Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Born in Soissons, in the north of France in 1944 Michel Auder began making films in Paris in the early 1960s. In 1969 he purchased a Sony Portapak, the first portable video camera, embarking upon his long running career as a video artist.

Auder’s films are inextricably bound up with his own life. With the Portapak he discovered a way of filmmaking without scripts and sets, he simply carried his camera around with him, adopting ‘the world as my set and people as my actors’. In the late 1960s and for most of the 1970s he lived in the Chelsea Hotel in New York with his wife, Susan Hoffmann, who was known to him and most others as ‘Viva’, the name that Andy Warhol had given her. Footage from this period was edited much later to make films such as ‘Chelsea Girls with Andy Warhol 1971-76’ (1994) and ‘The Cockettes, New York City 1971’ (2008). Whereas these films, and others such as the diaristic ‘My Last Bag of Heroin (For Real)’ (1986) chronicle chapters in Auder’s life (and that of others around him) other films are composed as video portraits (Annie Sprinkle’ 1981-84; ‘Cindy Sherman’, 1988; ‘Portrait of Alice Neel 1976/82’, 2000), essays (‘I was Looking Back To See if You Were Looking Back at Me To See Me Looking Back at You’, 2012; ‘Rooftops and Other Scenes’, 1996; ‘Voyage to the Center of the Phone Lines’, 1993) letters (‘Made for Denise’; ‘My Love’, both 1978 ) or collages that have a rhythmic structure that is either adopted from music or akin to poetry (‘Brooding Angels, Made for R.L.’, 1998; ‘Endless Column’, 2001; ‘The Games: Olympic Variations’, 1984; ‘Polaroid Cocaine’, 1993). Auder’s films bear an affinity to literature and literary forms – a personal interest that is also explored in a number of films about poets and writers (‘Adriano Spatola at Melkweg- Amsterdam’, 1980; ‘Alain Robbe-Grillet – NYU’, 1979; ‘Allen Ginsberg at St. Marks Church’, 1976; ‘Gerard Malanga’, 1977; ‘John Ashbery Reading at Southampton College’, 1977; ‘John Cooper Clarke at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980; ‘Kathy Acker at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980; ‘William S. Burroughs Reading at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980 and several films featuring the poet Gregory Corso).

Auder has said that his films ‘describe the world as he sees it’. He uses the camera to transcribe events and conversations but also to record what he sees from his apartment window or on television or in a book or magazine. Each of these observations are written to a vast bank of images that are – sometimes much later – reviewed and edited into new films. It’s an ongoing and seemingly continuous project that is also shaped by increasingly portable cameras (today Auder often uses a smartphone to record new footage). He describes a lateral approach to traversing his vast archive:
There’s no reason for me to erase it even if it looks bad. Experience has told me I can look back 20 years later and find something interesting. I was smart enough to understand that things get older and the meanings change. Without even thinking about it I know everything has to be kept because I know it’s going to be useful, if not the image then the soundtrack. I don’t think about it, I shoot something and that’s it, it’s in the boxes. It’s not going to move, it’s part of my work.’


Print
Events by DAAD
Interim daadgalerie c/o Braennen

„Michel Auder – tonight – this way“ Filmprogramm

It’s hard to be down when you‘re up Michel Auder über Daniel Knorr

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Der 1944 in Soissons in Nordfrankreich geborene Michel Auder begann Anfang der 1960er-Jahre in Paris, Filme zu machen. 1969 kaufte er eine Sony Portapak, die erste tragbare Videokamera, und begann seine bis heute anhaltende Karriere als Videokünstler.

Auders Filme sind untrennbar mit seinem eigenen Leben verwoben. Mit der Portapak entdeckte er eine Form des Filmemachens ohne Drehbuch und Set; er trug einfach seine Kamera mit sich herum und machte sich ‚die Welt zum Set und die Menschen zu Schauspielern’. Ende der 1960er-Jahre und den größten Teil der 1970er-Jahre lebte er mit seiner Frau Susan Hoffmann – oder ‚Viva’, wie Andy Warhol und die meisten sie nannten – im New Yorker Chelsea Hotel. Das Filmmaterial aus dieser Zeit wurde sehr viel später geschnitten und führte zu Filmen wie ‚Chelsea Girls with Andy Warhol 1971-76’ (1994) und ‚The Cockettes, New York City 1971’ (2008). Während diese und andere Filme wie das tagebuchartige ‚My Last Bag of Heroin (For Real)’ (1986) verschiedene Episoden aus Auders Leben (und dem der Menschen um ihn herum) festhalten, sind andere als Video-Porträts (‚Annie Sprinkle’ 1981-84; ‚Cindy Sherman’, 1988; ‚Portrait of Alice Neel 1976/82’, 2000), als Essays (‚I was Looking Back To See if You Were Looking Back at Me To See Me Looking Back at You’, 2012; ‚Rooftops and Other Scenes’, 1996; ‚Voyage to the Center of the Phone Lines’, 1993), als Briefe (‚Made for Denise’; ‚My Love’, beide 1978 ) oder als Collagen mit einer musikalischen oder poetischen rhythmischen Struktur konzipiert. (‚Brooding Angels, Made for R.L.’, 1998; ‚Endless Column’, 2001; ‚The Games: Olympic Variations’, 1984; ‚Polaroid Cocaine’, 1993). Auders Filme haben eine Affinität zu Literatur und literarischen Formen – einem persönlichen Interesse des Filmemachers, das auch in einer Reihe von Filmen über Dichter und Schriftsteller zum Ausdruck kommt (‚Adriano Spatola at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980; ‚Alain Robbe-Grillet – NYU’, 1979; ‚Allen Ginsberg at St. Marks Church’, 1976; ‚Gerard Malanga’, 1977; ‚John Ashbery Reading at Southampton College’, 1977; ‚John Cooper Clarke at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980; ‚Kathy Acker at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980; ‚William S. Burroughs Reading at Melkweg – Amsterdam’, 1980, und verschiedene Filme über den Dichter Gregory Corso).

Auders eigenen Aussagen zufolge beschreiben seine Filme ‚die Welt, wie er sie sieht’. Er verwendet die Kamera, um Ereignisse und Gespräche zu transkribieren, aber auch um festzuhalten, was er aus seinem Wohnungsfenster, im Fernsehen, in einem Buch oder Magazin sieht. All diese Beobachtungen werden in eine riesige Bilddatenbank eingespeist und – manchmal sehr viel später – durchgesehen und in neue Filme geschnitten. Dieses fortlaufende und scheinbar ununterbrochene Projekt ist auch von zunehmend portablen Kameras geprägt (heute verwendet Auder meistens ein Smartphone, um neues Material zu drehen). Den unkonventionellen Ansatz im Umgang mit seinem immensen Archiv beschreibt er wie folgt:
Ich sehe keinerlei Grund, es zu löschen, auch wenn es schlecht aussieht. Die Erfahrung hat mich gelehrt, dass ich noch 20 Jahre später irgendetwas Interessantes darin finden kann. Ich war klug genug zu begreifen, dass die Dinge altern und dass die Bedeutungen sich ändern. Ohne groß darüber nachzudenken, weiß ich, dass alles aufbewahrt werden muss, weil ich weiß, dass es einmal von Nutzen sein wird – wenn nicht das Bild, dann die Tonspur. Ich denke nicht darüber nach, ich drehe etwas und fertig, dann ist es im Kasten. Es wird sich nicht wegbewegen, es ist Teil meiner Arbeit.

Print
Veranstaltungen beim DAAD
Interim daadgalerie c/o Braennen

„Michel Auder – tonight – this way“ Filmprogramm

It’s hard to be down when you‘re up Michel Auder über Daniel Knorr

Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK