Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
With precision and a dreamy quality, Ghassan Salhab’s film and video projects examine life in and around Beirut – a city that has been destroyed and rebuilt seven times. With powerful soundtracks and intense imagery, Ghassan Salhab’s films pose questions about “the status of art during times marked by war and terror” (from the Berlinale catalogue, 2015) and the central premises underlining human society.
Salhab is considered one of Lebanon’s most important directors. He was born in 1958 to Lebanese parents living in Senegal. In addition to the six feature films he has directed to date, he has also created a number of short films and videos. His films have been screened at the most important festivals around the world, from the Berlinale to Cannes, and in Marseille, Tribeca, and Locarno. Since 1986, he has written screenplays for many French and Lebanese films. He also teaches film at various universities and other institutions in Lebanon and other Arab countries. For the film “Baalbeck” (2000, video, 25‘), Ghassan Salhab collaborated with another guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, Akram Zaatari, who was a guest in 2010. He has published texts and articles in various magazines, while a bilingual edition of his book Fragments du Livre du naufrage was published in Arabic and French in 2012. In 2002, Salhab left France to return to Lebanon.
Ghassan Salhab has won many prizes around the world for his work: He has been honored as best director from the Arabic world at the Abu Dhabi Film Festival for “La Vallée” in 2014; “Le Dernier Homme” was awarded the prize for best actor in a leading role at a festival in Singapore in 2006; and the film “Beyrouth Fantôme” was awarded the prize for best soundtrack at a festival in Nantes in 1998.
With concentration and a precise eye, Ghassan Salhab shows the multifaceted conditions of human society in a series of seemingly disparate microcosmoses. The civil war in Lebanon and its effects, such as fear and emigration, are present throughout his films, yet he transforms them into universally shared experiences. Ghassan Salhab’s direction and cinematography gain strength from reduction. The wide breadth of his work spans many genres, including chamber pieces (“La Vallée,” 2014 / “La Montagne,” 2011 / “Terra Incognita,” 2002 / “Beyrouth Fantôme,” 1998), lyrical documentary films, such as “1958” (2009), video works and vampire films, such as the 2006 “Le Derniere Homme,” an homage to Murnau’s “Nosferatu.” His most recent two films form part of a trilogy; he plans to develop the final part, called “La Rivière,” in Berlin. All three are set in Beirut, which the director considers to be a main character in the films.
Like the unnamed character in Pasolini’s “Teorema,” “La Vallée” (2014) features a man suffering from amnesia, whose condition serves as a projection screen. Due to his presence, repressed tension implodes in a drug-producing community surviving in isolation, but with some quotidian elements nonetheless. The present day is also disrupted by a seemingly unknown stranger in “Beyrouth Fantôme” (1998), when a man suddenly reappears after a ten-year absence. The New York Times raved that the film was an intelligent thriller of deception, loyalty and betrayal, and how we perceive the world. In his cinematic debut, Ghassan Salhab included conversations with his actors about the movie, thus creating a highly personal look at the effects of the war in Lebanon on the people living there. The setting in “La Montagne” (2011) is even more minimalistic than usual: Here, a man locks himself in a hotel room so that he can write poetry. With first-rate cinematography and the calm presence of the leading actor, the director succeeds in portraying these internal conflicts on the screen.
“The coming together of the sacred, the sublime and the contemporary, its potential for imagistic experimentation and manipulation, further brings to light the work’s avant-garde singularity.” This was written by the author and lecturer Ghalya Saadawi in her essay “Untouch Me,” which examines Ghassan Salhab’s work in video. Though she finds “an overriding sensation of emptiness and immateriality” in his works, she nonetheless deems them life affirming, even capable of excess. In “La Rose de Personne” (2000), for example, the viewer sees shots of overlapping street scenes, which were recorded from a moving car and create the illusion of never-ending movement; streets blur, just like our own memories. Images reflect and overlap on a symbolic and visual level in his films “Posthume” (2006), “Narcisse perdu” (2004), and “Mon corps vivant, mon corps mort” (2003) as well. With a soundscape composed of a beating heart and music from Arvo Pärt and Giya Kancheli, the body of an artist is transformed into an icon in “Mon corps vivant, mon corps mort” (2003). Christ’s final words fill the screen: “Noli me tangere,” or “don’t touch me.” With Ghassan Salhab’s films we find the opposite: It is through their use of minimal devices that they move us.


Text: Maike Wetzel

Translation into English: Amy Pradell


Print
Films (selection): 2014 La Vallée (Feature film, DCP, 134’) 2011 La Montagne (Feature film, DCP, 83‘) 2009 1958 (Feature film, 66’) 2006 Le Dernier Homme (Feature film, 35 mm, 101‘) 2002 Terra Incognita (Feature film, 35 mm, 120‘) 1998 Beyrouth Fantôme (Feature film, 35 mm, 116‘)
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Ganz konkret und entrückt zugleich umkreisen Ghassan Salhabs Filme und Videoarbeiten das Leben in und um Beirut – einer Stadt, die sieben Mal zerstört und wiederaufgebaut wurde. Mit kraftvollem Soundtrack und Bildern von großer Intensität fragt der Regisseur in seinen Filmen unter anderem nach dem „Status der Kunst in Zeiten von Terror und Krieg“ (aus dem Berlinale-Katalog 2015) und den Prämissen menschlicher Gemeinschaft.
Ghassan Salhab gehört zu den wichtigsten Regisseuren aus dem Libanon. Er wurde 1958 als Sohn libanesischer Eltern im Senegal geboren. Neben seinen bislang sechs Spielfilmen realisierte er zahlreiche Kurzfilme und Videos. Seine Filme waren weltweit auf den wichtigsten Festivals von der Berlinale über Cannes, Marseille, Tribeca bis Locarno zu Gast. Außerdem arbeitet er seit 1986 als Drehbuchautor bei etlichen französischen und libanesischen Filmen mit. Im Libanon und im arabischen Raum ist er an verschiedenen Universitäten und anderen Institutionen als Filmdozent tätig. Bei „Baalbeck“ (2000, Video, 25‘) arbeitete Ghassan Salhab mit einem weiteren Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms, Akram Zaatari (BKP-Gast 2010), zusammen. Er publiziert Texte und Artikel in verschiedenen Magazinen. Im Jahr 2012 erschien sein Buch „Fragments du Livre du naufrage“ als zweisprachige Ausgabe auf Arabisch und Französisch. 2002 kehrte Ghassan Salhab aus Frankreich in den Libanon zurück.
Ghassan Salhabs Werke erhielten weltweit Preise – als bester Regisseur aus der arabischen Welt wurde er etwa beim Abu Dhabi Filmfestival 2014 für „La Vallée“ ausgezeichnet, den Preis für den besten Hauptdarsteller erhielt „Le Dernier Homme“ (2006) beim Festival in Singapur und den für den besten Soundtrack bekam „Beyrouth Fantôme“ 1998 beim Festival in Nantes.
Konzentriert und präzise dekliniert Ghassan Salhab in scheinbar losgelösten Mikrokosmen die Bedingungen menschlichen Miteinanders durch. Der libanesische Bürgerkrieg und dessen Folgen wie Angst und Emigration schwingen mit, werden aber zu allgemeingültigen Erfahrungen verdichtet. Ghassan Salhabs Regie und Kameraführung beziehen ihre Kraft aus der Reduktion. Seine Bandbreite reicht dabei von Kammerspielen („La Vallée“, 2014 / „La Montagne“, 2011 / „Terra Incognita“, 2002 / „Beyrouth Fantôme“, 1998) über die lyrische Dokumentation „1958“ (2009) und Videoarbeiten bis hin zum Vampirfilm („Le Derniere Homme“, 2006), einer Hommage an Murnaus „Nosferatu“. Seine letzten beiden Filme gehören zu einer Trilogie, deren abschließenden Teil, „La Rivière“, Ghassan Salhab in Berlin entwickeln will. Alle drei verbindet der Schauplatz Beirut, den er nach eigener Aussage als einen der Darsteller betrachtet.
Ähnlich dem Namenlosen in Pasolinis „Teorema“ wird in „La Vallée“ (2014) ein Mann mit Gedächtnisverlust zur Projektionsfläche. Seine Anwesenheit lässt die unterdrückten Spannungen in der Abgeschiedenheit einer drogenproduzierenden, aber dennoch alltäglichen Gemeinschaft implodieren. Auch in „Beyrouth Fantôme“ (1998) sprengt ein scheinbar Fremder die Gegenwart – zehn Jahre nach seinem Verschwinden taucht dieser Mann plötzlich wieder auf. „Ein intelligenter Thriller über Wahrnehmung, Loyalität und Betrug“, urteilte die New York Times. In seinen Debütfilm integrierte Ghassan Salhab auch Gespräche seiner Schauspieler über den Film und vermittelte so „einen persönlichen Eindruck davon, welchen Effekt der Krieg im Libanon auf die Menschen“ hatte. Noch minimalistischer als sonst ist das Setting in „La Montagne“ (2011): Ein Mann schließt sich in einem Hotelzimmer ein, um Gedichte zu schreiben. Durch exzellente Kameraarbeit und die ruhige Präsenz seines Hauptdarstellers meistert der Regisseur die Herausforderung, diesen inneren Konflikt zu visualisieren.
„Die Verbindung aus Heiligem, Sublimem und Zeitgenössischem, sein Vermögen für bildhafte Experimente und Manipulation, unterstreicht die Einzigartigkeit seiner avantgardistischen Arbeiten.“ So die Autorin und Dozentin Ghalya Saadawi in ihrem Aufsatz „Untouch Me“ über Ghassan Salhabs Videoarbeiten, denen sie einen „überwältigenden Eindruck von Leere und Immaterialität“ zuschreibt. Dennoch seien sie immer lebensbejahend, geradezu exzessiv. In „La Rose de Personne“ (2000) überlagern sich die Straßenaufnahmen, die aus einem fahrenden Wagen heraus aufgenommen wurden, in einer ewigen Bewegung – die Straße verschwimmt, so wie unsere Erinnerungen. Auch in „Posthume“ (2006), „Narcisse perdu“ (2004) und „Mon corps vivant, mon corps mort“ (2003) spiegeln und überlagern sich die Bilder, sowohl auf der visuellen als auch der symbolischen Ebene. Unterlegt mit Musik von Arvo Pärt, Giya Kancheli und einem schlagenden Herzen verwandelt sich in „Mon corps vivant, mon corps mort“ (2003) der Körper des Künstlers ikonenhaft. Christus letzte Worte füllen die Leinwand: Noli me tangere. Rührt mich nicht an. Das Gegenteil ist bei Ghassan Salhabs Filmen der Fall: Gerade durch den sparsamen Einsatz ihrer Mittel rühren sie an.


Text: Maike Wetzel


Print
Filme (Auswahl): 2014 La Vallée (Spielfilm, DCP, 134’) 2011 La Montagne (Spielfilm, DCP, 83‘) 2009 1958 (Spielfilm, 66’) 2006 Le Dernier Homme (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 101‘) 2002 Terra Incognita (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 120‘) 1998 Beyrouth Fantôme (Spielfilm, 35 mm, 116‘)
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK