Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Banu Cennetoğlu studied psychology in Istanbul and photography in New York and Paris before completing her education at Amsterdam’s Rijksakademie in 2003. She returned to Istanbul in 2005 establishing BAS, a non-profit project space dedicated to collecting and publishing artists' books in 2006.

Cennetoğlu’s work reflects her fascination with books, archives and collections; their form and function and how they hold, preserve and circulate information. There is also an acute attention to the written word and printed image, the transmission of ideas and beliefs through symbols and signs. Working with a range of different media and often in a highly collaborative way, she has involved a range of institutions and individuals – from artisanal bookbinders to a ‘Habitat and Human Energy Rebalancing Coach’– in the production of her works.

In 2009 Cennetoğlu produced an exhibition entitled ‘CATALOG’ for the Pavilion of Turkey at the Venice Biennale. Described as a 904 page ‘mail-order catalogue’ it is her largest photographic project, presenting 451 of her photographs (from 1993 to 2007) in 15 categories in one book. Each image was made freely available online as a digital file that could be downloaded from a website during the exhibition. The work pays homage to the notion of an artist book, or an exhibition in book format and the democratisation of art through publishing and digital technologies. It might also be seen as a self-made retrospective or a personal archive made public.

More recently she has exhibited a series of unique reference libraries that represent every newspaper published in one country, on a single day. The newspapers are organised alphabetically by their titles and presented as a series of black, hardback volumes that can be browsed freely whilst on display. The spine of each volume is embossed with the date of the collection, which is also the title of the work. This ongoing project has been realized thus far in Turkey, ‘28.08.2010’; Switzerland, '14.01.2011’; 20 Arabic speaking countries ’02.11.2011’; Cyprus ’29.06.2012’; the United Kingdom ’04.09.2014’ and Germany ’11.08.2015’.

This practice of making an archive and mapping a chosen territory – revealing something of its culture, values and self-image – can be identified in other projects. The Library of Spirits Part I: Romania’ (2013), is the first in a series of works that explore a clandestine yet widespread culture of home-distilling alcohol. It comprises a series of wall mounted shelves bearing 115, 100ml glass bottles. Each bottle contains a different alcoholic drink and each is labeled with the name of the person that made it, some details of the distillation and Cennetoğlu’s ‘Contact Spirit’ (whoever or whatever provided her link to the source). When it was first presented, in Bucharest, it was accompanied by a free, self-service bar that offered the spirits for consumption in their original bottles – an array of plastic soda, juice and water bottles that had been refilled. The Library of Spirits Part II: South Korea was made in 2014 for the 10th Gwangju Biennale. Cennetoğlu is currently working towards Part III: Germany for the Fellbach Triennial of Small-Scale Sculpture.




Print
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Banu Cennetoğlu studierte Psychologie in Istanbul und Fotografie in New York und Paris; 2003 schloss sie ein weiteres Studium an der Amsterdamer Rijksakademie ab. 2005 kehrte sie nach Istanbul zurück und gründete dort 2006 den nicht-kommerziellen Projektraum BAS, der sich auf das Sammeln und Verlegen von Künstlerbüchern fokussiert.

Cennetoğlus Arbeiten spiegeln ihre Faszination für Bücher, Archive und Sammlungen, ihre Form und Funktion, das Erfassen, Speichern und Verbreiten von Informationen. Große Aufmerksamkeit schenkt sie darüber hinaus dem geschriebenen Wort und dem gedruckten Bild, der Weitergabe von Ideen und Überzeugungen durch Symbole und Zeichen. Die Künstlerin arbeitet in einer Vielzahl von Medien – häufig in Form von Gemeinschaftsprojekten – und steht so bei der Produktion ihrer Arbeiten mit den verschiedensten Institutionen und Individuen in Kontakt – von handwerklich arbeitenden Buchbindern bis hin zu einem ‚Habitat and Human Energy Rebalancing Coach’.

2009 konzipierte Cennetoğlu eine Ausstellung mit dem Titel ‚CATALOG’ für den türkischen Pavillon auf der Biennale in Venedig. Das Fotoprojekt, das 452 ihrer Fotos aus den Jahren 1993 bis 2007 in 15 Rubriken in einem Buch zeigt, ist ein 904 Seiten starker Versandkatalog und ihre bislang größte Arbeit. Für die Dauer der Ausstellung stand jedes Bild als kostenloses Download auf einer Webseite zur Verfügung. Die Arbeit ist eine Hommage an das Konzept des Künstlerbuches (oder eine Ausstellung im Buchformat) und eine Würdigung der Demokratisierung der Kunst durch das Publizieren und die digitalen Technologien. Man könnte sie auch als Eigen-Retrospektive oder als öffentlich gemachtes persönliches Archiv verstehen.

In jüngerer Zeit hat Cennetoğlu eine Reihe von einzigartigen Präsenzbibliotheken ausgestellt, die sämtliche Zeitungen eines Landes an einem bestimmten Tag präsentieren. Die Zeitungen sind alphabetisch nach ihrem Titel geordnet und werden als Serie von schwarzen Hardcover-Bänden präsentiert, in denen man während der Ausstellung kostenlos blättern kann. In den Buchrücken ist jeweils das Datum eingeprägt, das auch der Titel der Arbeit ist. Dieses fortlaufende Projekt wurde bislang in verschiedenen Ländern realisiert: in der Türkei (‚28.08.2010’), in der Schweiz (‚14.01.2011’), in 20 arabischsprachigen Ländern (‚02.11.2011’), in Zypern (‚29.06.2012’), dem Vereinigten Königreich (‚04.09.2014’) und in Deutschland (‚11.08.2015’).

Dieses Anlegen eines Archivs und das Kartieren eines gewählten Territoriums – das etwas von seiner Kultur, seinen Werten und seinem Selbstbild preisgibt – findet sich auch in anderen Projekten. The Library of Spirits Part I: Romania (2013) ist die erste einer Reihe von Arbeiten, die sich mit der illegalen, aber dennoch weit verbreiteten Praxis des Schwarzbrennens beschäftigen. Sie besteht aus einer Reihe von Wandregalen mit 115 Glasflaschen à 100 ml. Jede Flasche enthält ein anderes alkoholisches Getränk und trägt den Namen der Person, die den Alkohol gebraut hat; daneben enthält sie genauere Informationen zur Destillation und zu Cennetoğlus ‚Kontaktgeist’ (d.h. der Person oder Sache, die den Kontakt zur Quelle hergestellt hat). Als die Arbeit das erste Mal in Budapest ausgestellt wurde, war sie begleitet von einer Selbstbedienungsbar, an der die Spirituosen in Originalflaschen zur freien Verkostung angeboten wurden – einer Palette von Flaschen für Softdrinks, Saft und Wasser, die neu aufgefüllt wurden. The Library of Spirits Part II: South Korea entstand 2014 für die 10. Gwangju Biennale. Aktuell arbeitet Cennetoğlu an Teil III: Deutschland für die Triennale Kleinplastik Fellbach.



Print
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK