Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
In an interview in 2007, investigating a connection between the growing Chinese experimental music scene and political and economical development in China, Yan Jun answered:

”Experimentalism is an important character for the Chinese society and people. People experiment with everything in the last 30 years. In that respect nearly everything here is so avant-garde!” (World New Music Magazine/ISCM, 2007)

This is an apt description of a society as well as a music scene which have undergone such remarkable changes in such a short time, that it is almost as if time has been somehow accelerated. On the music and art scenes, several new and varied influences merged to form a vibrant experimental scene, which soon blurred the lines of the established musical styles and genres. Instead of speaking of the traditional Western forms of ‘high’ and popular art, in China, as in many countries in East Asia, it might be more relevant to speak in general terms of mainstream versus alternative culture.

In China, alternative music literally exploded in the 90s, with a mix of influences from European and American experimental music, rock, punk rock, film music, video games, jazz and improvisation. The market was flooded with music cassettes, CDs and VHS, and with the internet revolution, the opportunity to listen to internet radio and download mp3s caused several musical worlds to merge. Experimental musicians came to play in China and the personal tastes of Chinese musicians who came to work in the field exercised a strong influence on this demand for new cultural influences.

Yan Jun has no classical music training. Instead, he has been educated and shaped by thriving rock and general ‘art and culture’ scenes, and has played his own vital part in them, both as a musician and artist and as curator and organizer. Yan Jun was born in 1973 and he grew up in Lanzhou in the province Gansu, where during his teenage years he started writing poetry. He has lived in Beijing since 1999 where he has worked as a music critic, focusing mainly on Chinese underground rock. He founded the record label Sub Jam in 2000, which has since produced a lot of alternative Chinese music. He started making his own music in 2004. Whilst this may be seen as relatively late, his music making can be considered just one of several strings to Yan Jun’s bow, along with performance, poetry, writing and curating.

Yan Jun's aesthetic is like a reflection of this borderless, non-hierarchical musical melting pot where everything seems possible. His main sounding materials are field recordings and noise. Esthetically he is interested in sound characteristics such as high frequencies, noise and silence. He plays live, as a soloist or with other musicians and uses lo-tech apparatus, often in improvisation and thus plays a part in the international ‘improv’ scene. As a composer and musician, he also explores the sonic consequences of body movements, works with video, makes sound installations and writes his own texts for his media works. It comes as no surprise that he has been presented to the Shanghai Biennale, has received a honorarium mention at Prix Ars Electronica and has been invited to the Berlin and Rotterdam international poetry festivals.

With and through different media, Yan Jun is exploring the poetic side of the everyday and of basic materials, exemplified in a few of his works from the last years. Recently, for “Living Room Tour,” in Beijing 2014, he visited several private living rooms and from this made a collage of audio and video recordings. The live work “Gestures (Two)” depicts a scene which revolves around a slowly moving and silent figure who is captured in his movements by swarming photographers. In this rather still and quiet performance, the sound of the camera shutters and the flashes give a minimalist commentary on the implication of performing, listening and documentation.

In “Let's act”, which was conducted in 2014 in Rotterdam, Yan Jun elegantly links the various cultural activities his oeuvre presents. A text written by Yan Jun about noise and the instrumentalization of noise is juxtaposed with field-recordings and video shots from everyday life. Here noise, rather than being composed, is drawn from a variety of essential parts of life such as communication and social gathering. The work thus artistically displays some of the main features of Yan Jun's music and art. Although he uses a broad range of techniques, he maintains a strong focus and concentration on the everyday and on the importance of the visual as well as an auditive reality.

Andreas Engström


Print
Events by DAAD
Lecture an der UdK Berlin

Konzertabend

Darkness, Body Movements & Constructions

Chinabox. Neue Lyrik aus der Volksrepublik

Topophilia / Topophobia

im Rahmen von Topophilia / Topophobia

FEN - Far East Network

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
In einem Interview von 2007 antwortete Yan Jun auf die Frage nach den möglichen Verbindungen zwischen der wachsenden chinesischen Experimental-Musikszene und der politischen und ökonomischen Entwicklung des Landes:

”Das Experimentelle ist ein bedeutendes Charakteristikum der chinesischen Gesellschaft und der Menschen. In den letzten 30 Jahren haben die Menschen mit allem experimentiert. Dementsprechend ist fast alles hier echt Avantgarde.” (World New Music Magazine/ISCM, 2007)

Dies ist eine treffende Beschreibung sowohl der Gesellschaft als auch der Musikszene, die große Veränderungen in sehr kurzer Zeit erfahren hat, so dass man fast von einer beschleunigten Zeit reden müsste. Die Musik- und Kunstszene hat eine Vielzahl neuer und verschiedenartiger Einflüsse gleichzeitig aufgenommen, und dies war ein wichtiger Baustein einer beginnenden vitalen und experimentellen Kultur, die schon schnell die etablierten Kategorien von Genres und Stilen aufgelöst hat. Anstelle von einer abendländisch geprägten „E-“ und „U-“Kultur, macht es für China, wie für andere Länder Ostasiens, mehr Sinn, allgemeiner von „Mainstream-“ und Alternativkultur zu reden.

In China ist alternative Musik in den 90en Jahren schier explodiert, mit einer Mischung von Einflüssen aus amerikanischer experimenteller Musik, Rock, Punk-Rock, Filmmusik, Videospielen, Jazz und Improvisation. Der Markt wurde übergeschwemmt von Kassetten, CDs und VHS, und mit der Internetrevolution kamen die Möglichkeiten, Internetradio zu hören und mp3s herunterzuladen. Die verschiedenen musikalischen Universen sind sich so näher gekommen. Experimentelle Musiker spielten in China und die persönlichen Entscheidungen einzelner Musiker in China, die diese Musik aufgriffen, haben einen starken Einfluss auf die Nachfrage neuer kultureller Impulse ausgeübt.

Yan Jun hat weder eine klassische musikalische Ausbildung noch einen Musikhochschul- Hintergrund. Er ist vielmehr aus der blühenden Rock- und der allgemeinen „Kunst und Kultur“-Szene hervorgegangen und hat darin selbst ein wichtige Rolle gespielt, sowohl als Musiker und Künstler als auch als Kurator und Veranstalter. Yan Jun ist 1973 geboren, er ist in der Stadt Lanzhou im Provinz Gansu aufgewachsen, wo er sich während seiner Teenager-Jahre mit Poesie beschäftigte. Er wohnt seit 1999 in Beijing, wo er als Musikkritiker arbeitete, mit Schwerpunkt auf chinesischem Underground-Rock. Er hat 2000 die Plattenfirma Sub Jam gegründet, die seitdem eine große Anzahl chinesischer Alternativmusik veröffentlicht hat. 2004 begann er, seine eigene Musik zu machen. Das erscheint vielleicht relativ spät. Andererseits kann sein Musikmachen als eine von verschiedenen Ausprägungen von Yan Juns allgemeinen Kulturaktivitäten betrachtet werden, in denen Musikmachen, Performancekunst und Poesie sowie Journalistik und kuratorische Arbeit zusammenfließen.

Yan Juns Ästhetik ist wie eine Reflektion dieses grenzenlosen, nicht-hierarchischen musikalischen Schmelztiegels, wo alles möglich scheint. Sein hauptsächliches Klangmaterial sind Field Recordings und Geräusche, wobei deren Klangcharakteristika neben Geräuschhaftigkeit Hochfrequenzen und die Untersuchung der Stille sind. Er tritt live auf und benutzt “Lo-Tech”-Geräte. Oft improvisiert er, solo oder zusammen mit anderen Musikern; folglich gehört er auch zur internationalen Improvisationsszene. Als Komponist und Musiker sondiert er auch die klingende Auswirkung von Körperbewegungen, arbeitet mit Video, macht Klanginstallationen und schreibt eigene Texte für seine medialen Werke. Es kann nicht überraschen, dass er sowohl bei der Shanghai Biennale präsentiert wurde, als auch ein Honorarium Erwähnung beim Prix Ars Electronica erhielt. Zudem war er zu den internationalen Poesie Festivals in Berlin und Rotterdam eingeladen.

Mit und durch verschiedene Medien untersucht Yan Jun die poetischen Seiten und Bedingungen des Alltäglichen und grundlegender Materialen, wie einige seiner Werke der letzten Jahre illustrieren. Für “Living Room Tour” in Beijing 2014 hat Yan Jun verschiedene Privatwohnungen bespielt und daraus eine Collage von Audio- und Videoaufnahmen erstellt. In der Live-Performance “Gestures (Two)” entwickelt sich die Szene einer sich langsam bewegenden und stillen Gestalt, deren Bewegungen von sie umkreisenden Fotografen erfasst werden. In dieser ziemlich reglosen und stillen Performance sind die Geräusche des Kameraauslösers und die Blitze wie ein minimalistischer Kommentar von Aufführung, Zuhören und Dokumentation.

In “Let's act”, 2014 in Rotterdam aufgeführt, verknüpft Yan Jun geschickt die verschiedenen kulturellen Aktivitäten, die sein Oeuvre ausmachen. Ein Text von Yan Jun über Geräusche und die Möglichkeit ihrer Instrumentalisierung ist neben Field Recordings und Videoaufnahmen des Alltags gestellt. Hier werden Geräusche, eher als durchkomponiert, thematisch mit wesentlichen Aspekten des Lebens wie Kommunikation und sozialen Versammlungen verknüpft. Das Werk, entfaltet somit einige der zentralen Eigenschaften seiner Kunst und Musik und führt sie künstlerisch zusammen. Yan Juns Werke verfügen, obwohl eine Vielzahl von Mitteln benutzt wird, über eine starke Konzentration und Fokussierung auf den Alltag und die Materialität einer visuellen und auditiven Wirklichkeit.

Andreas Engström



Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Lecture an der UdK Berlin

Konzertabend

Darkness, Body Movements & Constructions

Chinabox. Neue Lyrik aus der Volksrepublik

Topophilia / Topophobia

im Rahmen von Topophilia / Topophobia

FEN - Far East Network

one of us

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK