Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Lawrence Abu Hamdan works at the interfaces of sound and politics, focusing in particular on the act of hearing and listening (“politics of listening”). His projects take the form of audiovisual installations, performances, graphics, photographs, Islamic sermons, audio-tape compositions, potato chip packaging, essays and lectures. His audio-aesthetic research focuses on the forensic investigation of sound material—often in collaboration with the Forensic Architecture research agency at Goldsmiths College London. The agency’s primary purpose is raising awareness of specific political issues—for instance, by creating a virtual 3D-model of Assad’s Saydnaya torture prison, previously a blind spot on the Amnesty International map, based on the statements of “ear-witnesses.” Since prisoners were deprived of their visual senses for extended periods of time, the prison’s architecture, in functioning as an echo chamber, itself became an architectural instrument of torture. The model raises awareness and serves as a memory of this horrific place.

The material for the exhibition Earshot 2016 at Portikus in Frankfurt originated in an investigation conducted by Forensic Architecture and Abu Hamdan on behalf of the human rights organization Defense for Children International. The point of the investigation was to resolve the violent death of two unarmed Palestinian teenagers in 2014 by Israeli soldiers in the occupied areas of the West Bank. In a technique designed to visualize sound frequencies, an audio-ballistic analysis of recorded gunshots clearly demonstrated that the soldiers had not used rubber bullets, as they claimed, but live ammunition, and that they had also attempted to cover this up by “disguising” the projectiles with rubber casings. The main video installation of the exhibition, Rubber Coated Steel, functioned as a symbolic tribunal of the projectiles that killed Nadeem Nawara and Mohamad Abu by amplifying the silence of the victims’ voices.

The Hummingbird Clock, produced in 2016 for the Liverpool Biennale, consisted of an intervention in public space permanently installed across from the courthouse in Liverpool as well as a web component. The sculpture—a “tree” of three binoculars in the form of surveillance cameras pointed at the courthouse’s clock—is intended as a means of counter-surveillance. Variations produced every second in the inaudible but constant humming of the electrical grid are seismographically recorded and archived and can be accessed upon request. With this database it is possible to chronologically index digital recordings with fingerprint-like precision—a technique the British government has already been using for ten years as a method of survelliance.

The installation A Convention of Tiny Movements (2015) is based on the results of a research group at MIT, according to which the surfaces of particular everyday objects or their packaging, act as recording devices when activated by sound vibrations. It is interesting to note that these objects incorporate the human voice within their own sound. The installation, consisting of, among other things, a recorded message presented in a “whisper cube” and a set of 5,000 packets manufactured specifically for potato chips, presents a disturbing scenario of monitoring possibilities in the not-too-distant future.

Eva Scharrer



Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Lawrence Abu Hamdan arbeitet an den Schnittstellen von Sound und Politik, wobei es insbesondere um den Akt des (Zu-)Hörens geht (‚politics of listening’). Seine Projekte können die Form von audiovisuellen Installationen, Performances, Grafiken, Fotografien, Islamischen Predigten, Tonbandkompositionen, Kartoffelchips-Verpackungen, Essays und Vorträgen annehmen. Im Zentrum seiner audio-ästhetischen Forschung steht die forensische Untersuchung von Soundmaterial – oft in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut Forensic Architecture des Goldsmiths College London. Diese dient in erster Linie der Aufklärung konkreter politischer Sachverhalte – etwa in der Erstellung eines virtuellen 3D Modells von Assads Saydnaya Foltergefängnis, bisher ein blinder Fleck auf der Karte von Amnesty International, aufgrund der Aussagen von Ohrenzeugen. Da Inhaftierte über lange Zeit ihrer visuellen Sinne beraubt wurden, wurde die Architektur des Gefängnisses in ihrer Funktion als Echozelle selbst zum architektonischen Folterinstrument. Das Modell dient der Aufklärung über und der Erinnerung an diesen Schreckensort.

Das Material für die Ausstellung Earshot 2016 im Portikus in Frankfurt ging auf eine Investigation zurück, die Forensic Architecture und Abu Hamdan im Auftrag der Menschenrechtsorganisation Defense for Children International durchführten, um den gewaltsamen Tod zweier unbewaffneter palästinensischer Teenager 2014 durch israelische Soldaten in den besetzten Gebieten der Westbank aufzuklären. Die audio-ballistische Analyse von Aufnahmen der abgefeuerten Gewehrschüsse in einem Verfahren zur Visualisierung von Soundfrequenzen ergab eindeutig, dass die Soldaten nicht, wie behauptet, Gummigeschosse verwendet hatten, sondern echte Munition, und dass sie dies zudem zu vertuschen suchten, indem die Projektile durch Gummi „getarnt“ wurden. Die Videoinstallation Rubber Coated Steel im Zentrum der Ausstellung fungierte als symbolisches Tribunal für die Projektile, die Nadeem Nawara and Mohamad Abu Daher töteten, indem sie die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Stille der Opferstimmen lenkt.

Für die Liverpool Biennale entstand 2016 die Hummingbird Clock, die aus einer gegenüber dem Gerichtsgebäude in Liverpool permanent im öffentlichen Raum installierten Intervention und einer Web-Komponente besteht. Die Skulptur – ein „Baum“ mit drei Ferngläsern in Form von Überwachungskameras, die auf die Uhr des Gerichtsgebäudes gerichtet sind – ist als Instrument zur Gegenüberwachung gedacht. Die sekündlichen Schwingungen des unhörbaren doch stetigen Summens des Elektrizität-Verteilungsnetzes werden seismographisch aufgezeichnet und archiviert und können nach Anfrage zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Anhand dieser Database können digitale Aufnahmen mit fingerabdruckgleicher Präzision zeitlich zugeordnet werden – ein Verfahren, das die britische Regierung bereits seit zehn Jahren zur Überwachung anwendet.

Die Installation A Convention of Tiny Movements (2015) beruht auf Ergebnissen einer Forschungsgruppe am MIT, wonach die Oberflächen bestimmter alltäglicher Objekte bzw. ihrer Verpackung, wenn sie durch Sound in Schwingung gebracht werden, als Aufnahmegeräte fungieren. Interessant dabei ist, dass diese Objekte der menschlichen Stimme noch ihren eigenen Sound hinzufügen. Die Installation, die unter anderem aus einer Tonbotschaft in einer Flüsterzelle und einem Set von 5.000 spezifisch hergestellten Chipspackungen bestand, führt ein verstörendes Szenario der Überwachungsmöglichkeiten der nahen Zukunft vor.

Text: Eva Scharrer


Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK