersucht in ihren Installationen aus Objekten, Skulpturen, Fotografie, Video, Sound und Schrift die Wechselwirkungen von Text und Abbild, sowie die Lücken zwischen Erinnerung, Fiktion und Geschichtsschreibung. Die visuelle Grammatik von Museumspräsentationen steht im Mittelpunkt ihrer Auseinandersetzung, wobei sich in den letzten Jahren der Fokus verschoben hat von historischen Ereignissen und Biografien aus dem arabischen Kulturraum und deren Denk- und Mahnmalen hin zu der formalen Sprache von Artefakten.

Material (2010-2012) besteht aus insgesamt zehn Displays mit Texttafeln und verschiedenen Objekten, die als Vorschläge für alternative öffentliche Denkmäler zu lesen sind, wobei die begleitenden Texte zugleich Titel, Beschreibung und Rätsel darstellen: „Material for a sculpture proposed as an alternative to a monument that has become an embarrassment to its people“ steht auf der Tafel neben einem Tisch mit zwei kugelförmigen Lichtkörpern, die abwechselnd aufscheinen und erlöschen. „Material for a sculpture commemorating an economist whose name now marks the streets and squares he once frequented“ beschreibt eine Vitrine mit persönlichen Gegenständen eines wohl älteren Herrn, darunter ein Paar Lederschuhe, eine Taschenuhr, ein Fotoalbum. Man kann darüber spekulieren, welches konkrete Monument, welches historische Ereignis, welche Bewegung oder Person gemeint sein könnten, doch geben weder die Displays noch die Texttafeln darüber Auskunft. In ähnlicher Weise – etwas wie Italo Calvino’s „Unsichtbare Städte“ – funktioniert Thirty-Three Stories about Reasonable Characters in Familiar Places (2011), ein Buch aus jeweils einseitigen fiktiven Kurzgeschichten, das für die Künstlerin sowohl ein literarisches wie künstlerisches Werk ist. Ohne dass etwas konkret benannt wird, lassen vage Beschreibungen aus individueller Erinnerung und persönlicher Erfahrung Bilder von Orten, Personen oder Situationen entstehen.

Eine Auswahl an Werken der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts, deren Titel aus einzelnen Worten bestehen, bildet den Ausgangspunkt für Lexicon (seit 2012). Ohne Abbildungen oder weitere Informationen über Kontext, Entstehungsjahr und Material der Referenzwerke zu liefern, präsentiert Issa ihre eigene, abstrakt-minimalistische formale Umsetzung von Begriffen wie „Arbeiten“ [Laboring (Study for 2012), 2012] – eine abstrakte Holzskulptur, die Form einer Sanduhr andeutend – oder „Monologsprecher“ [Monologist (Study for 2014), 2014] – ein vertikal auf einem Dreibein angebrachter Kegel.

In ähnlicher Weise beschäftigt sich die jüngste Serie Heritage Studies (seit 2015) mit der Erforschung von kulturellem Erbe, der Anwendbarkeit akademischen Wissens und der Nutzung von Geschichte. Die skulpturalen Neuinterpretationen historischer Artefakte untersuchen den Akt der Wahrnehmung selbst und fragen nach deren Bedeutung für unser Verständnis der Gegenwart. Ohne nachahmen zu wollen, beziehen sich Issas Skulpturen in Form, Größe und Material auf die in den wissenschaftlichen Labels angegebenen Informationen, unterziehen diese jedoch einer abstrakt-poetischen Transformation.

Text: Eva Scharrer


Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK