Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Since 2010, Jasmina Metwaly (b. 1982 in Warsaw) and Philip Rizk (b. 1982 in Limassol, Cyprus) have collaborated together on art projects, in addition to their individual practices as artists, filmmakers, and activists. After completing her studies in fine arts in Poland, Metwaly moved her life to Cairo in 2009. Rizk studied philosophy in Germany and the US, and Middle East Studies in Cairo, where was active mainly as a political blogger. Both are co-founders of the political-activist media collective Mosireen. Their collaborative work consists primarily of short videos filmed inside factories, during demonstrations, or strikes throughout Egypt, and documents the broad spectrum of social and political struggles there since the revolution and the fall of Mubarak in 2011.

In particular, they are interested in the situation of workers whose existence is threatened by the devastating effects of a legal system riven by corruption. Metwaly/Rizk have researched and tested out formats over a long period of time in order to understand the various levels of public debate in Egypt and to communicate these through artistic means. In recent works, the documentary aspect has increasingly given way to a hybrid mix of fiction and reality—e.g. in the film installation On Trials (2015), in which the surreal, Kafkaesque nature of the administration of justice in Egypt is portrayed by participants in short theatrical performances. Out on the Street, their first co-created feature length film, attracted international interest first at the Berlin International Film Festival in 2015, and later in the same year as part of the German Pavilion exhibition at the Venice Biennale. Out on the Street is an attempt to reflect upon the immediate consequences of the political upheavals in Egypt on the living and working conditions of people in a system where old and new hierarchies coexist, both from the inside (from the perspective of those affected / involved parties) as well as from the outside (from the perspective of those documenting / presenting).

Metwaly/Rizk also conducted a theater workshop with ten factory employees on a building rooftop in Cairo’s working class neighborhood of Helwan. The play is about a factory undergoing privatization. During rehearsals, themes such as unequal treatment in the workplace, police brutality, and invented fines emerge, as well as countless stories of humiliation, corruption, and exploitation by capitalist employers. The film combines actual scenes from the workshop with re-enacted scenes, as well as video footage captured by a worker’s phone, which is to be used as evidence in court to contest the elimination of his job. The real and the orchestrated are mixed together on different levels, but a tension is created primarily from the fact that most workshop participants choose to portray their own roles along with the associated real risks, while only a few depict the role of the “opposition”—i.e. the corrupt factory owner and his privileges. Employing a hybrid filmic approach, the intention is to create a collective conception of social conflicts capable of resonating beyond Egypt’s specific reality.

Text: Eva Scharrer

Print
Events by DAAD
Exercises on Trials Lecture Performance

Interim daadgalerie c/o Braennen

Topophilia / Topophobia

The Esthetics of Law & Mazen Kerbaj: Sampler / Sampled im Rahmen von Topophilia / Topophobia

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Seit 2010 arbeiten Jasmina Metwaly (geb. 1982 in Warschau) und Philip Rizk (geb. 1982 in Limassol, Zypern) neben ihrer individuellen Praxis als Künstler, Filmemacher und Aktivisten an gemeinsamen Kunstprojekten. Nach ihrem Kunststudium in Polen verlegte Metwaly 2009 ihren Lebensmittelpunkt nach Kairo, Rizk studierte Philosophie in Deutschland und den USA und Middle East Studies in Kairo, wo er vor allem als politischer Blogger aktiv war. Beide sind Mitbegründer des politisch-aktivistischen Medienkollektivs Mosireen. Ihre gemeinsamen Arbeiten sind meist kurze Videos, die in Fabriken, bei Demonstrationen oder Streiks in ganz Ägypten gefilmt wurden, und die das breite Spektrum sozialer und politischer Kämpfe in Ägypten seit der Revolution und dem Sturz Mubaraks 2011 dokumentieren.

Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dabei der Situation der Arbeiter, deren Existenz von den verheerenden Auswirkungen eines von Korruption durchdrungenen Rechtsystems bedroht ist. Über lange Zeit haben Metwaly/Rizk recherchiert und Formate erprobt, um die verschiedenen Ebenen der gesellschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung in Ägypten zu verstehen und mit künstlerischen Mitteln zu vermitteln. In jüngeren Arbeiten weicht das Dokumentarische zunehmend einer hybriden Form aus Fiktion und Realität – etwa in der Filminstallation On Trials (2015), in dem das surreal-kafkaeske Ausmaß ägyptischer Rechtsprechung von Beteiligten in kurzen theatralischen Performances dargestellt wird. Out on the Street, ihr erster gemeinsamer Film in Spielfilmlänge, erhielt erst bei den Berliner Filmfestspielen 2015, später im selben Jahr im Deutschen Pavillon der Venedig Biennale internationale Aufmerksamkeit. Out on the Street ist ein Versuch, die unmittelbaren Folgen der politischen Umbrüche in Ägypten auf die Lebens- und Arbeitssituation der Menschen in einem System, in dem alte neben neuen Hierarchien bestehen, gleichzeitig von Innen (aus der Perspektive der Betroffenen / Beteiligten) sowie von Außen (aus der Perspektive der Dokumentierenden / Inszenierenden) zu reflektieren.

Dazu hielten Metwaly/Rizk auf einem Hausdach in Kairos Arbeiterviertel Helwan zusammen mit zehn Fabrikangestellten einen Theaterworkshop ab. In dem Stück geht es um die Privatisierung einer Fabrik. Während der Proben kommen Themen wie Ungleichbehandlung am Arbeitsplatz, Polizeibrutalität und erfundene Bußgelder auf, sowie unzählige Geschichten von Erniedrigung, Korruption und Ausbeutung durch kapitalistische Arbeitgeber. Der Film verbindet reale Szenen aus dem Workshop mit nachgespielten Szenen sowie mit Handy-Aufnahmen eines Arbeiters, die als Beweis vor Gericht im Kampf gegen die Abschaffung seines Arbeitsplatzes dienen sollen. Während sich Realität und Inszenierung auf verschiedenen Ebenen durchmischen, entsteht Spannung vor allem auch daraus, dass ein Großteil der Workshop-Teilnehmer die eigene Rolle samt den damit verbundenen realen Risiken verkörpern, während wenige von ihnen die Rolle des „Gegners “ – etwa des korrupten Fabrikbesitzers samt seiner Privilegien einnehmen. Durch die hybride filmische Herangehensweise soll eine kollektive Vorstellung von sozialen Konflikten weltweit geschaffen werden, die auch jenseits der spezifischen Realität Ägyptens Bestand hat.

Text: Eva Scharrer


Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Exercises on Trials Lecture Performance

Interim daadgalerie c/o Braennen

Topophilia / Topophobia

The Esthetics of Law & Mazen Kerbaj: Sampler / Sampled im Rahmen von Topophilia / Topophobia

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK